The literature of Counseling is multi-disciplinary and therefore may
be found in several Library locations. This guide is intended to aid
in identifying and finding selected Counseling resources in
Education/Psychology, Social Sciences, Science, and Humanities.
Other Library research guides that might be helpful are:
SUBJECT HEADINGS
Library of Congress subject headings for locating additional library
materials on counseling in the EUREKA Computer Catalog are:
Art therapy
Art and mental illness
Arts--therapeutic use
Children as artists
Counseling
Cross-cultural counseling
Drawing--psychology of
Ethnic groups--counseling of
Family therapists
|
Marriage counseling
Minorities--counseling of
Music Therapy
Personnel service in education
Play therapy
Problem children
Psychotherapy
School psychology
Vocational guidance
|
Return to top of the page
ENCYCLOPEDIAS AND DICTIONARIES
- APA Dictionary of Psychology ref BF 31 V295 2006
- Corsini Encyclopedia of Psychology & Human Behavioral Sciences, 3rd ed.
ref BF 31 E52 2001
4 volumes. Alphabetical arrangement of articles on topics such as: The Brain, Child Abuse, Counterconditioning,
Counseling, Defense Mechanisms. International scope; vol. 4 contains indexes.
- Dictionary of Psychology ref BF 65 2001
Psychologists and physicians served as consulting editors for this professional dictionary.
- Elsevier's Dictionary of Psychological Theories ref BF 31 E44 2006
A specialized dictionary that includes substantive explanations of theories, principles, doctrines, and paradigms
reported in the psychological and social/behavioral literature.
- Encyclopedia of Clinical Child and Pediatric Psychology ref RJ 503.3 E53 2003
Authorized resource for brief information on problems and issues related to children, adolescents and their families. Particularly
useful for undergrad and graduate students. Entries have brief list of suggested readings.
- Encyclopedia of Counseling (ref BF 636.54 E53 2008 v.1-4)
Provides a comprehensive overview of theories, models, techniques and challenges in the field. Each of the 4 volumes covers a theme with
cross-referencing to the other volumes. Subject index and readers guide also provided.
- Encyclopedia of Education and Human Developemnt. ref LB 15 E473 2005
Comprehensive; each essay has extensive bibliography of additional sources. Topics include Constructs of Learning,
Philosophical, Social, and Political Issues in Education, Equity & Cultural Issues, and Diverse Populations. 3 vols.
- Encyclopedia of Human Behavior ref BF 31 E5 1994 v.1-4
Provides extensive, detailed articles by experts on a broad range of
behavior-related topics. "Each article serves as a comprehensive overview
of a given area, providing both breadth of coverage for students and depth
of coverage for research professionals." Each article begins with a glossary of
terms, an outline, and cross-references to the
bibliography.
- Encyclopedia of Mental Health ref RA 790 E53 1998 v.1-3
Extensive essays on topics such as antisocial personality disorder and
homelessness. A bibliography of sources follows each essay.
- Encyclopedia of Psychology ref BF 31 E52 2000 v.1-8
Comprehensive coverage of the discipline; including methods of scientific study, theories,
research application, historical development, and psychological processes. Articles written
by experts; includes bibliography of sources. Published by APA.
- Encyclopedia of School Psychology ref LB 1027.55 E523 2005
Alphabetical arrangement of entries on theory and practice derived from a broad
range of fields that contribute to school psychology. Entries are by experts, and include
a bibliography and a list of suggested readings. Aimed at a broad readership of professionals
and general audience.
- International Dictionary of Psychology, 2nd ed. ref BF 31 S83 1996
Definitions for all the technical terms a psychologist is likely to
encounter.
Return to top of the page
HANDBOOKS, MANUALS AND GUIDES TO THE LITERATURE
- Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders: DSM-IV-TR (4th ed. Text revision)
ref RC 455.2 C4 D536 2000
Published by the American Psychiatric Association, this is the "therapists Bible".
Lists standardized criteria for diagnosing mental disorders.
