|
Periodicals of Special Interest
|
|
Search the ERIC database for education-related
abstracts of articles in these and other periodicals:
Print periodicals are shelved alphabetically by title on
Floor 3 South. Periodicals that are also available via the Web or available
full text in one of the CSUS Library databases are indicated.
|
American Music Teacher avail in Academic Search Premier (EBSCO)
Arts & Activities avail in Academic Search Premier (EBSCO)
Art Education
Arts Education Policy Review avail in Academic Search Premier (EBSCO)
Dramatics
Journal of Aesthetics and Art Criticism avail in Academic Search Premier (EBSCO)
Journal of Music Teacher Education
Journal of Research in Music Education avail in Academic Search Premier (EBSCO)
Music Educators Journal avail in Academic Search Premier (EBSCO)
Plays avail in Academic Search Premier (EBSCO)
Research in Drama Education avail in Academic Search Premier (EBSCO)
School Arts
Studies in Art Education
Teaching Music avail in Academic Search Premier (EBSCO)
Update: the Application of Research In Music Education
Jazz Education Journal http://www.iaje.org/journal.asp
|
|
Professional Associations
|
|
|
Professional Standards and California State Frameworks
|
|
|
|
Background Information
|
- Creating Curriculum in Art N 353 D86 1995
- Incorporating Assessment and the National Standards for Music Education into Everyday
Teaching MT 3 U5 N48 2001
- Making Connections: Multicultural Music and the National Standards
Curric Guide Music 0035
- Performance Standards for Music: Strategies and Benchmarks for Assessing Progress toward
the National Standards Curric Guide 9998
|
|
Personal favorites
|
- Adaptations of the National Visual Arts Standards: National, State and District
Examples(1995) N 85 N28 A5 1995
- Jazz For Young People Curriculum Nonprint 780 .J42ja 2002
- Learning to Look and Create: the Spectra Program K-8
Curriculum nonprint 700 Se9ea 1987
This series of 8 guides has activities and linked slides covering
semester-long art courses
- Art Works!: Interdisciplinary Learning Powered by the Arts
LB 1628.5 A78 1999
- Performance-Based Curriculum for Music and the Visual Arts: From Knowing
to Showing LB 1591 B84 1999
- Library slide collection Floor 1 South Library Media Center
The Library slide collection contains thousands of individual slides on art related topics that
can be borrowed for classroom use. An index to the collection is linked from
EUREKA, the
Library's catalog.
Additional lesson plans and teaching strategies can be found by looking on
EUREKA (http://eureka.lib.csus.edu/)
using Advanced Search, and then set Location to curriculum guides, curriculum nonprint,or
curriculum textbooks. It is also possible to browse the curriculum
shelves on Floor 2 South. Many useful "method books" are in the Library’s regular
collections in the following call number areas:
Art – study and teaching
Music – instruction and study
Theater – study and teaching
|
N 350 - N 363, NX 280 - NX 310
MT 1 - MT 10, MT 170
PN 3157 - PN 3178
|
|
|
Using Literature in Teaching the Arts
|
- The Arts as Meaning Makers: Integrating Literature and the Arts Throughout
the Curriculum LB 1591 C67 1999
- Literature for the Visual and Performing Arts: Kindergarten Through Grade Twelve
(1996) Curric Guides Art 0062
- Recommended Literature (K-12)
http://www.cde.ca.gov/ci/rl/ll/
|
|
Internet Starting Places
|
|
|
Back to the top of the page
Go to Databases and Periodical Indexes Page
|
|
Questions/comments to: Roz Van Auker, Social Science Reference Librarian; vanaukerr@csus.edu; CSU, Sacramento
Last updated 9/07; rva/dr
|