Library Logo HISTORY: California, Sacramento
and Local History Sources

by D. Rogenmoser

Primary & Secondary Sources
Finding Books using EUREKA
California & the West- General
Sacramento - General
Finding People
The Census, Gov Docs & Public Records
Indexes & Databases
Selected Newspapers
Selected Journals and Magazines
Special Collections and University Archives
Sacramento Archives & Museum Collection Center
California Underground Railroad
California State Library
Web Sites
Return to Library Home Page



PRIMARY & SECONDARY

Both PRIMARY and SECONDARY sources are used when researching the history of people, places, and events. They are original records created at the time of the historical event produced by participants or eyewitnesses. They may also be created after the event in the form of memoirs, autobiographies, and oral histories. They include documents such as letters, diaries, court records, interviews, original art work, photographs, treaties, surveys, and research data, etc.

These primary sources may be published and available in multiple copies. For example; Anne Frank: the Diary of a Young Girl is a primary source that has been published and is readily available in most libraries. Other examples of published primary sources are government documents like the census, public records, or a published interview.

SECONDARY sources are broadly defined as works that explain, interpret, or analyze historical events, lives, or places. Often, secondary sources are based on, or are produced using, primary sources.

The article in Political Science Quarterly; Woodrow Wilson, Alice Paul, and the Woman Suffrage Movement (Graham, 1983) is a secondary source. However, the author's research was based on primary sources such as the Woodrow Wilson Papers and interviews with Alice Paul. Students are most familiar with secondary sources such as textbooks, encyclopedias, and articles.

Use EUREKA, the CSUS Library catalog, to locate all Secondary and Primary sources (books and other monographs, journals, videos, government documents, etc.) in the library. Use an index or database to locate specific journal, magazine, or newspaper articles.

FINDING BOOKS USING EUREKA

EUREKA is a catalog of items owned by the CSUS Library.  Books can be searched for in EUREKA by title, author, keyword and Library of Congress Subject Headings.
  • Subject Searching: Library holdings can be found by entering :

    sacramento calif history or sacramento county calif history as a SUBJECT
    .

  • Keyword Searching: Another way to locate books in EUREKA is by Advanced Keyword searching. Use Advanced Keyword to search for materials on topics such as:
    sacramento and history
    california and gold mines
    calif* and women

    calif* and land grants
    calif* and diaries
    sacramento and japanese
    One can also search names using Advanced Keyword. Advanced Keyword also allows limiting to specific languages, locations, or types of documents. For example: a search on California and history can be limited to the LOCATION California Government Documents.

    Remember to add an asterisk (*) after the word calif to include the words california or californios, etc. in your search.

  • Browsing: Location and Call Numbers for browsing the shelves for books on CALIFORNIA HISTORY are 2 South F 856-870 and FZ 1261 (circulating books) or 2 North Reference F 856-870 and FZ 1261.

  • Juvenile Collection: Materials for children can be found by searching the topic California or Sacramento in Advanced Keyword and limiting the search to the LOCATION: Juvenile Fiction/Nonfiction.
  
