SAMPLE UNITS & STRATEGIES
- Art Works!: an Interdisciplinary Learning Powered by the Arts
LB 1628.5 A78 1999
- Beyond the Boundaries: a Transdisciplinary Approach to Learning and Teaching
LB 1607.5 B49 2003
- Blurring the Edges: Integrated Curriculum through Writing and Children's Literature
LB 1576 46 1999
- Building a History-Centered Curriculum for Kindergarten Through Grade Four: Guidelines for Using
Themes and Selecting Content LB 1530 N28 2002
- Chase's Annual Events Ref D 11.5 C48
- The Complete Guide to Thematic Units: Creating the Integrated Curriculum
LB 1029 U6 M4 2000
- Concept-Based Curriculum and Instruction: Teaching Beyond the Facts
LB 2806.15 E75 2002
- Daily Planning for Today's Classroom: A Guide for Writing Lesson and Activity Plans LB 1027.4 O73 1999
- Developing Thematic Units: Process and Product LB 1575 A55 1995
- Experiences with Literature: a Thematic Whole Language Model for the K-3 Bilingual Classroom LC 3725 N48 1990
- Green Dinosaur Day: a Guide for Developing Thematic Units in Literature-Bases Instruction, K-6 LB 1570 R55 1995
- A Guide for Developing Interdisciplinary Thematic Units LB 1570 R55 2008
- Interdisciplinary Art Education: Building Bridges to Connect Disciplines and Cultures
N 105 I57 2005
- The Learning Activity center: Materials and Use for the Elementary
Curric Guides General 6210
- The Literature Connection: Using Children's Books in the Classroom
LB 1575.5 U5 R68 1991
- Minds in Motion: a Kinesthetic Approach to Teaching Elementary Curriculum
LB 1592 G75 1998
- Nonfiction Matters: Reading, Writing, & Research in Grades 3-8
LB 1575.5 U5 H37 1998
- On This Day Ref Juv 371.3 H1456o
- Ready to Use Thematic Activities for Grades 4-8 LB 1576 B285 1994
- Summer Counts!: Thematic reading, Language Arts, and Math Skills
Curric Texts 372.4 Op76su 2003 (Grade K-8)
- Storybook Classrooms; Using Children's Literature in the Learning Center
LB 1527 W46
- Teaching Idea Development: a Standards-Based Critical-Thinking Approach to Writing
LB 1590.3 .H39 2002
- Thematic Units: an Integrated Approach to Teaching Science and Social Studies
LB 1585.3 F75 1993
- Theme Play: Exciting Young Imaginations LB 1139.35 P55 Z56 2006
- This Way to Books Ref Juv 028.5 B3447t
Return to top of the page
|
LOCATING RESOURCES BY SUBJECT OR THEME
Finding Fiction/Picture Books by Subject or Theme
- A to Zoo: Subject Access to Children’s Picture Books Ref Juv 028.5 L7322a 1998
- The Book Finder: A Guide to Children’s Literature About the Needs and
Problems of Youth Ages 2-15 Ref Juv 028.5 D778b
- Celebrating with Books Ref Juv 394.2 P7654c
- Children’s Literature in the Elementary SchoolRef Juv 372.64 H865c 1997
- Creative Uses of Children’s Literature Ref Juv 027.5 G4782p
- Picture Books to Enhance the Curriculum Ref Juv 371.3 H2873p
- Primaryplots: A Book Talk Guide for Use with Readers Ages 4-8
Ref Juv 028.5 G4782p
- A Reference Guide to Historical Fiction for Children and Young Adults
Ref Juv 016.80 A2216r
- Teen Genreflecting: a Guide to Reading Interests
Ref Juv 016 H5313t
- The Whole Story: Historical Fiction and Kids: Annotated Bibliography
Ref Juv 016.80 W6288
|
Finding Nonfiction /Informational Books
- Index to Collective Biographies for Young Readers Ref Juv 028.5 S5874i 1988
- Guide to Collective Biographies for cCildren and Young Adults
Ref Juv 016.92 B2252g
- The Holocaust in Literature for Youth: a Guide and Resource Book Ref Juv 016.94 S9498h
- Reference Books for Young Readers Ref Juv 028.5 R3322
|
Finding Poetry by Subject or Theme
- Index to Poetry for Children and Young People
Ref Juv 016 b62881
- Index to Poetry for Children and Young People
Ref Juv 821 B8481i
- Subject Index to Poetry for Children Ref Juv 808.8 A512 1977
|
Finding Folk Tales, Fairy Tales, Fantasy
- Fantasy Literature for Children and Young Adults Ref Juv 028.5 L989fe 2005
- Index to Fairy Tales Including Folklore, Legends,and Myths, in Collections
Ref Juv 016.39 I38
- Story Arts/Folktale Themes
http://www.storyarts.org/lessonplans/folkthemes/index.html
|
Finding Songs
- The Children’s Song Index, 1978-1993 Ref Juv 016.78 C536
- Index to Children’s Songs: A Title, First Line, and Subject Index
Ref Juv 784 Z99c 1979
|
Finding Plays
- Chicorel Theater Index to Plays for Young People Ref PNZ 7584 C5 C55
- Index to Children’s Plays in Collections Ref PNZ 5784 C5 K7 1977
Return to top of the page
MATH AND SCIENCE
- Math Across the Curriculum Electronic Bookshelf
http://www.math.dartmouth.edu/~matc/eBookshelf/index.html
- Mixing It Up: Integrated, Interdisciplinary, Intriguing Science in the Elementary Classroom LB 1585.3 M59 2003
- More Picture-Perfect Science Lessons: Using Children's Books to Guide Inquiry, K-4 Curric Guides Science 4101
- Science Adventures with Children's Literature: a Thematic Approach LB 1585.3 F72 1998
- Science Experiments Index for Young People Ref Juv 507 P6383s
- To Build a House: GEMS and the "Thematic Approach" to Teaching Science
LB 1585 B28 1991
- The Wonderful World of Mathematics: a Critically Annotated List of Children's Books in Mathematics
Ref Juv 016.51 W8728 1998
- 40 Strategies for Integrating Science and Mathematics Instruction: K-8 Curric Guides Science 0265
Return to top of the page
|
ERIC DATABASE
Databases are available to all on the Research Stations in the Library. Off-campus
access is restricted to CSUS students, faculty, & staff. Instructions for off-campus
access are available at
Connecting to Library Databases from Off-Campus.
- ERIC (1966-current)
From the U.S. Department of Education; covers 900+ education journals and
thousands of unpublished documents such as papers, reports, curriculum guides theses and
dissertations. Some full text available for documents
- ERIC http://www.eric.ed.gov/
Free to the public. More than 300,000 full text non-journal documents (issued 1993-2004),
will be available for free.
Return to top of the page
|
WEB RESOURCES
There are many web sites that offer educators opportunities to use
an interdisciplinary approach to teaching. Begin with the CSUS list of
Lesson Plans at:
Other favorite sites are:
Return to top of the page
|
A Sacramento State Library Research Guide compiled by Debbie Rogenmoser, Reference Librarian; drogenmoser@csus.edu
and Roz Van Auker,Education Reference Librarian; vanaukerr@csus.edu dr/rva Last updated /09
|
|