Education: Bilingual/Multicultural Resources
Library Logo EDUCATION: Bilingual/
Multicultural Resources

Compiled by B. Ronayne


EUREKA for Books
Dictionaries, Encyclopedias, Handbooks
Selected Recent Books
Juvenile Books
Curriculum Guides
Videos
Research, Writing & Style Guides
Databases to Journals
Journals
Web Sites
Return to Library Homepage

EUREKA for Books
Books and other materials at CSUS Library can be searched in
EUREKA by author, title, subject, or keyword. Library of Congress Subject Headings are specific terms to use for a subject search in EUREKA. Some useful ones are:
Bilingualism
Children of immigrants education
Education, bilingual
English language, study and teaching, foreign speakers
English language textbooks for foreign speakers
Intercultural communication
Language and culture
Minorities education
Multicultural education
Race awareness
Second language acquisition
Asian Americans
Chinese Americans
Hmong Americans
Japanese Americans
Mexican Americans
Hispanic Americans
Indians of North America
Return to top of the page

DICTIONARIES, ENCYCLOPEDIAS, AND HANDBOOKS

Return to top of the page

SELECTED RECENT BOOKS
  • Academic Success for English Language Learners: Strategies for K-12 Mainstream Teachers
    (PE 1128 A2 A215 2005)
  • Bilingual and ESL Classrooms: Teaching in Multicultural Contexts
    ( LC 3731 .O96 2006)
  • English-only Teachers in Mixed-Language Classrooms: a Survival Guide
    (PE 1128 .A2 Y37 2007)
  • ESOL Tests and Testing: a Resource for Teachers and Administrators
    (PE 1128 A2 S858 2005)
  • Language Minority Students in American Schools: an Education in English
    (LC 3731 A33 2005)
  • Making Sense: Small-Group Comprehension Lessons for English Language Learners
    (PE 1128 A2 K415 2005)
  • Mastering ESL and Bilingual Methods: Differentiated Instruction for Culturally and Linguistically Diverse (CLD) Students  (PE 1128 A2 H4675 2005)
  • Not for ESOL Teachers: What every classroom Teacher needs to Know about the Linguistically, Culturally, and ethnically Diverse Student  (LC 3731 .A824 2006)
  • Young Bilingual Learners at Home and at School: Researching Multilingual Voices
    (P 115.2 .D78 2007)
Return to top of the page

JUVENILE BOOKS
  • Hearing All the Voices: Multicultural Books for Adolescents
    (Ref Juvenile 028.5.D2132h)
  • Multicultural Literature for Children and Young Adults: Reflections on Critical Issues
    (Ref Juvenil 809 .C1336m)
  • This Land is Our Land: A Guide to Multicultural Literature for Children and Young Adults (Ref PSZ 1037.H48 1994) A bibliography of juvenile fiction and poetry.

For children's books in foreign languages use EUREKA; ADVANCED SEARCH: spanish language or russian language then display the LOCATION drop-down menu and select "Juvenile fiction/nonfiction."

Browsing the call numbers below in the Juvenile non-fiction shelves is another approach.
      French 841-843;    Spanish 860-863;     Russian 891.7

Return to top of the page

CURRICULUM GUIDES
Multicultural Curriculum materials are located in the Curriculum section (2 South) under Bilingual Education as well as other subject areas.

Use EUREKA; ADVANCED SEARCH: multicultural education then display the LOCATION drop-down menu and select "curriculum guides;" or choose " curriculum nonprint" to identify videos, games, or sound recordings

See also the CSUS Research guides Materials of Interest to Secondary Foreign Language Teachers and Lesson Plans for K-12 Teachers/ESL and Foreign Languages.
Return to top of the page

VIDEOS
  • Arturo Madrid  [a discussion of minority education in America] (LMC 01738 pt.10)
  • Children learning English as a Second Language  (LMC 006164)
  • Closing the Achievement Gap  (LMC LC1201 C56)
  • Diversity Issues in the Classroom  (LMC 006168)
  • English as a Second Language: Assessing the Needs of Culturally Diverse Learners  (LMC 006221 pt.3)
  • Improving Student Achievement through Quality Instruction. The Conceptual Framework for Multicultural Education  (LMC 006157)
  • The Nature of Language Learning  (LMC 006165)
  • Start Seeing Diversity: the Basic Guide to an Anti-Bias Classroom  (LMC LC1099 S72)
Return to top of the page

RESEARCH, WRITING & STYLE GUIDES
  • The Good Writing Guide for Education Students (LB 2369 .W97 2006)
  • Guide to the Successful Thesis and Dissertation: a Handbook for Students
    and Faculty, 4th rev.ed
      (LB2369 .M377 1998)
  • Guide to Writing Empirical Papers, Theses, and Dissertations  (LB2369 .G27 2002)
  • Proposing Empirical Research: a Guide to the Fundamentals, 2nd ed
    (Ref Q180.55 .P7 .P37 2000)
    Workbook on conducting research. How to: select a problem area,identify variables, formulate theories, evaluate feasibility, choose an approach. Includes examples.
  • Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association, 5th ed
    (Ref BF76.7 .P83 2001)  Multiple copies are available for Library use only.
  • Research and Writing Across the Disciplines  (LB2369 A32 2000)
  • Research Writing in Education and Psychology--from Planning to Publication:
    a Practical Handbook
     (LB2369 K54 2001)
Additional writing and research handbooks can be found by searching EUREKA using the subject:
report writing handbooks.

