| |
|
Periodicals
of Special Interest
|
Periodicals are shelved alphabetically by title on
Floor 3 South. Periodicals that are available online or are available fulltext in a database are indicated.
Search the ERIC
or
Education Full Text (Wilson)
database for education-related articles in these and other periodicals:
Australian Science Teachers Journal (1995-current) Academic Search Premier (Ebsco)
American Biology Teacher
Journal of Chemical Education
Journal of Geoscience Education
Physics Teacher
School Science and Mathematics also available in Education Full Text (Wilson)
Science Activities (March 1990-current) Academic Search Premier (Ebsco)
Science Scope also available in Education Full Text (Wilson)
Science Education
Science Teacher also available in Education Full Text (Wilson)
|
|
Professional Associations
|
Professional Standards and California State Frameworks
|
Personal favorites
-
California CLASS Project: Classroom Learning Activities for Science and Social Science
Curric Guides General 0165
This activity-based interdisciplinary curriculum for middle school has an
environmental orientation. Lesson plans include transparency masters and
student handouts.
- Educators Guide to Free Science Materials ref LBZ 5817.2 .E47 yr.
- Five Easy Lessons: Strategies for Successful Physics Teaching QC 30 .K55 2004
- GEMS Guides: Great Explorations in Math and Science
Curric Guides Science various numbers.
Produced by the Lawrence Hall of Science at UC Berkeley and contain hands-on science
activities for classroom use.
Check EUREKA for a complete listing
- Inquiry and the National Science Education Standards: a Guide for Teaching and Learning
LB 1585.3 .I57 2000
- Science Educator's Guide to Laboratory Assessment Q 181 S3735 2002
|
Using Literature in Science Teaching
|
Sources for Experiments/Demonstrations
- The Exploratorium Science Snackbook: Teacher Created Versions
of Exploratorium Exhibits ref Q 182.3 .E96 1991
- Hands-on Chemistry Activities with Real-Life Applications QD 43 .H47 1999
- Hands-On Physics Activities With Real-Life Applications Curric Guides Science 0270
- Math and Science Across Cultures: Activities and Investigations from the Exploratorium QA 11 B3653 2001
- More Science Experiments on File: Experiments, Demonstrations and projects for School and Home
ref Q 182.3 .M67 1991
- Science Experiments Index for Young People ref juv 507 .P6383s 2002
- Science Experiments on File: Experiments, Demonstrations and Projects
for School and Home ref Q 182.3 .S33 1989
- Teaching Physics with the Physics Suite QC 30 .R435 2003
Additional lesson plans and teaching strategies can be found by browsing
in the curriculum guides on Floor 2 South and in the science "method books"
under call numbers below on Floor 3 and 4 North. Use
EUREKA (http://eureka.lib.csus.edu/)
to locate additional curriculum materials. Select ADVANCED SEARCH
and limit to LOCATIONS "Curriculum Guides" or "Curriculum Nonprint" or "Curriculum Texts."
Browsing Call Numbers: Q 163-164; Q 181-183; QC 30; QD 40-45; QH 315-316; LB 1585
|
Background Information
|
- Assessing Student Understanding in Science: a Standards-Based K-12 Handbook
LB 1585.3 .E53 2001
- Internet Environments for Science Education LB 1585.7 .I58 2004
- How to Write to Learn Science Q 181 .T534 2004
- NSTA Pathways To The Science Standards : Guidelines For Moving The Vision Into Practice
Q 181 .P3384 2004
- Pathways to the Science Standards: Guidelines for Moving the Vision into
Practice
Middle School Edition: Q 181 .P3384 2002
- Science Educator's Guide to Laboratory Assessment Q 181 .S3735 2002
- Teaching High School Science Through Inquiry : A Case Study Approach
Q 181 .L75 2005
|
|
Internet Starting Places
|
|
|
|
|
Back to the top of the page
Go to Databases and Periodical Indexes Page
|
|
Questions/comments to: vanaukerr@csus.edu; Roz Van Auker
Education/Social Science Reference Librarian; California State University, Sacramento, vanaukerr@csus.edu
rva/dr 7/02 -Last updated 3/08
|