EUREKA FOR BOOKS
To locate books related to Special Education, the following
subject headings can be used to search
EUREKA, the online catalog of materials in the Library:
Autism
Blind education; Visually handicapped
Communicative disorders
Deaf
Dyslexia
Exceptional Children
|
RJ506
HV1593-1701
RC388-952
HV2380-2545
LB1050-1576; LC4001-4701; RC394
LC3950-4015
|
Handicapped children
Learning disabilities
Mental retardation
Physically handicapped
Rehabilitation counseling
Special education
Speech disorders in
children; Aphasia
Vocational rehabilitation
|
HV888
LC4704
RC570
HV3011
HD7255.5
LC3950-4801
RJ496
HD7255 – HD7256
|
Curriculum Guides for Special Education
are shelved on 2 South in the Curriculum Collection.
Return to top of the page
REFERENCE BOOKS
- Handbook of Multicultural School Psychology LB 1027.55 M847 2007
Contributed essays from leading scholars on the influence of culture on all aspects of school psychology including child development, psychometrics, and interventions.
Subject index in the back.
- Concise Encyclopedia of Special Education, 2nd ed. Ref LC 4007 E53 2002
Guidance to all major tests, reviews intervention techniques, conditions that require special services;
major court cases and legal concepts.
- Encyclopedia of Disability Ref HV 1568 E528 2006
Comprehensive resource in five volumes. Subject index and bibliography are in volume 4. A reader's guide in the front of each volume lists the 25 categories
and entries within each. Volume 5 is Primary Sources.
- Encyclopedia of School Psychology Ref LB 1027.55 E523 2005
Alphabetical arrangement of entries on theory and practice derived from a broad range of fields
that contribute to school psychology. Entries are by experts, and include a bibliography and a list of
suggested readings. Aimed at a broad readership of
professionals and general audience.
- Encyclopedia of Special Education: a Reference for the Education of Children,
Adolescents, and Adults with Disabilities and other Exceptional Individuals, 3rd ed. Ref LC 4007 E53 2007 vol 1-3
Each entry defines a subject and provides history of the subject, research, practice,
and treatments, followed by a list of references for further reading. The set contains
over 2,000 entries; indexed in vol.3.
- Ethics and Law for School Psychologists, 5th ed. Ref LB 3013.6 J33 2007
"...a single sourcebook on ethics and law specifically written" ...for school psychologists.
Includes and ethical-legal decision-making model.
- Handbook of Affective Disorders Ref RC 537. H337. 1992.
Professional level information on a broad spectrum of disorders
including a section on childhood and adolescence.
- Handbook of Language and Literacy: Development and Disorders Ref LC 149 H36 2004
Incorporates empirical research and theory from several fields such as language science and disorders, educational psychology,
special education, and learning disabilities. Experts from many disciplines contributed extensive essays and substantive
bibliographies.
- Handbook of Rehabilitation Psychology Ref R 726.7 .H366 2000
Covers the field of rehab psychology with chapters on physical and sensory impairment, measures and evaluations, vocation
and family caregiving, education, and ethical concerns. Additional copy can
be borrowed
- The IDEA Amendments: What you Need to Know Ref KF 4210 R52 2005
Written by legal experts. Overview and detail of changes followed by a Table of Cases and text of the amendment.
- Learning Disabilities Sourcebook Ref LC 4705 L434 2003
Chapters on each type of learning disability along with information about educational issues,
assistive technology, glossary, and resources for further research. Additional copy can
be borrowed.
- NCLB and IDEA '04: a Side-by-Side Analysis Ref KF 4210 N67 2005
Written by a legal expert. Appendices of comparative charts.
- Sage Handbook of Special Education ref LC 3965 S235 2007
A sourcebook of information and ideas about special education; focuses on special education "as a form
of provision and an area of research rather than on categories of learning difficulties." Contributors from across the English-speaking
world.
- School Neuropsychology: a Practitioner's Handbook RJ 486.5 H235 2004
Designed for practitioners in an educational setting "with information and methods for analyzing data and interventions
from a brain-behavior perspective" (preface.) Written by a neuropsychologist and a Professor of School Pwsychology, contains and extensive
bibliography and index.
- Special Education: A Reference Handbook Ref LC 3981 S33 2001
Overview followed by a chronology that includes landmark legislation.
Chapters on curriculum; law, advocacy, and agencies, print and non-print resources.
Glossary and index complete this handbook. Extensive list of references for further
reading in each chapter. Additional copy can be borrowed.
- Special Education Desk Reference Ref LC 3981 E45 1997
Practical handbook for educators, students, practitioners. Covers methods,
techniques on rehabilitation, education, diagnosis, community integration.
- Special Educator's Book of Lists, 2nd ed. Ref LC 3965 P54 2003
For preK-12 special educators. Organized into 10 sections containing current research
on all types of disabilities, practices, procedures, laws, regulations,
identification, assessment, and remediation.
