|
Guide to the Census by Ben Amata |
| CONTENTS: | |
|
What is the Census? A census is a count of the population of a country at a fixed date. National governments conduct censuses to determine how many people live in a different areas of the country; to assess whether or not the population is growing, stable, or declining in the country as a whole, and in particular parts of the country; and to describe the characteristics of the population in terms of age, sex, ethnic background, marital status, income and other variables. (Encyclopedia of the U.S. Census, p. ix.) The first census of the United States was in 1790. The U.S. Census Bureau conducts a census of the population every 10 years. Additional information on the census and the Census Bureau is available from:
|
|
2000 and 1990 DECENNIAL CENSUS 2000 Decennial Census
|
|
OTHER DECENNIAL CENSUSES EUREKA
|
|
OTHER CENSUSES Around 1940, the Census Bureau started to conduct separate censuses published between the decennials. They are the agriculture, economic (business), government, mining, and transportation censuses. Before the late 1990's they were published in paper format. They now can be found at the Bureau's web site at http://www.census.gov by searching for the subject. In some cases, they may be issued only on CDROM and available in the Library's Government Documents computer cabinets. Use the follow to locate specific types of censuses: Bureau of the Census Catalog of Publications, 1790-1972 (2 NORTH Gov Docs C 3.163/3:790-972) American Statistics Index (2 NORTH Index Area & LOWER LEVEL) HAZ 7754 .U5 A46 |
|
CENSUS SCHEDULES The schedules are the records of who lived where when the decennial censuses were taken and are highly valued by genealogists. There is a 72 year restriction on the release of these records. To date, the 1930 schedules are available on microfilm. A fire destroyed almost all of the 1890 records. The CSUS Library has purchased microfilm for northern California cities and counties. They are available in the Gov Docs microfiche cabinets on 2 North under the call number C 3.23. The contents note indicates which counties are on which reel of microfilm. This film needs to be viewed in the Library Media Center (1st floor). . Census schedules are also available at: http://www.library.ca.gov/html/genealogy.cfm The California State Library has all the microfilm for the State of California that has been released. National Archives and Record Administration Pacific Region http://www.archives.gov/facilities/ca/san_francisco.html The National Archives' office in San Bruno California has microfilm for all states and years released. |
|
INDEXES FOR CENSUS STATISTICS These paper indexes allow one to identify the types of statistics that one will find in the historical decennial censuses and in which volumes they are contained.
|
|
CALIFORNIA AND OTHER STATE DATA Census 2000 Gateway http://www.census.gov/main/www/cen2000.html This site includes State and County Quick Facts (see below); data highlights by state, and census information by zip code. State Data Center Program http://www.census.gov/sdc/www/ Obtain 2000 census state information by clicking on a U.S. map or from a variety of state and local data center. State & County Quick Facts http://quickfacts.census.gov/qfd/ Choose 200 census information by state; also includes some thematic maps. Sacramento Area Council of Governments- Demographics http://www.sacog.org/demographics/ Includes census statistics, growth forecasts, and census tract maps for Sacramento city and county. Also include information for El Dorado, Placer, Sutter, Yolo, and Yuba Counties and the cities within each county. California Department of Finance Demographic Research Unit http://www.dof.ca.gov/html/Demograp/druhpar.htm The source for state planning and budget this cite contains research reports, spread sheets, data files, and news releases, etc. Sacramento Metro Chamber http://www.metrochamber.org/moving/cc_edd.htm A source for city and county economic data and demographics as well as El Dorado, Placer, Sutter, Yolo, Yuba counties. |
|
Back to the top of the page Go to Databases and Periodical Indexes Page |
|
Questions/comments to:
Ben Amata, Government Documents Librarian California State University, Sacramento Created 6/03: Last updated 5/04 |