INTRODUCTION
Students looking for tests are often trying to complete one of two assignments:
- a critique/evaluation of a test that has been published and is used in practice by therapists or school psychologists
- a research design that includes a test/questionnaire that has been developed by someone and can be used without purchasing a published test.
Critical evaluations of published tests are important sources of information on
the test validity. Does it measure what it purports to measure? Is it reliable--will it
achieve consistent results on repeated administrations? The purpose of this guide is to
list sources of critical reviews of various kinds of tests, and to provide information about
sample published and unpublished tests available in the CSUS Library.
Obtaining a copy of a test or scale from the Library
|
Three important points to keep in mind:
- Validated published tests are protected by copyright and must be
purchased from the publisher in order to use or administer them. The Library has a small
collection of published tests. See item 4 Using Eureka for instructions on locating those tests.
These published tests cannot be copied or checked out.
- Experimental tests (unpublished, not validated, not copyrighted) are less restricted and in many cases may be used, revised, administered. Unpublished tests usually appear in journal articles and
can be used free of charge.
- It is often easier to locate a test by attribute (racism, anxiety, intelligence) than
a specific test by name.
1. Using PsycInfo,
ERIC, or CINAHL databases
to find unpublished tests, scales or measurements:
- Enter a key word search using broad attributes such as: eating disorder, racism, child development,
stress in the first box.
- Depending on which database being used, the second box should have the following information:
PsycInfo:
- Type the word appended in the next box and, using the pull down menu, change the
Select a Field (Optional) to TM Tests and Measures.
ERIC:
- Type the word test* in the next box and, using the pull down menu, change the
Select a Field (Optional) to Pu Publication Type. Be sure to add the
asterick after the word tests.
CINAHL:
- Type questionnaire* in the next box and, using the pull down menu, change the
Select a Field (Optional) to PT Publication Type.
Be sure to add the
asterick after the word questionnaiare.
- The result is a list of journal articles that have a test, measure, or scale
appended to the article.
- Print the PDF/HTML copy of the article or use the Find It button to obtain a
copy of the article/test.
2. Tests available in microfiche:
The Library has a collection of tests from the Educational Testing Service (ETS) located in
the Library Media Center filed in drawer #7539. This collection makes available many unpublished tests
referred to in the professional literature. There is a print index to this collection:
ETS Test Collection: Tests in Microfiche ref LBZ 5814 .P8 E32 yr
This is a cumulated index for 1975 - 1987, updated by annual supplements.
3. Screening Tools and Rating Tables:
From Massachusetts General Hospital School of Psychiatry, this site lists 64 (published)
tests for a variety of mental health symptoms including depression, bipolar/mania, autism, attention deficit, anxiety, etc. Many are available
free of charge. Some of the tests listed link to other web sites that include published and unpublished tests.
4. Using EUREKA,
the Library catalog to find published, copyrighted, validated tests:
The Reference Department maintains a limited number of sample validated educational and psychological
tests in print format that may be requested at the reference desk. In order to protect the integrity of the tests, publishers
DO NOT PERMIT THEM TO BE PHOTOCOPIED or CHECKED OUT.
- Type the words sample test as a key word in EUREKA. This will provide a list of all the print tests available.
- One can also specify additional keywords such as title, author or test subject (stress, child development, parenting, etc.)
when searching EUREKA for these tests.
|
Return to top of the page
TEST REVIEWS AND EVALUATIONS
Comprehensive Handbook of Psychological Assessment (CHOPA) ref BF 176 C654 2003
Four volume set containing 121 chapters by expert contributors. Some chapters present historical review,
theoretical considerations, cross-cultural factors, etc., while other chapters are on individual tests described in great detail.
Extensive bibliographies end each chapter.
Vol.1: Intellectual and Neuropsychological Assessment; Vol.2: Personality Assessment;
Vol.3: Behavioral Assessment; Vol.4: Industrial and Organizational Assessment
A Consumer's Guide to Tests in Print. 2nd ed. ref LB 3060.32 N67 H36 1992
Presents objective evaluations and ratings of norm-referenced tests designed for diagnostic and screening purposes.
Only the most frequently cited and promising new tests published since the 1st edition and intended for
students in grades K-12 are included. Lengthy narrative section describes measurement
principles, reviewers evaluation methods and criteria, followed by alphabetical list of the
tests rated according to the criteria. Several appendices serve as indexes.
Dictionary of Behavioral Assessment Techniques ref BF 176.5 D53 1988
This well indexed quick reference guide for a multitude of behavioral assessment tools provides
substantive descriptions and sources of additional information on each test.