- What Every Special Educator Must Know: the Ethics, Standards, and Guidelines for
Special Educators Ref LC 3969.45 C69 2003
New edition updates the 1996 CEC standards; addresses changes in the field and in skill standards: reorganizes
domain areas to align CEC standards with INTASC principles.
Return to top of the page
LEGAL REFERENCE BOOKS
- Americans with Disabilities Act Handbook Ref KF 480 A32 1992
ADA handbook contains full text, summary, and analysis of the Act
- California Special Education Programs: a Composite of Laws Ref LB 2514 D47 (Annual)
Updated every year, this volume excerpts from the California Codes and the
California Code of Regulations all the laws and regulations pertinent to special
education. Contains a section on changes in the law for the prior year.
- The Complete IEP Guide: How to Advocate for your Special Ed Child, 3rd edition
Ref KF 4209.3 Z9 S57 2004
Practical guide provides overview of special education law, lists options, sample forms. 2nd copy
can be checked out.
- Nolo's IEP Guide: Learning Disabilities Ref KF 4209.3 Z9 S573 2009
Mainly targeted to parents & advocates, this guide includes detailed explication of terms,
concepts & laws related to learning disabilities and provides forms. 2nd copy
can be checked out.
- Special Education Law, 2nd ed. KF 4210 G84 2001
Written for educators, provides a solid background in special education law.
- Special Education Law: Case Summaries and Federal Regulations.
Ref KF 4210 T4 1993
Provides a complete overview of IDEA with a chapter devoted to each section of the
law including citations to important cases. Designed for educators and others without
prior legal experience. Appendix of legal forms and Tables of Cases provided.
- Students with Disabilities and Special Education, 21st ed. Ref KF 4210 H36 2004
Provides case, statutory, and regulatory law information in the field of special education and disabled students
rights. For educators and lawyers.
- Wrightslaw: Special education Law, 2nd ed. Ref KF 4209.3 .W75 2007
Provides updated information on the 2004 IDEA Reauthorization with cross-references, comment, and
Final Regulations published Aug. 2006. Sections on Case Law; history and overview; other Federal
Statutes and a comparison of Rehabilitation Act, Section 504 with IDEA 2004. Glossary of terms,
list of references and resources (including Web sites) complete the book.
Return to top of the page
TESTS AND EVALUATIONS
- The Achievement Test Desk Reference (ATDR : a Guide to Learning Disability Identification, 2nd ed.
Ref LB 3060.3 .A28 2006 (second copy available for circulation)
Part I: Covers issues related to evaluation and identification of LD from IDEA 2004 perspective. Presents and reviews theories and concepts
Part II: Focuses on achievement tests published 1996-2006, i.e. tests with current norms
Part III: provides examples and illustrations of how to conduct LD evaluations; examples of case reports.
Appendices for practitioner with reproducible worksheets, score conversion tables; reviews of validity
- ETS Test Collection http://www.ets.org/testcoll/index.html
-
ETS Test Collection Catalog v 3: Tests for Special Populations
REF LB 3051 E79. 1986
Describes 1,700+ tests for special populations; provides order information.
Indexed by ERIC subject descriptors.
- Guide to 75 Tests for Special Education Ref LB 1131 C5416 1984
Test reviews provide guidelines for selection, usage,
interpretation, and order information.
-
Mental Measurements Yearbook (EBSCO)
MMY database provides the complete text of test reviews and critiques from the 9th edition through
the most current edition of the Yearbook and is updated every six months. Complete text from
earlier editions of MMY back to the first year of publication, 1938, as well as Tests in Print,
will be available in the database over the next two years.
- Test in Print (EBCSO)
Lists all known commercially available tests currently in print in English. Serves as index to MMY full text reviews of tests.
Return to top of the page
RESEARCH, WRITING AND STYLE GUIDES
- Guide to the Successful Thesis and Dissertation: a Handbook for Students
and Faculty, 5th ed. LB 2369 M377 2003
- Guide to Writing Empirical Papers, Theses, and Dissertations LB 2369 G27 2002
- Proposing Empirical Research: a Guide to the Fundamentals, 3rd ed.
Ref Q 180.55 P7 P37 2005
Workbook on conducting research. How to: select a problem area,identify variables,
formulate theories, evaluate feasibility, choose an approach. Includes examples.
- Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association, 5th ed.
Ref BF 76.7 P83 2001
Multiple copies are available for Library use only.
- Research and Writing Across the Disciplines LB 2369 .A32 2000
- Research Writing in Education and Psychology--from Planning to Publication:
a Practical Handbook LB 2369 K54 2001
- Writing the Winning Thesis or Dissertation: a Step-by-Step Guide
LB 2369 G56 2005
Additional writing and research handbooks can be found by searching EUREKA using the subject:
report writing handbooks.
