Library Logo ANTHROPOLOGY
RESOURCE GUIDE


Contents: General Anthropology
       Dictionaries and Encyclopedias
       Handbooks
       Research Guides
Archaeology
Folklore
Dissertations and Theses
Indexes to Journals
Selected Journals
Internet Web Sites
Return to Library Homepage

EUREKA COMPUTER CATALOG
Library of Congress (LC) catalog numbers provide browsing areas for books.
Physical Anthropology
Human Evolution
Ethnology
Prehistoric Peoples
GN 60
GN 200's
GN 300-400
GN 700's
Folklore
Manners and Customs
Archaeology
GR
GT
CC

GENERAL ANTHROPOLOGY
  • Dictionaries and Encyclopedias
American Indian Religious Traditions: an Encyclopedia v.1-3 Ref E 98 .R3 C755 2005
Anthropological Lives: Biographies of Eminent Anthropologists.  ref GN 20 .E7 1993
The Cambridge Encyclopedia of Human Evolution.  ref GN 281 .C345 1992
The Cambridge Encyclopedia of Hunters and Gatherers.  ref GN 388 .C35 1999
Companion Encyclopedia of Anthropology.  ref GN 25 .C65 1997
Countries and their Cultures  (ebook)
Dictionary of Concepts in Cultural Anthropology.  ref GN 307 .W56 1991
Dictionary of Concepts in Physical Anthropology.  ref GN 50.3 .S74 1991
Dictionary of Latin American Racial and Ethnic terminology.  ref GN 562 .S74 1999
Encyclopedia of Cultural Anthropology.  ref GN 307 .E52 1996
The Encyclopedia of Evolution: Humanity's Search for its Origins.  ref GN 281 .M53 1990
Encyclopedia of Food and Culture  (ebook)
Encyclopedia of Human Evolution and Prehistory.  ref GN 281 .E53 2000
Encyclopedia of Religious Rites, Rituals, and Festivals.  ref BL 31 .E47 2004
Encyclopedia of Social and Cultural Anthropology.  ref GN 307 .E648 1996
Encyclopedia of the World's Nations and Cultures.  ref G 63 K874 2007 v.1-4
Ethnic Groups Worldwide: a Ready Reference Handbook.  ref GN 325 .L46 1998
Gale Encyclopedia of Multicultural America  (ebook)
History of Physical Anthropology.  ref GN 50.3 .H57 1997
International Dictionary of Anthropologists.  ref GN 20 .I5 1991
The Oxford Encyclopedia of Food and Drink in America.  ref TX 349 E45 2004
Worldmark Encyclopedia of Cultures and Daily Life.  ref GN 333 .W67 1998
  • Handbooks
CRC Ethnobotany Desk Reference.  ref GN 476.73 .J66 1999
Cultural Anthropology : a Guide to Reference and Information Sources.
    ref GNZ 5111 .K53 1991
The Encyclopedia of the Peoples of the World.  ref GN 495.4 .E53 1993
Ethnic Cultures of the World: a Statistical Reference.  ref GN 495.4 .P37 1997
Ethnic Groups Worldwide: a Ready Reference Handbook.  ref GN 325 .L46 1998
Ethnic Relations: a Cross-cultural Encyclopedia.  ref GN 496 .L48 1994
From Lucy to Language.  ref GN 281 .J57 1996
History of Physical Anthropology.  ref GN 50.3 .H57 1997
Peoples of the World. Africans South of the Sahara.  ref GN 645 .M67
Peoples of the World. Asians and Pacific Islanders: the Culture, Geographical
    Setting, and Historical Background of 41 Asian and Pacific Island Peoples

