Library Logo CAREER GUIDANCE: Selected Resources
by D. Rogenmoser

    
CSUS Career Center
Using EUREKA
General
Web sites for specific fields/occupations
Government Employment (CA/Federal)
NonProfit Careers Databases
Related CSUS Research Guides
Return to Library Homepage

CSUS Career Center

The
CSUS Career Center is located at 2000 Lassen Hall. The center provides career counseling, job listings, internship information, etc. Check their web site for hours, locations, and phone numbers.
Return to top of the page

USING EUREKA TO LOCATE MATERIALS IN THE LIBARY

EUREKA
EUREKA is a catalog of items owned by the CSUS Library. Books can be searched for in EUREKA by title, author, keyword and Library of Congress Subject Headings.

Some suggested keywords are:
                vocational guidance and women
                vocational guidance and science
                vocational guidance and california

Other Keywords: careers, jobs, occupations, employment, etc
Return to top of the page

GENERAL

American Almanac of Jobs and Salaries ref HD 8038 U5 W74 (annual)
America's Job Bank  http://www.ajb.dni.us/
America's Top 101 Jobs for College Graduates  ref HD 6278 U5 F37 2005
America's Top 101 Jobs for People without a Four-Year Degree  ref HD 5724 F27 2005
Best Career and Education Web Sites: a Quick Guide to Online Job Search
     ref HF 5382.75 U6 W65 2004
Bureau of Labor Statistics (U.S. Department of Labor)
     http://www.bls.gov/home.htm
Care.com  http://www.care.com/
Careerbuilder.com  http://www.careerbuilder.com/
CareerJet  http://www.careerjet.com/
Careers and Occupations, Looking to the Future ref HB 2581 L28 2003
Career Information Center, v. 1-13  ref HF 5382.5 U5 C32 2002
Career Journal  http://www.careerjournal.com/
Careers.org  http://www.careers.org/
Dictionary of Occupational Titles  http://www.occupationalinfo.org/
Encyclopedia of Careers and Vocational Guidance  ref HF 5381 .E52 2005 v.1-5
JobStar  http://www.jobstar.org/
Los Angeles Times (job ads)  http://www.latimes.com/
Monster.com  http://www.monster.com/
Occupational Outlook Handbook
O*NET Dictionary of Occupational Titles ref HB 2595 O16 2004
Quick guide to College Majors and Careers  ref LB 2361.5 S53 2002
SacJobs  http://www.sacjobs.com/
The Sacramento Bee (job ads)  http://www.sacbee.com
San Francicso Chronicle (job ads)  http://www.sfgate.com/
San Jose Mercury News (job ads)  http://www.mercurynews.com/mld/mercurynews/
Top 100 careers for College Graduates: Your Complete Guidebook to Major Jobs
     in Many Fields
 ref HF 5382.5 .U5 F374 2007
Vocational Information Center/Job Markets  http://www.khake.com/page5.html
Yahoo Directory/Careers & Jobs
     http://dir.yahoo.com/Business_and_Economy/Employment_and_Work/Careers_and_Jobs/
Return to top of the page

WEB SITED FOR SPECIFIC FIELDS/OCCUPATIONS

Careers in Business  http://www.careers-in-business.com/
Chronicle of Higher Ed  http://chronicle.com/
CSUS Employment  http://www.csus.edu/webpages/employment.htm
Degree Hunter  http://www.degreehunter.com/
Graduate Engineering & Computer Careers Online
     http://www.graduatingengineer.com/
Fine Arts Careers/Univ. Texas
     http://www.utexas.edu/student/careercenter/links/finearts.html
Liberal Arts Careers/Univ. Texas
     http://www.utexas.edu/student/careercenter/links/libarts.html
The National Academies (Sciences, Engineering, Medicine)
     http://www.nas.edu/
National Society of Professional Engineers      http://www.nspe.org/
Science Careers  http://recruit.sciencemag.org/
Teachers @ Work  http://www.teachersatwork.com/
Teach for America  http://www.teachforamerica.org/
Today's Military/Military Careers  http://www.todaysmilitary.com/app/tm/careers
Vocational Information Center/Career Paths
     http://www.khake.com/page2.html
Yahoo Directory/Career Fields
    http://dir.yahoo.com/Business_and_Economy/Business_to_Business/Corporate_Services/
    Human_Resources/Recruiting_and_Placement/Career_Fields/
Return to top of the page

GOVERNMENT EMPLOYMENT (CA/FEDERAL)

CalJobs  http://www.caljobs.ca.gov/
California Occupational Guides
    http://www.labormarketinfo.edd.ca.gov/cgi/career/?PAGEID=3&SUBID=139
California State Government Website http://my.ca.gov/state/portal/myca_homepage.jsp
    Select Labor and Employment
CSUS Employment  http://www.csus.edu/webpages/employment.htm
FedWorld.gov  http://www.fedworld.gov/jobs/jobsearch.html
Select Careers (California)
    http://www.labormarketinfo.edd.ca.gov/cgi/career/?PAGEID=3&SUBID=139
US Department of State/Careers  http://www.state.gov/careers/
Today's Military/Military Careers  http://www.todaysmilitary.com/mc/t13_mc_milcar.php
USA Jobs (Federal Govenment)  http://usajobs.opm.gov/
Return to top of the page

NONPROFIT CAREERS

Jobs at Nonprofits  http://www.jobsatnonprofits.com/
Nonprofit Career Network  http://www.nonprofitcareer.com/
Nonprofit Resource Center (Sacramento Public Library)
    http://www.nonprofitresourcectr.org/intro.html
Philanthropy Careers  http://philanthropy.com/jobs/
US Dept. of State/International Organizations Contact Information
    http://www.state.gov/p/io/empl/11078.htm
Return to top of the page

DATABASES

Databases and indexes are available to all on the Library computers. Unless noted otherwise; off-campus access is restricted to CSUS students, faculty, & staff. Instructions for off-campus access are available at
Off-Campus Access to Library E-Resources

Use the databases to obtain articles about specific companies, specific careers, employment trends, etc. ("Want ads" are available from the newspaper web sites found listed above in the General section of this guide.

Other suggested databases:

Academic Search Premier (Ebsco)
This is a full text general interest database.
Lexis-Nexis: Academic Universe
Full text of articles from industry magazines and newspapers, including the Wall Street Journal and the New York Times.

Business and Industry databases are available from the Business & Economics database page.
Return to top of the page

RELATED CSUS RESEARCH GUIDES

Salaries, Wages and Labor Sources


Back to the top of the page
Go to Library Homepage


Send comments to: Debbie Rogenmoser, , Reference Librarian; drogenmoser@csus.edu
California State University, Sacramento 12/04:Last updated 8/07/dr