Writing/Style handouts are listed at Research Guides under "Writing Guides."
Return to top of the page
INDEXES TO JOURNAL LITERATURE
Indexes and databases are available to all on the Library computers.
Unless noted otherwise; access to databases and indexes from campus computerlabs or
off-campus computers is
restricted to CSUS students, faculty, and staff. Instructions for off-campus
access are available at
Off-Campus Access to Library E-Resources.
- ERIC (EBSCO) (1966-current)
From the U.S. Department of Education; covers 900+ education journals and
thousands of unpublished documents such as papers, reports, curricululm guides
theses and dissertations.
- Education Full Text
Education specific database.
-
Lexis-Nexis: Academic Universe
Contains law and legal resources.
-
MEDLINE (1950-current)
National Library of Medicine's index to medical research and professional journals.
-
PubMed http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/entrez/query.fcgi (1950-current)
National Library of Medicine - contains MEDLINE and is free to the public
- PsycINFO (EBSCO) (1887-current)
APA’s index to professional and research journals and chapters in books.
Return to top of the page
SELECTED PERIODICALS
Listed below are representative titles currently received at CSUS Library.
Journals that are also available via the Web or available full text in one of the CSUS
Library databases are indicated.
To determine if the CSUS Library
subscribes to the magazine or journal that you
need, or if the complete article is available in a database, use the
Locate Print or EJournal
option.
Print copies are located in Periodicals Department on 3 South back to 1980 organized
alphabetically by journal title. Journals older than 1980 are in compact
shelves in the Lower Level (basement).
American Journal on Mental Retardation
Education and Training in Developmental Disabilities
Exceptional Children also available in Academic Search Premier (EBSCO)
Exceptional Parent
Focus on Exceptional Children
Journal of Applied Rehabilitation Counseling
Journal of Autism and Developmental Disorders
Journal of Intellectual Disability Research: JIDR
Journal of Rehabilitation also available in Academic Search Premier (EBSCO)
Journal of School Psychology
Journal of Special Education
Journal of Special Education Technology
Learning Disability Quarterly
Mental Retardation
Mental Retardation and Developmental Disabilities Research Reviews
Preventing School Failure
Psychology in the Schools
Rehabilitation Counseling Bulletin
Remedial and Special Education
Research and Practice for Persons with Severe Disabilities
School Psychology Quarterly
Special Education Law Update
Teaching Exceptional Children
Volta Review
Return to top of the page
WEB SITES
- American Association of Intellectual and Developmental Disabilities http://www.aamr.org/
Provides free full text of selected publications, updates on policy issues, and practice guidelines.
- California Education Code http://leginfo.ca.gov/calaw.html
- Council for Exceptional Children http://www.cec.sped.org/
This comprehensive site includes 17 division for specialzed information, e.g. standards, policies, classroom practices, federal legislation.
- ED.gov http://www.ed.gov/
US government's policy and resources for education organized by gateways for students, parents, teachers, and administrators.
Content is strongest in post-secondary topics and current leadership initiatives e.g. English learners and special ed.
- Federal Resource Center for Special Education http://www.rrfcnetwork.org/
The Federal Resource Center for Special Education (FRC) is a
five-year contract between the Academy for Educational
Development (AED), its partner, the National Association of State
Directors of Special Education (NASDSE), and the U.S.
Department of Education, Office of Special Education Programs.
The FRC supports a nationwide technical assistance network to
respond to the needs of students with disabilities, especially students
from under-represented populations.
- Findlaw http://www.findlaw.com/toc.html
Contains U.S. Case Law, codes, law review articles. Access to fulltext of Supreme Court Decisions
from 1893 to present. Case reports are hyperlinked to fulltext of cases mentioned in
the report. Updated daily; maintained by Harvard Law School.
- EIS - What Works Clearinghouse http://ies.ed.gov/ncee/wwc/
Established by the US Department of Education in 2002, the Institute of Education Sciences'
mission complements ERIC: to expand knowledge with full text information on practices that
work, and to provide research and data for evidence-based decision makers.
- LD Online http://www.ldonline.org/
Created by WETA/PBS and the Coordinated Campaign for Learning Disabilites. A major source
of information for teachers, parents, or anyone interested in learning disabilities.
- OSERS (Office of Special Education and Rehabilitative Services)
http://www.ed.gov/about/offices/list/osers/index.html?src=mr
Federal government site provides information on legislation and policy, research, reports, funding.
- School Psychology Resources Online http://www.schoolpsychology.net/
Resources for psychologists, educators, parents, on specific conditions, disorders, and disabilities.
Sponsored by Baltimore Public Schools, the site is current and well-designed.
- SERI, Special Education Resources on the Internet http://seriweb.com/
A collection of Internet accessible information for those interested in special education. Maintained by Hood College. Links to legislation,
current status of relevant bills; professional organizations;
resources for parents and educators; discussion groups.
Return to top of the page
|