BOOKS - EUREKA
When consulting EUREKA to locate books,
the subject headings listed below can be searched, along with other
terms listed in the Library of Congress Subject Headings.
EUREKA can be searched by author, title, word, and subject(s).
The call number ranges shown at left can also be used for browsing the Library shelves.
|
HQ 796-799, BF 724
HQ 772-782
RJ 131
BF 713-723
LB 1140
QP 84
HQ 792
|
Adolescence
Child Development
Children - Growth
Developmental Psychology
Education, Preschool
Human Growth
Culture and Childhood
|
|
- Assessing Children's Well-Being: A Handbook of Measures
Ref RJ 50 A835 2004
- Blackwell Handbook of Childhood Cognitive Development
BF 723 C5 B5 2002
- Cambridge Encyclopedia of Human Growth and Development
QP 84 C26 1997
- Child Development Also available at Ref HQ 772 C436 2002
- Developmental Profiles: Pre-Birth Through Eight RJ 131 A496 1999
- Encyclopedia of Applied Developmental Science
Ref HQ 767.84 E52 2005
- Encyclopedia of Human Development Ref HM 626 E53 2006
- Gale Encyclopedia of Childhood & Adolescence Ref HQ 772 G27 1998
- Growing Up: A Cross-Cultural Encyclopedia Ref HQ 767.84 B76 1995
- Handbook of Child Language Acquisition P 118 H348 1999
- Handbook of Child Psychology Ref BF 721 H242 2006
- Handbook of Psychological and Educational Assessment of Children:
Intelligence, Aptitude, and Achievement BF 722 H33 2003
- Handbook of Research on the Education of Young Children
LB 1119 H25 2006
- Introduction to Theories of Human Development
BF 713 S245 2004
- Your Child: Emotional, Behavioral, and Cognitive Development from
Birth through Preadolescence HQ 767.9 Y67 2000
Back to the top of the page
|
DATABASES AND PERIODICAL INDEXES
Electronic periodical indexes and databases are available to all on the Library research stations.
Unless noted otherwise; access to databases and indexes from campus computer labs or
off-campus computers is
restricted to CSUS students, faculty, and staff. Instructions for off-campus
access are available at
Off-Campus Access to Library E-Resources
Specialized Databases
- PsycINFO (1887-current)
Indexes journals and book chapters worldwide in psychology and related disciplines.
Some full text articles available
- ERIC (EbscoHost) (1966 - current) (Educational Resource Information Center)
Developed by the U.S. Department of Education.
Indexes and abstracts about 800 journals and education-related documents (reports, proceedings, curriculum, etc.)
Full text for some articles and for most (1993-current) ERIC documents available. ERIC documents also available in
CSUS microfiche collection.
- Education Full Text (1983-current)
Indexes and abstracts periodicals in Education and related fields. Full text articles included.
-
ScienceDirect (1966-current)
A full text database for articles in the sciences and social sciences.
General Databases
Back to the top of the page
|
THEORY AND RESEARCH
-
Developmental Screening in Early Childhood: a Guide
LB 1131 M444 2005
- Doing Qualitative Research: a Practical Handbook H 62 S472 2005
- From Neurons to Neighborhoods:
The Science of Early Childhood Development
http://books.nap.edu/openbook/0309069882/html/index.html
- Methods in Behavioral Research BF 76.5 .C67 2007
- Partners in Play: Assessing Infants and Toddlers in Natural Contexts
RJ 51 D48 P37 2007
- Recent Theories of Human Development. BF 713 T485 2001
- Understanding Quantitative and Qualitative Research in Early Childhood Education.
LB 1139.23 G66 1996
- Writing Empirical Research Reports: a Basic Guide for Students of the Social and
Behavioral Sciences LB 2369 .P97 2005
Back to the top of the page
|
STATISTICS
Back to the top of the page
|
PROFESSIONAL ORGANIZATIONS
Most of these associations publish position papers and research reports which are available from
their web sites.
American Academy of Pediatrics
http://www.aap.org/
National Association for the Education of Young Children
http://www.naeyc.org/
National Head Start Association
http://www.nhsa.org/
Society for Research in Child Development
http://www.srcd.org/
Zero to Three
http://www.zerotothree.org/
Back to the top of the page
|
SELECTED PERIODICALS
The periodicals listed below publish scholarly research articles on human development and the behavioral sciences.
They can be searched by subject using the Databases and Periodical Indexes.
