SacState University Library SacState University Library Header Image  
Resources & Collections  Library Services  About the Library  News & Announcements
 


EDUCATION: LEADERSHIP AND POLICY STUDIES




EUREKA for BOOKS

Books and other materials at CSUS Library can be searched in EUREKA by author, title, subject, or keyword. The Library of Congress Subject Headings lists specific subject terms to use in EUREKA. Some useful ones are:
School management and organization
School personnel management
School principals
School supervision
Teacher-administrator relationships
Education – aims and objectives
Educational accountability
Educational change
Educational indicators
Educational law and legislation
Educational planning
Educational evaluation
Educational statistics
Some useful subject headings for Higher Education are:
College Administrators
Education, Higher-United States
Student Affairs Administrators
Student Affairs Services
Many books on the above topics can be found at call numbers LB1027 through LB2832.
Return to top of the page

DICTIONARIES, ENCYCLOPEDIAS, AND HANDBOOKS


Curriculum Trends: a Reference Handbook (Ref LB1570/J33/2003)
    Part of Contemporary Education Issues series. Provides current information on central controversial issues in education. Chapters cover historical background, ethical issues, legal cases, exploration of curriculum, and a bibliography of additional sources. An additional copy located on the 3rd floor can be checked out.

Education and Sociology: an Encyclopedia (Ref/LC189.95/E38/2002)
    ..."Purpose of this volume is to demonstrate the value of theory and research in the sociology of education for understanding complex issues facing educational systems" through empirical, applied, interpretative, critical, and postmodern perspectives. Essays by experts provide a list of references for further study. Sample topics "Elites and Educational Reform," "Gender & Math Education," and "Magnet Schools in Urban Education."

Educational Leadership: a Reference Handbook (Ref/LB2805/W517/2002)
    One of a series of handbooks on Contemporary Education Issues. Begins with an overview followed by chapters that cover all levels of education leadership from practice to policy. Lengthy bibliographies at the end of each chapter, plus a directory of organizations, agencies, and institutes. An additional copy, located on the 3rd floor, can be checked out. To find other titles in the series search EUREKA for the title contemporary education issues.

Educator’s Desk Reference: A Sourcebook of Educational Information and Research, 2nd ed (Ref/LB1028.27/U6/F4/2002)
    Chapters include: Author’s Guide to Journals in Education, a description of journals that includes publishable topics, review procedure, submission requirements. Similar chapters on publishers of education books and software with reviews and prices; a chapter on Standardized Tests with sources of reviews; chapters on Research Design, formulating a research question, statistical procedures, sampling techniques. Final chapter profiles education organizations. Indexed.

Encyclopedia of Education and Human Development  (Ref/LB15/E473 2005)
    Comprehensive; each essay has extensive bibliography of additional sources. Topics include Constructs of Learning, Philosophical, Social, and Political Issues in Education, Equity & Cultural Issues, and Diverse Populations. 3 vols.

Encyclopedia of Educational Leadership and Administration  (REF/LB2805/E527 2006 v.1-2)
    Contains essays contributed from over 260 experts describing the theories, research, concepts, and histories of educational leadership and school administration as it is currently taught and practiced. Vol. 1 begins with a list of entries and a Reader's Guide to subject categories. Vol. 2 concludes with a detailed index. References and suggestions for further reading follow each entry.

Encyclopedia of Educational Research (Ref/LB15/E48 1992)
    Contains extensive essays or articles on all aspects of education contributed by experts. Provides background, overview, list of references. Updated by Review of Research in Education, an annual scholarly publication.

Handbook of Research on Educational Administration, 2nd ed. (Ref/LB2808/H2864/1999)
    A project of the American Educational Research Association, this work targets the research community, but much is of use to practitioners as well. Covers topics such as teaching and learning, leadership and administration, interface of school with its larger environment. An extensive list of references follows each essay.

Sage Handbook of Educational Leadership: Advances in Theory, Research, and Practice
(Ref 2805/S262/2005)
    Distinguished scholars were commissioned to write 23 chapters that examine theories and practical applications of research on educational management, leadership, politics and law. Each chapter is followed by extensive references; subject and author index are the last section of this handbook.

School Administrator's Complete Letter Book 2nd ed., with CD-ROM (Ref LB2845.7/S36/2003)
    Authentic examples of school correspondence: letters, memos, statements of philosophy, and web pages.

School, Family, and Community Partnerships: Your Handbook for Action
(Ref/LC221/E68/2002)
    This handbook presents a research-based framework & field-tested tools to help leaders understand types of family and community involvement, create a team for partnerships, plan & implement activities, mobilize community resources, etc. An additional copy, located on the 3rd floor, can be checked out.

Standards and Schooling in the United States: an Encyclopedia, 3 vols.
Ref/LB2822.82/S82/2001)
    Scholars and teachers offer critiques, suggestions, and analysis of the new social conditions in relation to educational reform in elementary, middle, and secondary schools. Each section contains a bibliography of additional resources.

