Library Logo FOREIGN LANGUAGE AND
LITERATURE: FRENCH

D.Rogenmoser


Finding Books in EUREKA
General
Dictionaries/Grammar
Bibliographies
Literary Encyclopedias, Dictionaries
Biographical References
French Texts and Newspapers
Culture
Teaching French
Databases for Journal Articles
Return to Library Home Page

FINDING BOOKS IN EUREKA
EUREKA is a catalog of items owned by the CSUS Library.  Books can be searched for in EUREKA by title, author, keyword and Library of Congress Subject Headings.
  • Keyword Searching: Use Keyword to search for books on topics such as:
        french literature
        french french language
        french and drama
        french and dictionaries
        french literature and criticism

  • Browsing: General locations and call numbers for browsing the shelves for books on French Language and Literature are:

    French Language 3 North PC 2001-3761 (circulating books)
        or 2 North Reference PC 2001-3761
    French Literature 3 North PQ 1-3999 (circulating books)
        or 2 North Reference PQ 1-3999


  • Use Advance Search to search for a book that is written in French. Use the LANGUAGE field to choose the language of the book.
Return to top of the page

GENERAL

About.com/French Encyclopedias  http://french.about.com/od/encyclopedias/
Afrique Francophone  http://www.lehman.cuny.edu/deanhum/langlit/french/afrique.html
ARTFL Project  http://www.lib.uchicago.edu/efts/ARTFL/
Encyclopedia of Diderot and d'ALembert  http://quod.lib.umich.edu/d/did/
French@Lehman,CUNY  http://www.lehman.cuny.edu/deanhum/langlit/french/
Grand Dictionnaire Encyclopedique Larousse. 10 vol.  AE 25 .G63
Tennessee Bob's Famous French Links
    http://www.utm.edu/departments/french/french.html
Return to top of the page

DICTIONARIES/GRAMMAR WORKS

About.com/French Dictionaries  http://french.about.com/od/dicosmonolingual/
ARTFL Project: French/English Dictionary
    http://humanities.uchicago.edu/orgs/ARTFL/forms_unrest/FR-ENG.html
BBC French  http://www.bbc.co.uk/languages/french/index.shtml
Collins-Robert French-English, English-French dictionary. 2nd ed.  Ref PC 2640 .C688 1993
Dictionnaire de la Langue Francaise 7 vol.   PC 2625 L63
francophone dictionnaire _dictionaries from French speaking Countries
    http://www.lexilogos.com/francophonie_dictionnaires.htm
Dictionnaire Général de la Langue Française du Commencement du XVIIe Siècle Jusqu'à
    nos Jours, Précédé d'un Traité de la Formation de la Langue
2 vol.  PC 2625 H4
An Illustrated Dictionary of French Similes  Ref PC 2440 F65 2000
The Oxford-Hachette French Dictionary: French-English, English-French.
    Ref PC 2640 .O94 1994
Trésor de la Langue Française: Dictionnaire de la Langue du XIXe et du XXe Siècle
    (1789-1960)
16 vol. (Quarto)  PC 2625 I4
Le Trésor de la Langue Française Informatisé  http://atilf.atilf.fr/tlf.htm
Verb Conjugator (ARTFL Project)
    http://machaut.uchicago.edu/?resource=conjugator
Return to top of the page

BIBLIOGRAPHIES

Bibliographie de la Littérature Française du Moyen Age à nos Jours 15 vol.
    Ref PQZ 2171 B55
A Critical Bibliography of French Literature  Ref PQZ 2171 C3
French Feminist Criticism: Women, Language, and Literature: an Annotated
    Bibliography
  HQ 1386 G44 1985
French Literature 2 vol. Lower Level  Z 2189 H3 1973
French Literature: an Annotated Guide to Selected Bibliographies
    Ref PQZ 2171 A1 C34 1981
French VII Bibliography: Critical and Biographical References for the Study of
    Contemporary French Literature
4 vol.  Ref PQZ 2173 F7
French XX Bibliography  Ref PQZ 2173 F7
Guide to French Poetry Explication Ref PQ 401 C65 1993
Manuel Bibliographique de la Littérature Française du Moyen Age
    Ref PQZ 2172 B7
Modern French Literature 2 vol.  Ref PQ 306 M57
Modern French Literature and Language: a Bibliography of Homage Studies
    Ref PQZ 2175 F45 G74 1976
Return to top of the page

LITERARY ENCYCLOPEDIAS AND DICTIONARIES

Dictionnaire des Critiques Littéraires: Guide de la Critique Française du XXe Siècle
    Ref PQ 67 A2 L4 Dictionnaire des Lettres Françaises.  Ref PQ 41 D53
Dictionnaire de Littérature Contemporaine, 1900-1962.  Ref PQ 305 B54
Dictionnaire de Littérature Française Contemporaine.  Ref PQ 305 B584
Dictionnaire des Littératures de Langue Française.   Ref PQ 41 B4 1984
Dictionary of Modern French Literature: from the Age of Reason Through Realism
    Ref PQ 41 D65 1986
Encyclopedia of Contemporary French Culture  Ref DC 33.7 E53 1998
The Feminist Encyclopedia of French Literature  Ref PQ 149 F47 1999
Guide to French Literature: Beginnings to 1789  Ref PQ 41 L49 1994
Guide to French Literature: 1789 to the Present  Ref PQ 41 L48 1992
The New Oxford Companion to Literature in French  Ref PQ 41 N48 1995
Return to top of the page