Paper holdings of periodicals are located on 3 SOUTH alphabetically by journal title.
Pre-1980 periodicals are located
on the Lower Level. Periodicals with full text available
in a database or as an online subscription are indicated. (Note: Dates of
online full text coverage vary) To check availability of periodicals not listed below, go to the
Locate Print & e-Journals page.
Adolescence also available in Academic Search Premier (EBSCO)
Applied Cognitive Psychology
Brain & Development
Brain Research Bulletin
Brain Research Reviews
Child Abuse and Neglect
Child Abuse Review
Child and Youth Care Forum
Child Care, Health and Development available in Blackwell Synergy
Child Development also available in Blackwell Synergy
Child Study Journal also available in Academic Search Premier (EBSCO)
Child Welfare also available in Academic Search Premier (EBSCO)
Children and Society
Children and Youth Services Review
Childhood Education
Cognition
Cognitive Development
Cognitive Linguistics available Communication & Mass Media Complete
Cognitive Psychology
Cognitive Science
Developmental Brain Research
Developmental Psychology
Developmental Review
Early Childhood Education Journal
Early Childhood Research and Practice http://ecrp.uiuc.edu/
Early Childhood Research Quarterly
Early Education and Development
Education and Treatment of Children
The Future of Children http://www.futureofchildren.org/
Journal of Developmental and Behavorial Pediatrics
available with 12 month delay in Academic Search Premier (EBSCO)
Infant Behavior and Development
Infant and Child Development
Infant Mental Health Journal
Infants and Young Children
International Journal of Early Childhood
Journal of Abnormal Child Psychology
Journal of Applied Developmental Psychology
Journal of Child Language
Journal of Early Intervention
Journal of Experimental Child Psychology
Journal of Experimental Psychology: Learning, Memory and Cognition
Journal of Pediatric Psychology also available in Oxford University Press Journals
Journal of Research in Childhood Education also available in
Merrill-Palmer Quarterly
Monographs of the Society for Research in Child Development
also available in Blackwell Synergy
Pediatrics
Zero to Three
Back to the top of the page
|
ADDITIONAL WEB SITES
Many of these web sites provide online access to high quality full text document. Typically such resources are linked under headings such as
Research, Publications, Policy, or Statistics.
Child Care and Early Education Research Connections
http://www.childcareresearch.org/discover/index.jsp
Child Trends
http://www.childtrends.org/
Children, Youth, and Families Education and Research Network (CYFERnet)
http://www.cyfernet.org/
Children's Defense Fund
http://www.childrensdefense.org/
The Clearinghouse on International Developments in Child,Youth and Family Policies
http://www.childpolicyintl.org/
Early Education Project of the Committee for Economic Development
http://www.ced.org/projects/prek.shtml
Foundation for Child Development
http://www.fcd-us.org/
Montessori Foundation
http://www.montessori.org/
National Center for Early Development & Learning
http://www.fpg.unc.edu/~ncedl/
National Center for Education in Maternal and Child Health
http://www.ncemch.org/
National Child Care Information Center (U.S. Dept. of Health & Human Services)
http://www.nccic.org/
National Institute for Early Education Research
http://nieer.org/
National Institute of Child Health & Human Development
http://www.nichd.nih.gov/
Health Information & Media section
includes many full text resources
National Network for Child Care
http://www.nncc.org/
National Scientific Council on the Developing Child
http://www.developingchild.net/
Trust for Early Education
http://www.trustforearlyed.org/
Pew Charitable Trust/Pre-K Education
http://www.pewtrusts.com/ideas/index.cfm?issue=26
Tufts University Child and Family Web Guide
http://www.cfw.tufts.edu/
UNICEF http://www.unicef.org/
Back to the top of the page
|
WRITING STYLE GUIDES
APA Style.org http://www.apastyle.org/styletips.html
Using Principles of APA Style to Cite
and Document Sources
http://www.bedfordstmartins.com/online/cite6.html
Style Guide/APA (CSUS Research Guide)
http://library.csus.edu/guides/rogenmoserd/general/style.html#apa
APA Style Guide (CSUS Research Guide)
http://library.csus.edu/guides/rogenmoserd/general/apa.html
Additional Writing Guides are available from the subject list of Research Guides.
|
|
Back to the top of the page
Go to Library Homepage
|
|
Questions/comments to: Roz Van Auker, Social Science Reference Librarian, CSU, Sacramento CA
email:vanaukerr@csus.edu Last updated 9/07
|