    ref GN 308.3 .A83 M6 1993
Peoples of the World. North Americans : the Culture, Geographical Setting, and
    Historical Background of 37 North American Peoples
.  ref GN 550 .M67 1991
Peoples of the World. Western Europeans : the Culture, Geographical Setting, and
    Historical Background of 38 Western European Peoples
.  ref GN 575 .M68 1993
Social and Cultural Anthropology : the Key Concepts.  ref GN 316 .R37 2000
  • Research Guides
Annual Review of Anthropology  http://anthro.AnnualReviews.org/
    Archival issues available in JSTOR. Print 1972-current available ref GNZ 5112 .A5
Anthropological Resources: a Guide to Archival, Library, and Museum Collections.
    ref GN 14 .A77 1999
Films for Anthropological Teaching.  ref GN 42.3 .Z9 H44 1995
Fieldwork in the Library: a Guide to Research in Anthropology and Related Area Studies
    ref GNZ 5111 .W47 1994
Finding the Source in Sociology and Anthropology.  ref HMZ 7164 .S68 B75 1987
Guide to the Collections of the Human Studies Film Archives.  ref GN 347 .S64 1995
Introduction to Library Research in Anthropology.  ref GNZ 5111 .W44 1991
Outline of World Cultures.  ref GN 34 .M8 1983
Outline of Cultural Materials.  ref GN 33 .H8 1982
The Student Anthropologist's Handbook.  ref GN 34.7 .F7
Return to top of the page

ARCHAEOLOGY
  • Reference Books
Archaeological Method and Theory: an Encyclopedia.  ref CC 75 .A654 2000.
Archaeology on Film.  ref CC 85 .Z9 A4 1995.
Archaeology of Ancient Mexico and Central America: an Encyclopedia.
    ref F 1218.6 .A73 2001.
The Blackwell Encyclopedia of Industrial Archaeology.  ref T 37 .B55 1992.
California Rock Art: an Annotated Site Inventory and Bibliography.  ref E 78 .C15 S68 1995.
Companion Encyclopedia of Archaeology.  ref CC 70 .C59 1999.
A Dictionary of Archaeology.  ref CC 70 .D53 1999.
Dictionary of Concepts in Archaeology.  ref CC 70 .M45 1993.
Encyclopedia of Archaeology: History and Discoveries.  ref CC 100 .E54 2001.
Encyclopedia of Archaeology:.the Great Archaeologists.  ref CC 110 .E54 1999.
Encyclopedic dictionary of Archaeology.  ref CC 70 .K56 2000.
Encyclopedia of Precolonial Africa.  ref DT 2 .E53 1997.
Encyclopedia of the Archaeology of Ancient Egypt.  ref DT 58 .E53 1998.
An Encyclopedia of the History of Classical Archaeology.  ref DE 5 .E5 1996.
Encyclopedia of Underwater and Maritime Archaeology.  ref CC 77 .U5 E53 1997.
The Oxford Companion to Archaeology.  ref CC 70 .O96 1996.
The Oxford Encyclopedia of Archaeology in the Near East.  ref DS 56 .O9 1997.
Return to top of the page

FOLKLORE
  • Reference Books
Abstracts of Folklore Studies.  ref GR 1 .A52
American Folklore: an Encyclopedia.  ref GR 101 .A54 1996
Dictionary of Chicano Folklore.  ref GR 111 .M49 C37 2000
A dictionary of Folklore.  ref GR 35 .P5 1999
The dictionary of Sacred and Magical Plants.  ref GR 780 .R3813 1992
Encyclopedia of Urban Legends.  ref GR 105.34 .B78 2001
Folklore: an Encyclopedia of Beliefs, Customs, Tales, Music, and Art.
    ref GR 35 .F63 1997
Folklore and Folklife: a Guide to English-language Reference Sources.
    ref GRZ 5981 .S74 1992
Larousse Dictionary of World Folklore.  ref GR 35 .J664 1995
Medieval folklore: an Encyclopedia of Myths, Legends, Tales, Beliefs, and Customs.
    ref GR 35 .M43 2000
The Penguin Dictionary of American Folklore.  ref GR 105.34 .A94 2000
The Storyteller's Sourcebook: a Subject, Title, and Motif Index to Folklore
    Collections for Children, 1983-1999
.  ref GR 74.6 .M3 2001

See also CSUS research guide
Humanities: World Mythology and Folklore
    http://library.csus.edu/guides/rogenmoserd/humanities/worldmyth.html
Return to top of the page

