SacState University Library SacState University Library Header Image  
Resources & Collections  Library Services  About the Library  News & Announcements
 


EDUCATION: INTERNET RESOURCES



Contents:

Multiple Chioce: Charter School Performance in 16 States (6/09)
From the Center for Research on Education Outcomes, Stanford University
http://credo.stanford.edu/reports/MULTIPLE_CHOICE_CREDO.pdf

Executive Order S-06-09 by the Governor of the State of California (5/09)
(regarding the establishment and goals of the California ICT Digital Literacy Leadership Council)
http://gov.ca.gov/executive-order/12393

Measuring Up: How the Highest Performing State (Massachusetts) Compares to the Highest Performing Country (Hong Kong) in Grade 3 (4/09)
From the American Institutes for Research
http://www.air.org/news/documents/AIR%20Measuring%20Up%20Report%20042709.pdf

The Economic Impact of the Achievement Gap in America's Schools (4/09)
http://mckinsey.com/clientservice/socialsector/achievementgap.asp

Effects of the California High School Exit Exam on Student Achievement and Graduation (4/09)
This site includes more podcasts from the Policy Analysis for California Education (PACE)
http://pace.berkeley.edu/podcast/

State Schools Chief Jack O'Connell Applauds Adoption of World Language Content Standards (1/09)
http://www.cde.ca.gov/nr/ne/yr09/yr09rel1.asp

Newsroom - California Department of Education
http://www.cde.ca.gov/nr/

NPR Education Podcast (updated Wednesdays)
http://www.npr.org/rss/podcast/podcast_detail.php?siteId=17350298

Press Room - US Department of Education
http://www.ed.gov/news/landing.jhtml?src=gu

Return to top of the page

California Department of Education; Academic Performance Index (API) Reports
http://api.cde.ca.gov/reports.asp

California Department of Education DataQuest http://data1.cde.ca.gov/dataquest
DataQuest helps one find facts and reports about California Schools and districts; including
API and High School Exit Exam.

The Condition of Education http://nces.ed.gov/programs/coe/
Charts and narrative present information about US school quality indicators for both K-12 and higher education.

CSUS University Factbook
http://www.oir.csus.edu/factbook/Factbook%202008/2008%20University%20Fact%20Book.pdf
Demographic information about CSUS enrollment and programs.

Digest of Education Statistics  http://nces.ed.gov/programs/digest/
Tables present demographic data about the state of education in the US

Encyclopedia of Psychology  http://www.psychology.org/

Kids Count   http://www.aecf.org/kidscount/
A project of the Annie E. Casey Foundation; this is a national and state-by-state effort to track the status of children in the United States.

A Lexicon of Learning: What Educators mean when they say...
http://www.ascd.org/Publications/Lexicon_of_Learning/Lexicon_of_Learning.aspx
An online dictionary of education terms.

National Center for Education Statistics Electronic Catalog  http://nces.ed.gov/pubsearch/
NCES is the primary federal entity for collecting/analyzing dated related to education in the US and other nations.

Rand California Education Statistics  http://ca.rand.org/stats/education/education.html

School Accountability Report Card (California)  http://www.cde.ca.gov/ta/ac/sa/index.asp
For each public school, provides information including: student achievement (STAR, API, SAT), California Fitness Test, school safety and climate for learning, teaching quality, dropouts and graduates, demographics and enrollment, and fiscal and expenditure data.

STAR (Standardized Testing and Reporting) Test Results  http://star.cde.ca.gov/
California's statewide testing program with results available by school and district.

Return to top of the page

Education Policy Analysis Archives  http://epaa.asu.edu/epaa/
Online peer-reviewed journal which includes reports of original research on education policy issues.

Education Week on the Web  http://www.edweek.org/ew/index.html
The weekly newspaper for in K-12 education news. The archive is also available; free registration is required.

Educator's Reference Desk  http://www.eduref.org/
Free to the public; maintains a searchable version of the ERIC database containing citations and abstracts for education journals and reports from 1966-current.