Library also has DSM companion casebooks, videos, and training guide
published by the APA.
- DSM-IV Diagnosis in the Schools ref RJ 503.5 H68 2002
Intended as a supplement to increase familiarity and confidence of
school psychologists who make DSM-IV diagnostic determinations.
- Handbook of Child Psychology, 6th ed. ref BF 721 H242 2006 v.1-4
A core resource on the topic, this handbook spans the entire field of child development. Written by
experts, each volume is organized into broad chapters with an extensive list of references at the
chapter's end. Each volume has its own author and subject index.
Volume 1: Theoretical Models of Human Development
Volume 2: Cognition, Persception, and Language
Volume 3: Social, Emotional and Personality Development
Volume 4: Child Psycholgy in Practice
- Handbook of Couples Therapy ref RC 488.5 H3263 2005
Experts write on "...therapy and interventions that mental health professionals implement
in helping cuples develop the tools to make a successful dyad." Includes same-gender couples, and
cohabitating heterosexual couples. Empirical and clinical information is interwoven in each essay followed
by a reference list. Chapter 24 is entirely about research. Chapter 25 summarizes the many topics developed throughout
the Handbook. Subject index concludes the book.
- Handbook of Counseling Psychology, 3rd ed.. BF 637 C6 H315 2000
Comprehensive collection of essays on major areas within counseling
psychology. An overview of past research and analysis of future trends. The 3rd
edition (2000) is in the circulating books and can be checked out of the Library.
- Handbook of Crisis Counseling, Intervention, and Prevention in the Schools
ref LB 1027.55 C74 2002
Extensive chapters by experts cover all aspects of crisis counseling and intervention by
school guidance personnel to facilitate children's coping and healthy development from
elementary school through adolescence.
- Handbook of Cross-Cultural & Multicultural Personality Assessment
ref RC 473 P79 H36 2000
Also available as an electronic book.
28 chapters by international assessment psychologists
on research design and observed personality differences among ethnic
and racial groups in different parts of the world.
Includes cross-cultural application of widely used instruments, e.g. MMPI, TAT, and
Rorschach.
- Handbook of Psychiatric Measures, 2nd ed. ref RC 473 P78 A46 2008
Handbook containing detailed descriptions of more than 275 clinically useful
measures from several domains, compiled by medical professionals. Tests are described with reliability, validity, and utility
information included. A CD-ROM in PDF format accompanies this work. It provides complete copies of more than 150 measures in the
public domain or with copyright permission from test publishers.
- Handbook of Psychological Assessment, 4th ed. BF 176 G76 2003
Offers complete reviews of most commonly used psychological tests, plus
guidance on test selection, evaluating data, and integrating results.
New chapters cover treatment planning, ethics, and expanded sections on
several of the classic tests.
- Handbook of Racial-Cultural Psychology and Counseling: Theory and Research
ref RC 455.4 E8 H368 2005 vol. 1-2
Vol.1 consists of comprehensive, substantive chapters that review the literature on core concepts and theories of culture,
ethnicity and race, providing background and future directions. Contributors are academicians, practitioners, leading scholars and
researchers. Extensive lists of works cited conclude each chapter. Vol. 2 addresses practitioner and training needs.
- Psychologists Desk Reference ref RC 467.2 P78 2005
Essential information for all levels of mental health practitioners including
students. Concise summaries, checklists, and guides on topics such as
assessment and diagnosis; therapy and treatment; ethical and legal issues; forensics,
management, professional resources (professional associations, abbreviations, highly
rated self-help books, etc.) Detailed table of contents and index. 2nd edition on order.
- School Neuropsychology: a Practitioner's Handbook RJ 486.5 H235 2004
Designed for practitioners in an educational setting "with information and methods for
analyzing data and interventions from a brain-behavior perspective" (preface.) Written by
a neuropsychologist and a Professsor of School Psychology, contains an extensive bibliography
and index.