Encyclopedia of Psychological Assessment. ref BF 176 E53 2003
Alphabetical arrangement by concept. Entries include techniques; and appropriate instruments
are described. Preface lists concepts and categories. Vol. 2 contains the index.
Handbook of Family Measurement Techniques ref HQ 728 T68 2001
Convenient arrangement of abstracts and detailed information on more than 1,000 instruments for
assessing family variables, including validity, reliability, sample items, references to additional
information.
Handbook of Psychiatric Measures, 2nd ed. ref RC 473 P78 A46 2008
Handbook containing detailed descriptions of more than 275 clinically useful
measures from several domains, compiled by medical professionals. Tests are described with reliability, validity, and utility
information included. A CD-ROM in PDF format accompanies this work. It provides complete copies of more than 150 measures in the
public domain or with copyright permission from test publishers.
Handbook of Tests and Measurement in Education and the Social Sciences, 2nd ed.
ref LB 3051 L4543 2000
Contains over 120 instruments, published and/or unpublished, arranged under 36 topics with
author and title index. Includes psychometric characteristics
and bibliographic sources as well as the instrument itself. Permission from author(s) and/or
publisher(s) should be obtained prior to use in research.
Instrumentation in Education: an Anthology ref BFZ 7204 P88 B57 1993
Provides brief descriptions, reliability, validity, scoring, sample items, author, publisher
information, and references to other sources of reviews for 850 measures published between 1950
and 1992. Organized by subject category.
Measures of Personality and Social Psychological Attitudes ref BF 698.4 M38 1991
This latest volume in the measurement sourcebook series expands the original editions. It contains test
examples and evaluative reviews contributed by specialists in 11 attitude areas. An extensive
bibliography of additional sources concludes each chapter.
Measuring Health: a Review of Quality of Life Measurement Scales. ref RA 407 B69 1997
Includes reviews and examples of the most popularly used and tested scales. Detailed table of
contents; no index; many references to other sources.
Mental Measurement Yearbook 1938-current ref LBZ 5814 P8 B932
The aim of the Mental Measurement Yearbook (MMY) is to provide critical evaluations of published
tests and thereby to raise the standards for test construction, validation, and use. The editions
of MMY do not supersede, but rather supplement each other. Therefore, depending on when a test was
first published, all editions and supplements may be useful in finding information about the test.
This information can include: description of the test, critical evaluations, and references to
journal articles and reviews.
Beginning with volume 9, the MMY is available online,
see Databases
below.
Tests in Print ref LBZ 5814 E9 B8
This serves as master index to the Mental Measurement Yearbooks and describes every test currently
available for purchase. Tests in Print V updates coverage to 13th edition of MMY. It is a good
idea to read the "How to Use This Book" section in the introduction. The last page of this guide
provides an explanation of the symbols used in the MMY and the TIP. Also available online; see Databases
below.
Test Critiques (1984-current) ref BF 176 T419
These volumes review and critique "the most frequently used psychological, educational, and
business tests," listing references for further research.
Tests: A Comprehensive Reference for Assessments in Psychology, Education,
and Business, th ed. ref BF 176 T43 2008
Entries provide the basic information necessary to decide whether a particular test is appropriate.
Several thousand tests are described in three main sections (Psychology, Education, and Business),
which are further divided into subsections. There are special indexes for hearing-impaired,
physically impaired, visually impaired, and foreign availability.
Tests and Measurements in Child Development: Handbook I, 1956-65.
Handbook II, 1966-74. ref BF 722 J64 1976
These handbooks together make available information on over 1200 unpublished tests of child
development, including how to obtain the test. Arrangement is by broad subject category and
sub-category. Indexes of measure, author, and subject are provided in volume 2.
Return to top of the page
DIRECTORIES
Directory of Unpublished Experimental Mental Measures. ref BF 431 G625
This directory provides references to experimental nonstandardized mental measures currently
undergoing development. Test descriptions and references to journal articles are organized into
categories with an author and subject index. Directory is updated regularly with new volumes.
ETS Test Collection Catalog v.1-5. 2nd ed. ref LB 3051 E79 1993
Brief abstracts describe, but do not evaluate, a wide variety of more than 14,000 published tests
from kindergarten through adult. This source locates hard-to-find as well as commercially
available instruments.
Use EUREKA to locate books on testing and tests.