Writing/Style handouts are listed at Research Guides under "Writing Guides."
Return to top of the page.

DATABASES TO JOURNALS
Databases identify articles in journals by topic. Terminology may vary from one index to another; use the thesaurus, if provided, for correct subject terms.

The databases are available to all on the Research Stations in the Library. Off-campus access is restricted to CSUS students, faculty, & staff. Instructions for off-campus access are available at
Off-Campus Access to Library E-Resources .
  • ERIC  (1966-current)
    From the U.S. Department of Education; covers 1000+ education journals and thousands of unpublished documents such as papers, reports, curricululm guides
    theses and dissertations. Some full text available for documents
  • ERIC   http://www.eric.ed.gov/
    More than 107,000 full-text non-journal documents available free.
  • Education Full Text
    Education specific database with full text articles.
  • PsycINFO  (1887-current)
    APA’s index to professional and research journals, book chapters, and dissertations. Often linked to full text.
  • PsycEXTRA (Ebsco)
    A companion to PsycInfo; covers "gray literature."
  • PsycARTICLES (Ebsco)
    A companion to PsycInfo; cover-cover indexing of 59 journals.
Return to top of the page

JOURNALS
Journals are located on 3 South back to 1980 organized alphabetically by journal title. Journals older than 1980 are on the Lower Level (basement).

Many of our magazines and journals are available full text through the CSUS Library databases. Journals with full text availability via databases are indicated. Use
Journal Locator to check holdings, format and location.

SELECTED JOURNAL TITLES
Bilingual Research Journal
Bilingual Review: La Revista Bilingue also available in Academic Search Premier (Ebsco)
Cross-Cultural Research
ELT Journal (English Language Teaching)
Journal of Multilingual and Multicultural Development
    also available in Communication & Mass Media Complete
Journal of Multicultural Counseling and Development
     also available in Academic Search Premier (Ebsco)
Journal of Second Language Writing
Language Learning also available in Education Full Text
Learning and Individual Differences
Multicultural Education: The Magazine of the National Association for
    Multicultural Education

Multicultural Review
NABE News/National Association for Bilingual Education
Research in the Teaching of English
Second Language Research
Studies in Second Language Acquisition
Teaching Tolerance
TESOL Quarterly
Urban Education
Urban Review
Voices from the Middle
Return to top of the page

WEB SITES
  • Center for Applied Linguistics
    http://www.cal.org/
    From the homepage's left-hand column select topics such as projects, current research, bilingual education, and links to other resources and much more.
  • ED.gov
    http://www.ed.gov
    US government's policy and resources for education organized by gateways for students, parents, teachers, and administrators. Content is strongest in post-secondary topics and current leadership initiatives e.g. English learners and special ed.
  • Especially Espanol
    http://www.filamentality.com/wired/espanol/index.htmll
    Activities and resources for teachers, students, and others in need of good Spanish
    language materials. Sponsored by At&T.
  • Lesson Plans for K-12/ESL and Foreign Languages (a CSUS Guide)
    http://library.csus.edu/guides/rogenmoserd/educ/LESSON.HTM#esl
    Maintained by a CSUS Librarian; includes lesson plans for ESL, Foreign Language, and Social Studies classes.
  • Multicultural Pavilion
    http://www.edchange.org/multicultural/
    Teachers' toolkit, classroom resources for educators, students. Maintained by an educator at University of Maryland.
  • National Clearinghouse for English Language Acquisition
    http://www.ncela.gwu.edu/
    Online library of full-text resources for bilingual, ESL, and mainstream teachers
  • Office of Bilingual Education and Minority Languages Affairs (OBEMLA)
    http://www.ed.gov/about/offices/list/oela/index.html?src=mr
    Maintained by U.S. Department of Education. News, reviews, full-text reports, links to other educational sites.
  • Six Steps to ELL Lesson Design
    http://edweb.sdsu.edu/People/tkopcha/ELL%20website/index.html
    Designed to help teachers adapt or create curriculum materials for non-English and limited-English students.
  • Teachers Network
    http://teachnet.org
    Lesson plans, educational resources, sponsored by nonprofit organization.
  • Teachers of English to Speakers of Other Languages
    http://www.tesol.org
    News from the field, reviews, links to net sources.
Back to the top of the page
Go to CSUS Library Homepage

Questions/comments to:bronayne@csus.edu; Betty Ronayne, Social Science Reference Librarian;  CSU, Sacramento
br/dr 8/02 Last updated 3/08