Library Logo COMMUNICATION STUDIES:
RESOURCE GUIDE


Contents: Finding Books
Dictionaries and Encyclopedias
Handbooks & Guides
Annuals
Directories
Special Topics
Rhetoric
Databases & Periodical Indexes
Internet Resources

FINDING BOOKS

EUREKA is a catalog of items owned by the CSUS Library. Books can be searched for in Eureka by title, author, keyword and Library of Congress Subject Headings. LC Subject Headings are helpful because they organize all of the books on a topic under one subject heading. Try the following examples:

Business Communication
Information Theory
Mass Media
Content Analysis
Journalism
Rhetoric

Try a subject search and browse the list of subject headings that come up. If this doesn't work, try a keyword search.
  
Back to the top of the page

DICTIONARIES AND ENCYCLOPEDIAS
Communication Handbook  Ref P 875 D46 1986
Dictionary of Quotations About Communication  Ref PN 6081 D535 2000
Dictionary of Media and Communication Studies  Ref P 875 W38 2000
Encyclopedia of Communication and Information  (ebook)
Encyclopedic Dictionary of Semiotics, Media, and Communications  Ref P 875 D36 2000
Facts On File Dictionary of Telecommunications  Ref TK 5102 G73 1991
GATF Glossary of Graphic Communications  Ref Z 118 G76 1998
Hispanic Media & Markets  Ref HF 5905 H5
International Directory of Films and Filmmakers  (ebook)
International Encyclopedia of Communications  Ref P 875 I5 1989
Language and Communication: A Cross-Cultural Encyclopedia  Ref P 29 F47 1998
St. James Encyclopedia of Popular Culture  Ref E 169.1 S764 2000
VideoHound's Golden Movie Retriever  (ebook)
Webster's New World Dictionary of Media and Communications  Ref P 875 W45 1996
World Press Encyclopedia  (ebook)
  
Back to the top of the page

HANDBOOKS & GUIDES
Communication Research Measures: A Sourcebook  Ref P 913 C62 1994
Barron’s How to Prepare for the TOEIC  Ref PE 1128 L644 1999
Handbook of Research Design and Social Measurement  Ref H 62 M44 1991
Handbook of Rhetorical and Communication Theory  Ref P 90 H296 1984
Violence and the Media: A Reference Handbook  P 96 V5 N48 1996
Communication Research: Strategies and Sources  P 91.3 R83 2000
  
Back to the top of the page

ANNUALS
Communication Yearbook 1977-Current;  P 87 C5974
International and Intercultural Communication Annual  1976-Current;
    (Series title; individual volumes cataloged separately)
  
Back to the top of the page

DIRECTORIES
African American’s Information Directory  Ref E 185.5 B52 1998/99
Metro California Media  Ref P 88.88 M47 1998
Communication Disciplines in Higher Education  Ref P 88.8 E46 1993
Directory of Women’s Media  Ref HQZ 7962 I52 1992
Peterson’s Media Companies  P 88.8 P47
Women in Communication: A Biographical Sourcebook  P 94.5 W65 W667 1996
  
Back to the top of the page

SPECIAL TOPICS
Black Women in Television  Ref PN 1992.8 A34 H55 1990
Blacks and the Media: Communications Research Since 1978  PZ 5633 A37 W55 1990
Children's Journeys Through the Information Age  HQ 784 T4 C24 1999
Control of the Media in the United States  Ref PZ 5634 U6 B46 1992
Ethnic and Racial Images in American Film and Television  Ref PNZ 5784 M9 W65 1987
Human Communication Behavior and Information Processing  Ref PZ 5630 P48 1992
Image of Older Adults in the Media  Ref PZ 5633 A39 N84 1992
Political Communication: Rhetoric, Government, and Citizens  JA 85 H34 1998
Press and Speech Freedoms in America, 1619-1995: a Chronology  Ref PN 4738 P74 1997
Terrorism and the News Media: A Selected, Annotated Bibliography  P 96 T472 A43 1994
Unspeakable Images: Ethnicity and the American Cinema  PN 19959 M56 U57 1991
  