Return to top of the page
RESEARCH, WRITING & STYLE GUIDES
- Guide to Writing Empirical Papers, Theses, and Dissertations LB 2369 G27 2002
- Proposing Empirical Research: a Guide to the Fundamentals, 2nd ed.
ref Q 180.55 P7 P37 2002
Workbook on conducting research. How to: select a problem area,identify variables,
formulate theories, evaluate feasibility, choose an approach. Includes examples.
- Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association, 5th ed.
ref BF 76.7 P83 2001
Multiple copies are available for Library use only.
- Research Writing in Education and Psychology--from Planning to Publication:
a Practical Handbook LB 2369 .K54 2001
- Writing Empirical Research Reports: a Basic Guide for Students of the Social and
Behavioral Sciences LB 2369 P97 2005
- Writing the Winning Thesis or Dissertation: a Step-by-Step Guide
LB 2369 G56 2005
Additional writing and research handbooks can be found by searching EUREKA using the subject:
report writing handbooks.
Writing/Style handouts are listed at Research Guides under "Writing Guides."
Return to top of the page
OTHER MEDIA
- Basic Attending Skills 1985. 120 min. Video 1435
- Basic Influencing Skills 1984. 120 min. Video 1436
- Counseling the Multiracial Population 2002. 74 min. Video 006802
- Cultural Identity Theory 2004. 72 min. DVD 000367
- Culturally Alert Counseling, pt.1-6 2009. 232 min, DVD 000906
- Culture-Centered Counseling 2003. 40 min. Video 006719
- Existential-humanistic Psychotherapy in Action 1995.
2 cassettes, 144 min. Video 4078
- Five Approaches to Clinical Supervision 2004. 63 min.
Video BF 637 C6 F394 2004 plus Guide
- Functional Family Therapy 2004. 112 min. Video 006804
- I'm Glad to be Alive: Building Solutions with a Suicidal Youth 2004. 50 min.
Video 006906
- Relationships. Couple Therapy for Depression. 2005. 105 min. Video 006743
- Relationships. Gay, Lesbian, and Bisexual Clients 2004. 96 min. Video 006818
- Responding Therapeutically to Patient Anger 1996. 35 min. Video 4044
- School Problems 1990. 42 min. Video 2251
- Survey of Counseling Associations, Functions, and Services Microfiche 9985
- Teenage Girls 2004. 121 min. Video 006861
- Therapist-Client Boundary Challenges 2004. 34 min. DVD 000289
- Understanding Group Psychotherapy: Process and Practice 1990.
5 cassettes, 60 min. each. Video 2500
- Virginia Satir: the Use of Self in Therapy 1993. 29 min. Video 3970
- Who Moved My Cheese?: an Amazing Way to Deal with Change in Your Work
and in Your Life 1999. 13 min. Video 5808
- The World of Abnormal Psychology 1991. 13 cassettes, 60 min. each. Video 2450
Return to top of the page
DATABASES
The databases/electronic indexes are available to all on the Research Stations
in the Library. Off-campus
access is restricted to CSUS students,
faculty, & staff. Instructions for off-campus access are available at
Off-Campus Access to Library E-Resources.
- Academic Search Premier (EBSCO)
Multidisciplinary database of academic journals; many education related journals are included.
- Education Full Text
Covers 400+ education journals.
- ERIC
Contains references to education documents and journal articles. The Library has 2/3 of the journals cited
and the entire ERIC document microfiche collection. Many ERIC documents from 1989 forward are available
full text in the database.
ERIC Resources are also available at ERIC (free government site)
(http://www.eric.ed.gov/.)
- MEDLINE
National Library of Medicine's database index to medical journals.
-
Mental Measurements Yearbook
MMY database provides the complete text of test reviews and critiques from the 9th edition through
the most current edition of the Yearbook and is updated every six months. Complete text from
earlier editions of MMY back to the first year of publication, 1938, as well as Tests in Print,
will be available in the database over the next two years.
- PsycINFO
A database equivalent to Psychological Abstracts for 1887 to the present.
Indexes book chapters, dissertations, and journal articles. Full text available.