Suggested Library of Congress subject headings useful for searching the EUREKA
Computer Catalog are:
Ability--Testing
Anxiety--Testing
Educational tests and measurements
Examinations--Evaluation
Intelligence tests
|
Minorities--Psychological tests
Perception--Testing
Personality tests
Psychological tests
Psychological tests for children
| |
For test information related to a specific discipline, "Reading--Ability testing",
for example, identifies the following title:
Reading: Tests and Assessment Techniques.
ref LB 1050.46 P87 1985
Return to top of the page
SPECIAL POPULATIONS
Assessment of Exceptional Students: Educational and Psychological Procedures, 6th ed.
ref LC 4031 T36 2003
A handbook with chapters on philosophy and overviews of assessment systems and a major
section that describes tests and subtests, interpretation of scores, relevant reviews for referenced instruments,
and a matrix for comparing tests. Thoroughly indexed by test name, subject, author. Additional copy in circulating
collection.
A Guide to Assessment Instruments for Limited English Speaking Students.
ref LB 1575.8 G84 1978
Reviews tests developed for K-6 students whose first language is Chinese, French, Italian,
Navajo, Portuguese, Spanish, or Tagalog.
A Guide to 75 Tests for Special Education. ref LB 1131 C5416 1984
A selection and interpretation guide. Reviews are organized into three parts: skills areas,
preschool, and general intelligence tests. Contains a chapter on Spanish-English language tests.
(This edition is preceded by A Guide to 65 Tests for Special Education.)
Return to top of the page
DATABASES
Electronic indexes and databases are available to all on the Library computers.
Unless noted otherwise; access to databases and indexes from campus computer labs or
off-campus computers is
restricted to CSUS students, faculty, and staff. Instructions for off-campus
access are available at
Off-Campus Access to Library E-Resources.
-
Mental Measurements Yearbook (EBSCO)
MMY database provides the complete text of test reviews and critiques from the 9th edition through
the most current edition of the Yearbook and is updated every six months. Complete text from
earlier editions of MMY back to the first year of publication, 1938, as well as Tests in Print,
will be available in the database over the next two years.
- ERIC (EBSCO) (1966-current)
From the US Department of Education. See the instructions at top of guide for obtaining a copy of a test.
- PsycINFO (EBSCO) (1987-current)
APA's index to professional and research journals and chapters in books. Some full text available.
See the instructions at top of guide for obtaining a copy of a test.
- Test in Print (EBSCO)
A comprehensive bibliography to all known commercially available published tests that are currently in
print in the English language; linked to the test reviews published in the Mental Measurements
Yearbook. Also available in print at ref LBZ 5814 E9 B8
- CINAHL (EBSCO)
Nursing and allied health journals. See the instructions at top of guide for obtaining a copy of a test.
Return to top of the page
TEST INFORMATION ON THE INTERNET
- ETS Test Collection http://www.ets.org/testcoll/index.html
An searchable index of the test library of the Educational Testing Service; no full text.
- International Personality Item Pool http://ipip.ori.org
Provides rapid and free access to more than 325 personality scales and measures by experts, in the public domain along with
information on reliability and validity.
Return to top of the page
MENTAL MEASUREMENTS YEARBOOKS AND TESTS IN PRINT:
Explanation of symbols
TIP I, TIP II or TIP III
MMY
PTR
RTR
PA
DAI
B 16
P:98
R:101
T:588
T2:35
7:10
6:202
2:104
1:65
35:23
36:400
rev
exc
ref
|
Tests in Print I, II, or III
Mental Measurements Yearbook
Personality Tests and Reviews
Reading Tests and Reviews
Psychological Abstracts
Dissertation Abstracts International
Book #16 in the Books & Reviews section of MMY
Test #98 in Personality Tests and Reviews
Test #101 in Reading Tests and Reviews
Test #588 in Tests in Print (1961 edition)
Test #35 in Tests in Print II
Test #10 in the Seventh Mental Measurements Yearbook
Test #202 in the Sixth Mental Measurements Yearbook
Test #104 in the 1940 Mental Measurements Yearbook
(also can appear as 40:104)
Test #65 in the 1938 Mental Measurements Yearbook (also can appear as 38:65)
Test #23 in Educational, Psychological, and Personality Tests of 1933, 1934, and 1935
Test #400 in Educational, Psychological, and Personality Tests of 1936
review
excerpt
reference
|
* preceding a test title means that the test was revised or
supplemented since last listed.
" preceding a test title means that the test is new.
* at the end of the description of a test means that the actual
test was examined.
|