DISSERTATIONS AND THESES

Dissertations and Theses (ProQuest)
    Dissertations published from 1980 forward; Master's theses published from 1988 forward
Dissertation Abstracts International.  Index Area LBZ 5055 .U49 D5
Masters Abstracts.  Index Area LBZ 5055 U5 M3
Finding CSUS Masters Thesis & Projects  http://library.csus.edu/guides/rogenmoserd/sturmt/theses.htm
Return to top of the page

INDEXES TO JOURNAL LITERATURE
  • Printed Indexes
Abstracts in Anthropology. (1970-2000) ref GN 11 .A15
Anthropological Literature. (1989-1999) ref GNZ 5112 .A43
Human relations area files. Library Media Center Microfiche 009998
Index to the Human Relations Area Files. Lower Level GNZ 7164 .S667 H86
Sage Race Relations Abstracts.(1975-1991, 1994-current) HMZ 7164 .R12 S12
Sociological Abstracts. (1953-1999) Index Area HM 1 .S67
  • Electronic Indexes
Unless noted otherwise; electronic indexes are restricted to CSUS students, faculty, & staff. Instructions for off-campus access are available at
Off-Campus Access to Library E-Resources .
Return to top of the page

SELECTED JOURNALS
Listed below are representative samples of titles currently received at CSUS Library. Those journals that are also available online or are available fulltext in a database are indicated.

American Anthropologist  available in
JSTOR
American Antiquity  available in JSTOR
American Ethnologist  available in JSTOR
American Journal of Physical Anthropology
Ancient Mesoamerica
Anthropological Quarterly
Anthropology & Education Quarterly  available in Education Full Text (Wilson)
Anthropology Newsletter
Asian Perspective
Cross-Cultural Research  available in Academic Search Premier (Ebsco)
Current Anthropology
Ethnology  available in Academic Search Premier (Ebsco)
Human Ecology Forum  available in Academic Search Premier (Ebsco)
Human Organization   available in MetaPress
Journal of American Folklore
Journal of Anthropological Archaeology
Journal of Anthropological Research
Journal of Archaeological Science
Journal of Ethnobiology
Journal of Field Archaeology  available in JSTOR
Latin American Antiquity  available in JSTOR
Near Eastern Archaeology
Plains Anthropologist
Western Folklore  available in Literature Online Reference Edition
World Archaeology
Return to top of the page

INTERNET WEB SITES
American Anthropological Association http://www.aaanet.org/
Anthro.Net  http://www.anthro.net/
Anthropology in the News  http://www.tamu.edu/anthropology/news.html
Archaeology on the Net  http://members.tripod.com/~archonnet/
Archives of European Archaeology  http://www.area-archives.org/
ArchNet  http://archnet.asu.edu/.
California Academy of Sciences - Department of Anthroplogy
    http://www.calacademy.org/research/anthropology/
Ethnographic Studies  http://www.loc.gov/folklife/other.html
Ethnologue: Languages of the World  http://www.ethnologue.com/
Humanities: World Mythology and Folklore  CSUS Research Guide
    http://library.csus.edu/guides/rogenmoserd/humanities/worldmyth.html
Institute of Human Origins  http://www.asu.edu/clas/iho/
Internet Resources for Social and Cultural Anthropology
     http://www2.lib.udel.edu/subj/anth/soccult/internet.htm
National Archaeological Database  http://www.cast.uark.edu/other/nps/nadb/
National Park Service: Archaeology & Ethnography Program  http://www.cr.nps.gov/aad/
National Museum of Natural History (Smithsonian): Department of Anthropology
    http://www.nmnh.si.edu/departments/anthro.html/
SAR, School for Advanced Research  http://www.sarweb.org/
Society for American Archaeology  http://www.saa.org/
Society for California Archaeology  http://www.scahome.org/
Society for Historical Archaeology  http://www.sha.org/
Tribal Photography Resource and Gallery  http://www.tribalphoto.com/
UCSB Anthropology Department  http://www.anth.ucsb.edu/
Yahoo Directory/Anthroplogy & Archaeology
    http://dir.yahoo.com/Social_Science/Anthropology_and_Archaeology/
Back to the top of the page
Go to Library Home Page

Questions/comments to:  Reza Peigahi, Instruction and Anthropology Librarian, reza.peigahi@csus.edu
California State University, Sacramento
sf/dr 5/02: Last updated 11/07