- Social Sciences Citation Index
Multidiscplinary index to 1,700+ journals.
- Social Sciences Full Text
Covers a wide range of fields from 1994 to present.
- Test in Print (EBSCO)
Lists all known commercially available tests currently in print in English. Serves as index to MMY full text reviews of tests.
Return to top of the page
WEB SITES
- American Counseling Association http://www.counseling.org/
Calendar of events; job listings; professional standards and ethics. Some
information accessible to members only.
- American Psychological Association http://www.apa.org
Provides search engine, includes index to APA journals; many full text. For practitioners, students, and parents.
- American School Counselor Association http://www.schoolcounselor.org/
Website has full text position papers, ethics, standards;provides search engine and web links.
- ED.gov http://www.ed.gov/index.jhtml
US government's policy and resources for education organized by gateways for students, parents, teachers, and administrators.
Content is strongest in post-secondary topics and current leadership initiatives e.g. English learners and special ed.
- EIS - What Works Clearinghouse http://ies.ed.gov/ncee/wwc/
Established by the US Department of Education in 2002, the Institute of Education Sciences'
mission complements ERIC: to expand knowledge with full text information on practices that
work, and to provide research and data for evidence-based decision makers.
- Open Access Journals in the Field of Education
Links to electronic journals that are scholarly, peer-reviewed, full text and accessible without cost
- Psyc Site http://kenstange.com/psycsite/
Covers the science of psychology, eliminates both parapsychology and self-help.
"Psychology and Education" section is useful. Links to other web sites.
- Psych Web http://www.psywww.com/
Contains links to materials of interest to practitioners, researchers, and students.
- School Psychology Resources Online http://www.schoolpsychology.net
Resources, many with full text, of interest to psychologists, parents and educators. Maintained by
Office of Psychological Services, Baltimore Co. Public Schools.
Return to top of the page
SELECTED PERIODICALS
Listed below are representative titles currently received at CSUS Library.
Journals that are also available via the Web or available full text in one of the CSUS
Library databases are indicated. This information is updated regularly. To determine if the CSUS Library
subscribes to the magazine or journal that you
need, or if the complete article is available in a database, use the
Locate Print and e-Journals
option.
American Journal of Family Therapy
American Journal Psychotherapy available at Academic Search Premier (EBSCO)
American Psychologist
Archives of Sexual Behavior
Arts in Psychotherapy
Career Development Quarterly
Child Development
Counseling Psychologist
Counselor Education and Supervision also available at Academic Search Premier (EBSCO)
Developmental Psychology
Educational and Psychological Measurement
Educational Psychologist
Intervention in School and Clinic
Journal of Alcohol and Drug Education
Journal of Career Development
Journal of Contemporary Psychotherapy
Journal of Counseling & Development also available at Academic Search Premier (EBSCO)
Journal of Counseling Psychology
Journal of Drug Education
Journal of Drug Issues
Journal of Educational Psychology
Journal of Employment Counseling also available at Academic Search Premier (EBSCO)
Journal of Experimental Child Psychology
Journal of Family Psychotherapy
Journal of Homosexuality
Journal of Humanistic Counseling, Education, and Development
also available in Academic Search Premier (EBSCO)
Journal of Instructional Psychology
Journal of Marriage and the Family
Journal of Marital and Family Therapy also available at Wiley Interscience (Wiley)
Journal of Mental Health Counseling
Journal of Multicultural Counseling & Development
also available atAcademic Search Premier (EBSCO)
Journal of School Psychology
Journal of Sex and Marital Therapy
Journal of Social Issues
Journal of Vocational Behavior
Preventing School Failure
Professional Psychology: Research and Practice
Professional School Counseling also available at Academic Search Premier (EBSCO)
Psychiatric Rehabilitation Journal also available at Academic Search Premier (EBSCO)
Psychology in the Schools
Psychology of Women Quarterly
School Psychology Review
School Social Work Journal
Work and Occupations
Return to top of the page
|