Understanding Educational Reform: a Reference Handbook (Ref LA209.2/H58/2002)
    Another volume in Contemporary Education Issues series. Chapters cover essential questions, history of reform, politics, process, resistance, plus list of additional resources.

Return to top of the page

FUNDING SOURCES

Successful Program Management (Ref/LC243/A1/B38/2000)
    Three-volume set provides guidelines for obtaining grants for teachers and administrators along with sample forms, letters, proposals, worksheets, project planners, and spreadsheets. Emphasis is on gaining community support, planning, and developing procedures to maintain a successful grants program.

AERA Grants Program
    American Educational Research Association provides grants for research in education policy and practice, as well as for dissertation research that uses quantitative methods for analyzing data.

Grants and Foundations
    A CSUS Library Research guide of grant and foundation resources. Recent books on grantwriting for public schools can be found through EUREKA using the subjects: educational fundraising or proposal writing in education
Return to top of the page

RESEARCH, WRITING & STYLE GUIDES

Blending Qualitative & Quantitative Research Methods in Theses and Dissertations
(Ref/LB2369/T4575/2003)
    Integrates a spectrum of research methods as a series of simple and complex questions.
Applicable to all social sciences. An additional copy, located on the 3rd floor, can be checked out.

Guide to the Successful Thesis and Dissertation: a Handbook for Students and Faculty,
    5th ed.
  (LB2369/M377/2003)

Guide to Writing Empirical Papers, Theses, and Dissertations  (LB2369/G27/2002)

Proposing Empirical Research: a Guide to the Fundamentals, 3rd ed.
(Ref/Q180.55/P7/P37/2005)
    Workbook on conducting research in the social sciences. How to: select a problem area,
identify variables, formulate theories, evaluate feasibility, choose an approach. Includes examples.

Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association, 5th ed.
    (Ref/BF76.7/P83/2001)  Multiple copies are available for Library use only.

Research Writing in Education and Psychology--from Planning to Publication: a
    Practical Handbook
 (LB2369/K54/2001)

Additional writing and research guides can be found by searching EUREKA using the subject:
     report writing handbooks.
Return to top of the page

DATABASE INDEXES

Unless noted otherwise; electronic indexes are restricted to CSUS students, faculty, & staff. Instructions for off-campus access are available at Off-Campus Access to Library E-Resources. Use the Find It option to determine if the CSUS Library subscribes to a magazine or journal that you need, or to determine if the complete article is available in a CSUS database.
Return to top of the page

WEB SITES

American Association of School Administrators  http://www.aasa.org
Association of California School Administrators   http://www.acsa.org
California Legislative Information  http://www.leginfo.ca.gov/
California School Boards Association   http://www.csba.org/
Center on Education Policy  http://www.cep-dc.org/
Educators Net, educators search engine  http://www.educatorsnet.com
Educator's Reference Desk  http://www.eduref.org/
EIS - What Works Clearinghouse  http://ies.ed.gov/ncee/wwc/
    Established by the US Department of Education in 2002, the Institute of Education Sciences'
    mission complements ERIC: to expand knowledge with full text information on practices that
    work, and to provide research and data for evidence-based decision makers.
NASSP – Education Leaders in Middle & High Schools  http://www.nassp.org
National Association of Elementary School Principals   http://www.naesp.org
National Center for Policy Analysis  http://www.ncpa.org/
North Central Regional Educational Laboratory (NCREL)  http://www.ncrel.org/sdrs/
US Department of Education  http://www.ed.gov/index.jhtml
US Department of Education/Policy http://www.ed.gov/policy/landing.jhtml

Web Sites for Higher Education

California Postsecondary Education Commission  http://www.cpec.ca.gov/
Institute for Higher Education Policy  http://www.ihep.com/
National Center for Public Policy & Higher Education  http://www.highereducation.org/
Return to top of the page

JOURNALS

Listed below are representative titles currently received at CSUS Library. Journals that are also available via the Web or available full text in one of the CSUS Library databases are indicated. Journals for 1980 to current are located on the 3rd floor south alphabetically by journal name. Pre-1980 journals are in compact shelves in the Lower Level basement.

American Journal of Education
American School and University also available in Academic Search Premier (Ebsco)
American School Board Journal
Chronicle of Higher Education
Educational Technology Research & Development
Education Policy Analysis
Harvard Educational Review
Journal of Education also available in Academic Search Premier (Ebsco)
Journal of Education Finance also available in Education Full Text
Journal of Educational Research
Journal of Educational Statistics
Journal of Experimental Education
Journal of Human Resources also available in Social Sciences Full Text (Wilson)
Journal of Law and Education also available in Education Full Text
Review of Educational Research
Sociology of Education
Urban Education

AERA Open Access Journals (American Educational Research Association)
Links to more than 200 scholarly , peer-reviewed, full text, cost free, education journals.

Return to top of the page


A Sacramento State Library Research Guide compiled by Betty Ronayne, Education Reference Librarian; bronayne@csus.edu; Last updated 6/09