Library Logo EDUCATION: SELECTED
REFERENCE SOURCES

Compiled by Roz Van Auker


FINDING BOOKS
Books can be searched in EUREKA by author, title, subject, or keyword. Useful browsing numbers to find books on selected topics in education are:
Mathematics-Study and teaching
Science-Study and teaching
Art-Study and teaching
Music-Instruction and study
Social sciences-Study and teaching
Reading
Language arts
Literature-Study and teaching
Physical education and training
QA11-20, QA 95-135.5
LB 1585, Q 181-183
N 350-363
MT 1-10
LB 1584, H 62
LB 1049-1050, LB 1573
LB 1631, LB 1576
LB 1575, PN 59-70, juv 028.5
GV 200-443
Return to top of the page.
ENCYCLOPEDIAS & DICTIONARIES

Education and Technology: an Encyclopedia  ref LB 1028.3 E17 2004
Encyclopedia of Education (e-book) Also available at ref LB 15 E47 2003
Encyclopedia of Education & Human Development  ref LB 15 E473 2005
Encyclopedia of Educational Research  ref LB 15 E48 1992
Encyclopedia of Special Education  ref LC 4007 E5 2000
Facts on File Dictionary of Education  ref LB 15 S43 1988
Greenwood Dictionary of Education  ref LB 15 G68 2003
Historical Dictionary of American Education  ref LB 15 H57 1999
International Encyclopedia of Education  ref LB 15 I569 1994
International Encyclopedia of Educational Technology  ref LB 1028.3 I567 1996
Learning Theories A to Z  ref LB 15 L4695 2002
Literacy Dictionary  ref LB 1049.98 L58 1995
Standards and Schooling in the United States: and Encyclopedia  ref LB 2822.82 S82 2001
World Education Encyclopedia  ref LB 15 W87 2001
Return to top of the page.
HANDBOOKS & DIRECTORIES

California Public School Directory. ref L 903 .C2 A33 (year)
Handbook of Educational Psychology  ref LB 1051 H2354 1996
Handbook of Reading Research  ref LB 1050 H278 2000
Handbook of Research for Educational Communication and Technology
    ref LB 1028.3 H355 1996
Handbook of Research on Curriculum  ref LB 1570 H264 1992
Handbook of Research on Improving Student Achievement  ref LB 1062.6 H36 1999
Handbook of Research on Mathematics Teaching and Learning  ref QA 11 H26 1992
Handbook of Research on Multicultural Education  ref LC 1099.3 H35 2004
Handbook of Research on School Supervision  ref LB 2806.4 H36 1998
Handbook of Research on Science Teaching and Learning  ref Q 181 A1 H35 1994
Handbook of Research on Social Studies Teaching and Learning  ref LB 1584 H275 1991
Handbook of Research on Teacher Education  ref LB 1715 H274 1996
Handbook of Research on Teaching  ref LB 1028 H315 2001
Handbook of Research on Teaching Literacy through the Communicative and Visual Arts
    P 91.3 H36 1997
Handbook of Research on Teaching the English Language Arts  ref LB 1576 H234 2003
MDR's School Directory California  ref L 903 C2 M37 1997/98
New Handbook of Research on Music Teaching and Learning  ref MT 1 S44 2002
Return to top of the page.
STATISTICS

The Condition of Education  http://nces.ed.gov/programs/coe/
   Also available at ref L 112 N377a (year)
Conditions of Children in California  ref HQ 792 U5 C63 1989
Digest of Education Statistics  http://nces.ed.gov/programs/digest/
   Also available at ref L 112 D48 (year)
Education at a Glance: OECD Indicators  ref LB 2846 E247 (year)
Education Internet Resources/Statistics: CSUS Research Guide
   http://library.csus.edu/guides/rogenmoserd/educ/internetsources.html#stats
Projections of Education Statistics  http://nces.ed.gov/programs/projections/
   Also available at ref L 112 P7 (year)
Quality Counts  ref LA 210 Q293
Rankings & Estimates: Rankings of the States ... and Estimates of School Statistics
   Older editions available at ref LB 2846 N28 (year)
Return to top of the page.
TEST DIRECTORIES

Buros    http://buros.unl.edu/buros/jsp/search.jsp
    Index to Mental Measurements YearbookMY
Cumulative Index to Tests in Microfiche ref LBZ 5814 P8 E32 1998
Education Tests and Test Critiques: CSUS Research Guide
   http://library.csus.edu/guides/rogenmoserd/educ/ttests.htm
Directory of Unpublished Experimental Mental Measures ref BF 431 G625
ETS Test Collection    http://www.ets.org/testcoll/index.html
ETS Test Collection Catalog  http://www.ets.org/testcoll/index.html
   Also available at ref LB 3051 E79 1993
Mental Measurements Yearbook
    MMY database provides the complete text of test reviews and critiques from the 9th
    edition through the most current edition of the Yearbook and is updated every six months.
    Complete text from earlier editions of MMY back to the first year of publication, 1938.
    Also available in print at 1938-date ref LBZ 5814 P8 B932 (year)
Test Critiques ref BF 176 T419
Test in Print
    A comprehensive bibliography to all known commercially available tests that are currently in
    print in the English language; linked to the test reviews published in the Mental Measurements
    Yearbook. Also available in print at ref LBZ 5814 E9 B8
Return to top of the page.
DATABASES

Databases can be accessed via the Library computers or on-campus computer labs. Unless noted otherwise; electronic indexes are restricted to CSUS students, faculty, & staff. Instructions for off-campus access are available at Off-Campus Access to Library E-Resources .

ERIC - from the Department of Education, 1966-current
Education Full Text - Education specific database with full text articles
PsycINFO - from the American Psychological Association, 1887-current

Additional databases for researching topics in Education are available from the CSUS Library Education Database and Periodical Index page.
Return to top of the page.
OTHER

California Education Code  http://www.leginfo.ca.gov/calaw.html
   Also available at ref LB 2529 K86
Deskbook Encyclopedia of American School Law  ref LB 2514 D47 1994
Education in the United States: a Documentary History  ref LA 205 C53
Requirements for Certification of Teachers, Counselors, Librarians, Administrators
    for Elementary and Secondary Schools
 ref LB 1771 W6 (year)
Special Days and Weeks for Planning the School Calendar  ref LB 3525 S64 (year)
Thesaurus of ERIC Descriptors Index Area Z 695.1 E3 E34 and near 2nd floor Computer
   Reference Area
Thesaurus of Psychological Index Terms Index Area BF 1 .P66 and near 2nd floor
   Computer Reference Area
Return to top of the page.
Web Sites

California Department of Education  http://www.cde.ca.gov/
Education Internet Resources: CSUS Research Guide
    http://library.csus.edu/guides/rogenmoserd/educ/internetsources.html
U.S. Department of Education  http://www.ed.gov/
Return to top of the page.
RELATED CSUS RESEARCH GUIDES

Additional CSUS Research Guides on Education can be found at the CSUS Library Education Database and Periodical Index page.

See the CSUS Research Guides page for a complete alphabetical listing of all the research guides.

Back to the top of the page
Go to Databases and Periodical Indexes Page

Questions/comments to: Roz Van Auker, Education & Social Science Reference Librarian
vanaukerr@csus.edu, California State University, Sacramento
rva/dr - updated 8/07