Return to top of the page

California Commission on Teacher Credentialing / Standards for Educator Preparation
http://www.ctc.ca.gov/profserv/progstan.html

California State Board of Education Content Standards for California Public Schools
http://www.cde.ca.gov/be/st/ss/index.asp
State standards documents for various subjects are posted, including some drafts for which comments are invited.

Developing Educational Standards  http://edstandards.org/Standards.html
Links to US educational standards documents are listed by subject and state.

Return to top of the page

American Alliance for Health, Physical Education, Recreation and Dance
http://www.aahperd.org

American Educational Research Association  http://www.aera.net

American Association of Physics Teachers  http://www.aapt.org/

Annie E. Casey Foundation - Education  http://www.aecf.org/KnowledgeCenter/Education.aspx
Funds research and programs on school policy, urban schools, early childhood, school readiness, etc. Full text of many reports available.

Association for Supervision and Curriculum Development  http://www.ascd.org

California Association for Health, Physical Education, Recreation and Dance
http://www.cahperd.org

California Association of Teachers of English   http://www.cateweb.org

California Charter Schools Association  http://www.charterassociation.org/
Directory of California charter schools and info on starting a charter school.

California Reading Association  http://www.californiareads.org

California Science Teachers Association  http://www.cascience.org

California Subject Matter Projects  http://csmp.ucop.edu/

Center for Research on Education, Diversity & Excellence  http://www.crede.ucsc.edu/

Center on Educational Policy  http://www.cep-dc.org/

Educational Resource Organizations Directory  http://wdcrobcolp01.ed.gov/Programs/EROD/
Maintained by US Dept. of Education, this directory of over 2400 national/regional/state orgs gives a brief entry (including home page link) for each group.

EdSource  http://www.edsource.org/index.cfm
Nonpartisan analysis of California K-12 education policy; full text of many reports available.

Institute for Research on Education Policy and Practice (IREPP)
http://www.stanford.edu/group/irepp/cgi-bin/joomla/index.php
From Stanford University; many full text reports available.

International Reading Association  http://www.reading.org/

National Association for Bilingual Education   http://www.nabe.org
Full text of reports and links to other web resources on charter schools.

National Association for the Education of Young Children  http://www.naeyc.org

National Association of Biology Teachers  http://www.nabt.org

National Association of Elementary School Principals  http://www.naesp.org

National Association of Secondary School Principals   http://www.nassp.org

National Board on Educational Testing & Public Policy
http://www.bc.edu/research/nbetpp/index.html

National Center for History in the Schools
http://www.sscnet.ucla.edu/nchs/

National Clearinghouse for English Language Acquisition
http://www.ncela.gwu.edu/

National Council for Accreditation of Teacher Education  http://www.ncate.org/

National Council for History Education  http://www.nche.net/

National Council for the Social Studies  http://www.ncss.org

National Council of Teachers of English  http://www.ncte.org

National Council of Teachers of Mathematics  http://www.nctm.org

National Council on Economic Education (NCOEE)   http://ncoee.com/index.html

National Education Association  http://www.nea.org

National Middle School Association  http://www.nmsa.org

National Science Teachers Association  http://www.nsta.org

Policy Analysis for California Education (PACE)  http://pace.berkeley.edu/
Nonpartisan education research center for issues in California education; full text of many reports available.

Southwest Education Development Laboratory   http://www.sedl.org/
Texas based nonprofit that supports research on current education practices

Teachers of English to Speakers of Other Languages  http://www.tesol.org

WestEd Policy Support Program  http://www.wested.org/
This California-based group pulls together information on current policy topics in the education field. Full text of many reports available.

Return to top of the page

California Commission on Teacher Credentialing  http://www.ctc.ca.gov
Contains information on how to get a teaching credential, upcoming test dates and Commission reports.

California School Directory  http://www.cde.ca.gov/re/sd/

California Education Code  http://www.leginfo.ca.gov/calaw.html
Searchable California Codes allow you to specify "Education Code" and enter keywords to be searched.

