SacState University Library SacState University Library Header Image  
Resources & Collections  Library Services  About the Library  News & Announcements
 

EDUCATION: Materials of Interest to Secondary
Mathematics Teachers



Periodicals of Special Interest

Periodicals are shelved alphabetically by title on Floor 3 South. Periodicals with full text available via a database are indicated.

Search the ERIC (EBSCO) or Education Full Text (Wilson) database for education-related articles in these and other periodicals:

Journal for Research in Mathematics Education
Journal of Computers in Mathematics and Science Teaching
Mathematics Teacher
Mathematics Teaching  available in Education Full Text (Wilson)
Mathematics Teaching in the Middle School  also avail in Education Full Text (Wilson)
School Science and Mathematics  Education Full Text (Wilson)

Return to top of the page

Professional Associations
Association of Mathematics Teacher Educators
California Mathematics Council
Californa Mathematics Project
Mathematical Association of America
Mathematics Engineering Science Achievement (MESA)
National Council of Supervisors of Mathematics
National Council of Teachers of Mathematics
http://www.amte.net/
http://www.cmc-math.org/
http://csmp.ucop.edu/cmp/index.php
http://www.maa.org/
http://mesa.ucop.edu/
http://www.mathedleadership.org/
http://www.nctm.org/
Return to top of the page

Professional Standards and California State Frameworks

Return to top of the page

Personal Favorites
  • Algebra Activities from Many Cultures     QA 152.2 L85 1997
  • Changing the Faces of Mathematics series - various titles
        Perspectives On African Americans   QA 13 P462 2000
        Perspectives on Asian Americans and Pacific Islanders   QA 13 P48 1999
        Perspectives on Gender   QA 13 P464 2001
        Perspectives on Indigenous people of North America   QA 13 P4645 2002
        Perspectives on Latinos   QA 13 P465 1999
        Perspectives on Multiculturalism and Gender Equity   QA 13 P468 2000
  • Math and Science Across Cultures: Activities & Investigations from the Exploratorium
    QA 11 B3653 2001
  • Math Games: 180 Reproducible Activities to Motivate, Excite, and Challenge Students, Grades 6-12    QA 139 M847 2004
  • Mission Mathematics: Grades 9-12    Curric Texts 372.7 N21mi3 1997
  • Multiculturalism in Mathematics, Science, and Technology: Readings and Activities
    QA 11 M37 1993
  • Multicultural Mathematics: Interdisciplinary Cooperative Learning Activities
    Curric Texts 372.7 W14mu 1993 Gr.6-9
  • Navigating through Algebra in Grades 6-8    Curric Guides Math 0246
  • Navigating through Algebra in Grades 9-12    Curric Guides Math 0247
  • Navigating through Geometry in Grades 6-8    Curric Guides Math
  • Navigating through Geometry in Grades 9-12    Curric Guides Math 0173
  • Secondary Teachers Guide to Free Curriculum Materials
    ref LBZ 5817.2 E42 2001-2002
  • The Stock Market and Investments Mathematics Project   Curric Guides Math 0277
  • Using History to Teach Mathematics: an International Perspective   QA 12 U85 2000
  • Why Do I Need Math?    [videorecording] nonprint 372.7 Ed8wh 1997 Gr. 4-8
Additional lesson plans and teaching strategies can be found by browsing in the curriculum guides on Floor 2 South and in the mathematics "method books" under call number QA 1-QA 135 on Floor 3 North.

Use EUREKA (http://eureka.lib.csus.edu/) to locate additional curriculum materials, select ADVANCED SEARCH and limit to LOCATIONS "Curriculum Guides" or "Curriculum Nonprint" or "Curriculum Texts."
Return to top of the page

Background Information

  • Adding It Up: Helping Children Learn Mathematics   QA 135.5 A32 2001
  • Assessment in Middle and High School Mathematics: a Teacher's Guide
    QA 11 B69988 2001
  • Empowering the Beginning Teacher of Mathematics in High School
    QA 11.2 E47 2004
  • Every Minute Counts: Making Your Math Class Work   QA 11 A2 J6
  • How Students Learn: Mathematics in the Classroom    QA 11.2 N37 2005
  • Lifting the Barriers: 600 Tested Strategies that Really Work to Increase Girls'
    Participation in Science, Mathematics and Computers
       Q 147 S3 1994
  • Reading and Writing to Learn Mathematics a Guide and a Resource Book
    QA 135.5 M3665 2001
  • Teaching, Multimedia, and Mathematics: Investigations of Real Practice
    QA 135.5 L25 1998
Return to top of the page

Using Literature in Mathematics Teaching
Return to top of the page

Internet Starting Places
Return to top of the page

A Sacramento State Library Research Guide compiled by Roz Van Auker, Education Reference Librarian; Roz Van Auker@csus.edu
rva/dr Last updated 6/09