BIOGRAPHICAL REFERENCES

French Dramatists, 1789-1914  Ref PS 125 .D5 v.192
French Novelists, 1900-1930  Ref PS 125 D5 v.65
French Novelists, 1930-1960  Ref PS 125 D5 v.72
French Novelists since 1960   Ref PS 125 D5 v.83
French Women Playwrights before the Twentieth Century: a Checklist
    Ref PQZ 2174 D7 B43 1994
French Women Writers: a Bio-Bibliographical Source Book
    Ref PQ 149 F73 1991
Modern French Poets Ref PS 125 D5 v.258
Nineteenth-Century French Fiction Writers: Naturalism and Beyond, 1860-1900
    Ref PS 125 D5 v.123
Nineteenth-Century French Fiction Writers: Romanticism and Realism, 1800-1860
    Ref PS 125 .D5 v.119
Nineteenth-Century French Poets  Ref PS 125 D5 v.217
Sixteenth-Century French Writers  Ref PS 125 D5 v.327
Twentieth-Century French Dramatists Ref PS 125 D5 v.321
Writers of the French Enlightenment  Ref PS 125 D5 v.313-314
Return to top of the page

FRENCH TEXTS AND NEWSPAPERS

ABU - classic texts  http://abu.cnam.fr/
ARTFL Project  http://www.lib.uchicago.edu/efts/ARTFL/
French Language News and Magazines
    http://libraries.mit.edu/guides/types/flnews/french.html
Labyrinth - Medieval Texts
    http://labyrinth.georgetown.edu/display.cfm?Action=View&Category=French,%20Old
Online Newspapers/France  http://www.onlinenewspapers.com/france.htm
Tennessee Bob's Famous French Links
    http://www.utm.edu/departments/french/french.html
Yahoo Directory News/Media by Country
    http://dir.yahoo.com/News_and_Media/By_Region/Countries/
Return to top of the page

CULTURE

L'Afrique Francophone Virtuelle
    http://globegate.utm.edu/french/vftourist/vftourist.africa.html
Encyclopedia of Contemporary French Culture  Ref N 6853 D8 S37 2000
French@Lehman,CUNY  http://www.lehman.cuny.edu/deanhum/langlit/french/
Le Ministe're de la Culture  http://www.culture.fr/
Le Quartier Francais du Village Planétaire
    http://www.urich.edu/~jpaulsen/gvfrench.html
Tennessee Bob's Famous French Links
    http://www.utm.edu/departments/french/french.html
Yahoo- French Language  http://fr.yahoo.com/
Back to the top of the page

TEACHING FRENCH

American Association of Teachers of French  http://www.frenchteachers.org/
Foreign Language Framework for California Public Schools: K-12 (2003)
    http://www.cde.ca.gov/re/pn/fd/documents/foreign-language.pdf
French across the Curriculum...  http://www.utm.edu/departments/french/french.html#french
French Lessons  http://www.utm.edu/staff/globeg/frlesson.shtml
French Chat   http://www.french-chat.com/
Lesson Plans K-12/ESL & Foreign Language  
    http://library.csus.edu/guides/rogenmoserd/educ/LESSON.HTM#esl
Materials of Interest to Secondary Foreign Language Teachers/CSUS Research Guide
    http://library.csus.edu/guides/rogenmoserd/educ/secondaryforeign.htm
Le Ministère Education Nationale  http://www.education.gouv.fr/
Resources for Students and Teachers of French as a Second Language
    http://aix1.uottawa.ca/~weinberg/french.html
Tennessee Bob's Famous French Links
    http://www.utm.edu/departments/french/french.html
Return to top of the page

DATABASES FOR JOURNAL ARTICLES

Unless noted otherwise; electronic indexes are restricted to CSUS students, faculty, & staff. Instructions for off-campus access are available at Off-Campus Access to Library E-Resources.
  • MLA   1920s-current
    Although it does not provide full text or abstracts, this index is the first place to search for literary criticism.
  • Project MUSE
    This is a social science and humanities database with full text articles from journals.
  • Lexis-Nexis: Academic Universe
    There are numerous French language newspapers in this full text database.
    Under "Academic Search Forms" select "News." For "Step 1: News Category" choose "NON-ENGLISH LANGUAGE NEWS"; then under "Step 2: News Source" choose "FRENCH LANGUAGE NEWS."
  • JSTOR
    This is a humanities database with full text articles from archival (most current 3-5 years not available) journals.
  • Academic Search Premier (Ebsco)  1990-current
    This index is a mixture of full text and abstracts.
Back to the top of the page
Go to Library Home Page

Questions/comments to Debbie Rogenmoser, Reference Librarian; drogenmoser@csus.edu, CSU Sacramento
10/01 Last updated 8/07