California State Department of Education  http://www.cde.ca.gov/
Information on Departmental initiatives and programs, as well as statistics on California schools. Also lists current textbook adoptions.

US Department of Education  http://www.ed.gov

UNESCO Education   http://portal.unesco.org/education

Return to top of the page

California Postsecondary Education Commission  http://www.cpec.ca.gov
Searchable database of California Colleges as well as demographic and financial data about postsecondary education in the state.

CollegeSource Online
Searchable database of full-text course catalogs of US
colleges and universities. (CSUS students, staff, faculty only)

Peterson's Education and Career Center  http://www.petersons.com
Searchable directories of colleges and K-12 schools.

Title IV School Codes  http://www.fafsa.ed.gov/faq014.htm
Searchable index of US colleges gives federal financial aid code numbers.

College and University Rankings  http://www.library.uiuc.edu/edx/rankings.htm
Links to numerous ranking sites. Grouped by level and discipline.

Return to top of the page

AT&T Knowledge Network Explorer  http://www.filamentality.com/
This AT&T site helps teachers/librarians/students develop web-based learning activities.

CIESE Online Curriculum Projects  http://www.ciese.org/curr.html
Projects designed to enhance curriculum through use of the Internet; emphasis on science and math for grades 3-12.

The Educator's Reference Desk/Lesson Plans
http://www.eduref.org/Virtual/Lessons/index.shtml
Lesson plans submitted by teachers are arranged in broad subject areas; includes links to other lesson plan pages.

FREE (Federal Resources for Educational Excellence)  http://www.free.ed.gov/
Links to federal agencies which provide lessons/materials/teaching sources; search by broad or narrow subjects.

The Gateway to 21st Century Skills  http://www.thegateway.org/
Sponsored by the US Department of Education with one-stop access to lesson
plans and curriculum units.

Lesson Plans for K-12 Teachers
http://library.csus.edu/guides/rogenmoserd/educ/LESSON.HTM
Created by CSUS Librarian, provides links to lesson plans by subject for grades K-12.

Schools of California Online Resources for Education (SCORE)
http://www.score.k12.ca.us
Selected Web-based resources with application to the California curriculum are indexed
by grade level and theme.

ThinkQuest USA Library  http://www.thinkquest.org/
Contains educational web sites created through former ThinkQuest Junior and TQ USA competitions and programs.

Webquests  http://webquest.org/
Ideas for incorporating the web in instruction; search by grade/subject/concept/or keyword.

Return to top of the page

American Association of Community Colleges Service Learning Links
http://www.aacc.nche.edu/Resources/aaccprograms/horizons/Pages/links.aspx

Big Dummy's Guide to Service-Learning
http://www.fiu.edu/~time4chg/Library/bigdummy.html
FAQ format answers questions regarding faculty, student, administrative aspects of service learning programs.

California Volunteers  http://californiavolunteers.org/

Campus Compact  http://www.compact.org

National Service Learning Clearinghouse  http://www.servicelearning.org/index.php

National Service Learning Partnership
http://www.service-learningpartnership.org/site/PageServer

National Society for Experiential Education  http://www.nsee.org

National Youth Leadership Council  http://www.nylc.org/

CSUS Library Service Learning Resources   http://www.csus.edu/indiv/v/vanaukerr/servlrn.html

Return to top of the page

Buros Center for Testing  http://www.unl.edu/buros/
Serves as an index to the Mental Measurements Yearbook, Tests in Print, and Pro-Ed's Test Critiques which are available in print at CSUS Library.

ETS Testlink  http://www.ets.org/
Searchable catalog of ETS Test Collection holdings.

Return to top of the page

Scholarship, Fellowship, and Student Financial Aid Information on the World Wide Web
http://library.csus.edu/guides/bradleya/scholar.htm

Return to top of the page



A Sacramento State Library Research Guide compiled by Roz Van Auker, Education Reference Librarian and Betty Ronayne, Education Reference Librarian; vanaukerr@csus.edu; California State University, Sacramento; Last updated 6/09