|
EDUCATION: K-12 CURRICULUM MATERIALS IN THE CSU SACRAMENTO LIBRARY Compiled by Rosalind Van Auker |
|
The K-12 Curriculum Collections are located on 2 SOUTH. Included are textbooks, curriculum guides, and nonprint media for use by students in the CSUS credential programs. Material in the Curriculum Collections is listed in the EUREKA Computer Catalog by author, title, keyword, subject heading, and call number. It is particularly helpful to use EUREKA's "limit" feature when searching for curriculum materials. This allows you to limit your search results to items located in the Curriculum Collections. These collections are briefly described below. The University Library at California State University Sacramento is one of 23 Learning Resource Display Centers (LRDCs) in California. As such, the Library receives and displays K-8 textbooks and supplementary instructional materials that have been adopted by the California State Board of Education. Clink on the link Learning Resource Display Center at the University Library for more information about the collection, the state text book adoption process, and other Learning Resource Display Centers. |
| TEXTBOOKS |
|
Sample Call Number |
Student texts, teacher's editions, workbooks, and other accompanying items in all subject areas taught in grades K-12 are included. Many different textbooks for each subject and each grade level are available. For K-8, the emphasis is on California state-adopted textbooks, though some others are also purchased. Textbooks are shelved by Dewey Decimal call number. Listed below is an outline of the call numbers for the major subject areas: | |||
|
||||
|
Art Business Ed. ESL English Foreign Lang. Handwriting Health Home Ec. |
700-770 650-659 372.413 372.6 430-497 372.5 613-614 640.6 |
Literature Mathematics Music Readers-Basal Readers-Remedial Science Social Science Spelling |
372.40
372.7 780 372.4 372.39 500-574 372.831 372.41 |
|
| NONPRINT MEDIA |
|
Sample Call Number |
The Curriculum nonprint collection includes the following formats: kits, slides, audio cassettes, filmstrips, videocassette, games, realia, picture sets, and records. Many of the items include a teacher's guide, which contain classroom activities and sample lessons. Nonprint media is arranged in the same way as the textbooks, using the same call numbers for subjects as outlined above. | |||
|
||||
| CURRICULUM GUIDES |
|
Sample Call Number |
Curriculum guides typically outline subject matter to be covered in a particular subject or grade level. Specific teaching suggestions and/or sample lesson plans are often given. Curriculum guides prepared by elementary and secondary school districts, state-level education agencies, and various educational organizations are included in this collection. In order to facilitate browsing, curriculum guides are arranged on the shelves alphabetically in the following subject categories: | |||
|
||||
|
Administration Art Bilingual Ed. Business Computer Science Driver Education |
Early Childhood Ed. Foreign Language General Guidance Health Home Economics |
Industrial Education Language Arts Mathematics Music Physical Education Reading |
Science Social Science Special Education Vocational Education Work Study |
|
| OTHER RESOURCES |
|
Juvenile Literature:
The juvenile literature collection, located on 2 SOUTH
next to the curriculum collection, includes fiction, nonfiction, and picture
books for ages preschool through young adult. |
|
Picture File: In addition to the picture sets included in the
nonprint media portion of the Curriculum Collections, individually mounted
posters are available to check out. |
|
ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center)
This database of education articles and microfiche documents is a good source
of teaching ideas. Many classroom-oriented materials are included. ERIC (http://www.eric.ed.gov/) Free to the public. The Educator's Reference Desk http://www.eduref.org/ The Educator's Reference Desk is a project of the Information Institute of Syracuse and contains links to over 3000 resources on a variety of educational issues. |
| The Library maintains a page of Internet lesson plan links. It is available at Lesson Plans for K-12 Teachers (http://library.csus.edu/guides/rogenmoserd/educ/LESSON.HTM) |
|
Back to the top of the page
Go to Library Home Page |
|
|
|
Questions/comments to: Roz Van Auker, Social Science Reference Librarian; vanaukerr@csus.edu California State University, Sacramento Last updated 2/08 |