Back to the top of the page

RHETORIC
American Orators Before 1900  Ref PN 4055 U5 A4 1987
American Orators of the Twentieth Century  Ref PN 4193 P6 A44 1987
Black Rhetoric: A Guide to Afro-American Communication  Ref PNZ 1361 N39 G55
Encyclopedia of Rhetoric Ref PN 172 E52 2001
Encyclopedia of Rhetoric and Composition  Ref PN 172 E53 1996
Forest of Rhetoric  http://humanities.byu.edu/rhetoric/silva.htm
Handbook of Rhetorical Devices  http://www.virtualsalt.com/rhetoric.htm
Handbook of Modern Rhetorical Terms  Ref PN 172 W6
Historical Rhetoric: An Annotated Bibliography  Ref PNZ 7004 R5 H57
Index to American Women Speakers: 1828-1978  Ref PSZ 1231 O7 M36
The Penguin Book of Twentieth-Century Speeches Ref D 411 P46 1992
Representative American Speeches 1939-Current  PS 668 R4
Rhetoric eserver  http://rhetoric.eserver.org/
Sourcebook on Rhetoric: Key Concepts in Contemporary Rhetorical Studies PN 172 J37 2001
Speech Index 1935-1980  Ref PNZ 6514 S7 S75
Vital Speeches of the Day 1934-Current;  3 South-Periodicals
     Also available in Academic Search Premier (EBSCO)
We Shall be Heard: An Index to Speeches by American Women, 1978 to 1985
     Ref PSZ 1231 O7 M37 1988
  
Back to the top of the page

DATABASES & PERIODICAL INDEXES

Print Indexes

  • Communication Abstracts 1978-2006 in Lower Level

Online Indexes

Indexes can be accessed via the Library computers or on-campus computer labs. Unless noted otherwise; electronic indexes are restricted to CSUS students, faculty, & staff. Instructions for off-campus access are available at Off-Campus Access to Library E-Resources .
  • Academic Search Premier (EBSCO)
    This is a multi-disciplinary fulltext database and includes Communications Abstracts.
  • Communication & Mass Media Complete
    This fulltext database combines CommSearch and Mass Media Articles Index as well as major journalism reviews, recent encyclopedias, and handbooks in the area of communications studies.
  • AccuNet/AP Multimedia Archive
    The AccuNet/AP Multimedia Archive features two photo databases: an an International photo archive and a Euro/Asian photo archive. The former features state, regional and national photos from North America, as well as the best of the international photo report.
  • Oxford English Dictionary
    The Oxford English Dictionary is the accepted authority on the evolution of the English language over the last millennium. It is a guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of over half a million words both present and past.
  • PsycINFO
    Provides indexing and abstracts for over one million articles in 1,700 journals from over 50 countries. This database, provided by the American Psychological Association, also includes abstracts for dissertations, books and book chapters ranging in date from 1887 to the present.
  • Social Sciences Full Text
    The Social Sciences Full Text database indexes and abstracts articles from over 500 English-language periodicals published in the United States and elsewhere. Coverage includes a wide range of interdisciplinary fields covered in a broad array of social sciences journals from 1983 to the present
  
Back to the top of the page

INTERNET RESOURCES
  • American Communication Association
    http://www.americancomm.org/
    Provides an annotated list of communication-related links organized by the sub-fields of Communications Studies. Each of the sub-field categories leads to dozens of further links to web resources in that field.
  • American Communication Journal
    http://www.acjournal.org/
    The American Communication Journal is the premier online scholarly, refereed journal dedicated to the study of communication. The ACJ is published by the American Communication Association.
  • CIOS: Communication Institue for Online Scholarship
  • Finding Data on the Internet: A Journalist’s Guide
    http://www.robertniles.com/data
    Designed by a professional journalist as an electronic resource to general data and statistical sources for other journalists. Crime, demographics, law, and other broad categories are represented.
  • The Freedom Forum Online
    http://www.freedomforum.org/
    A nonpartisan, international foundation, dedicated to free press and free speech. Stories and documents are updated daily.
  • Journal of Computer-Mediated Communication
    http://jcmc.indiana.edu/
    A publication of the Annenberg School for Communication, University of Southern California. Focuses on the communication research implications of new forms of electronic media.
  • Newslink
    http://newslink.org/
    Offers journalism professionals articles on current US journalism topics. It also provides links to over 8,000 magazines, news services, and newspapers (including small-town weeklies, campus papers, and alternative papers) in the US and around the world.
  • Online Newspapers.com
    http://www.onlinenewspapers.com/
    Links to newspapers from around the world.
  
Back to the top of the page
Go to Library Home Page Page

Questions/comments to:
Mary Reddick,mreddick@csus.edu, Librarian, CSU Sacramento; created 2/6/02:Last updated 4/08