Back to the top of the page  

CALIFORNIA & THE WEST

Answer Book (1988- 2002) F 868 .S12 A5
Atlas of Westward Expansion 2 North Atlas G 1201 .S1 W44
A Bibliography of the History of California, 1510-1930 Ref FZ 1261 .C65 1933
California Almanac (1984-1995) Ref F 859.3 .A15
California Blue Book (1891-1975; 2000) Latest copy in Ref. JK 8730 .A15
California Digital Library  http://www.cdlib.org/
California Historical Society  http://www.californiahistoricalsociety.org/
California History - click on LINKS  http://www.californiahistory.org/
California History Online  http://www.californiahistory.net/
California Local History: A Bibliography and Union List of Library Holdings
     Ref and 2 South FZ 1261 .R63 1970
California Mining Town Newspapers, 1850-1880; a Bibliography PNZ 6952 C2 G5
California News Reporter, vol. 1-4 (1971-1975) Ref F 856 .C32
California Patterns: A Geographical and Historical Atlas 2 North Atlas G 1525 .H6 1983
California Pioneer Register and Index, 1542-1848. Including Inhabitants of California,
    1769-1800, and List of Pioneers
Ref F 860 .B27
California Ranchos: Patented Private Land Grants, Listed by County
    Ref F 860 .S565 1988
Calisphere-A World of Digital Resources (Primary Resources)
     http://www.calisphere.universityofcalifornia.edu/
Early California Atlas (Northern Edition) 2 North Atlas G 1526 .S1 E3 1983
Encyclopedia of the American West, vol. 1-4 Ref F 591 .E485 1996
The Encyclopedia of California vol. 1-2 Ref F 859 .E52 1999
Encyclopedia of Frontier Biography, vol. 1-4 Ref F 596 .T515 1988
A Guide to California History Ref FZ 1261 .C67 (1951)
A Guide to the History of California Ref FZ 1261 .G85 1989
The Governors of California Ref F 860 .M5
Historical Atlas of California 2 North Atlas G 1526 .S1 B4
Historical Atlas of the American West 2 North Atlas G 1381 .S1 B4
Historical Society of Southern California  http://www.socalhistory.org/
History and Bibliography of Southern California Newspapers, 1851-1876
    PNZ 6952 C2 D3
History of California, vol. 1-4 Ref F 861 .H68
History of California, vol. 1-5 Ref F 861 .E38
A History of California Newspapers, 1846-1858 Ref PN 4897 .C2 K4 1962
Index to the 1850 Census of the State of California Ref F 860 .B6
LearnCalifornia.org/California History  http://www.learncalifornia.org/doc.asp?id=104
Online Archive of California  http://www.oac.cdlib.org/
Spanish-Mexican Families of Early California, 1769-1850 vol. 1-2 Ref F 860 .N6
Who's Who Among the Women of California Ref F 860 .W62 1922
Who's Who in California (various years)   Ref F860 W628; Ref F860 W63; Ref F860 W634
Who's Who in the West Ref F 595 .W64
  
Back to the top of the page  

SACRAMENTO

Included in this section are Sacramento County histories. The Library has county histories for most California counties. They are located in Reference F 868. These county histories are useful for finding people.

The First History of Sacramento City Ref Desk Coll F 869 .S12 M6
Historic Cosumnes and the Slough House Pioneer Cemetery 2 South 860 .R43
History of Sacramento County, California Ref F 868 .S12 H5 1960
History of Sacramento County, California Ref F 868 .S12 R4
History of Sacramento County, California Ref F 868 .S12 W73
History of the Sacramento Valley Ref & 2 South F 868 .S13 M3
History of the Sacramento Valley, California Ref F 868 .S13 W7
Illustrated History of Sacramento County Ref F 868 .S12 I4
Index to Thompson and West's 1880 History of Sacramento County, California
      Ref F 868 .S12 W8 1880 suppl
Sacramento County Cemeteries Ref F 860 .S34 1985 v.1
Sacramento County Historical Society http://www.sachistoricalsociety.org/
Sacramento Directory (Polk Directory) Lower Level F 869 .S12 A18 (1888-1982)
Sacramento History Online  http://www.sacramentohistory.org/
Sacramento Suburban Directory Lower Level F 869 .S12 A185
    (1957, 1959-1968, 1970-1978, 1980-1982)
Sacramento: Excursions into its History and Natural World Ref & 2 South F 869 .S12 H64
  
Back to the top of the page  

FINDING PEOPLE

Historians use a variety of sources when researching people. There are general sources like the Dictionary of American Biography (DAB) and various Who's Who directories as well as more specific sources such as public records, and indexes and databases for finding articles.

To locate any biographies, autobiographies, or other monographs on a specific person; use EUREKA and perform an advanced keyword search on the person's name.

GENERAL SOURCES

Biography and Genealogy Master Index Index Area CTZ 5305 .U5 B56
Biography Index (1946-current) Index Area CTZ 5301 .B5
Current Biography (1940-current) Ref CT 100 .C8
Dictionary of American Biography (DAB) Ref E 176 .D56 1957
Dictionary of American Biography. Supplement Ref E 176 .D562
Who Was Who in America, 1897-current Ref E 663 .W54
Who Was Who in America; Historical Volume, 1607-1896 Ref E 663 .W53
Who's Who in America, 1986-current Ref E 663 .W56

FINDING HISTORIANS

American Historians, 1866-1912 Ref PS 125 .D5 v.47
American Women Historians, 1700s-1990s Ref E 175.45 .S27 1996
The Blackwell Dictionary of Historians Ref D 14 .B58 1988
Encyclopedia of Historians and Historical Writing vol.1-2 Ref D 14 .E53 1999
Great Historians from Antiquity to 1800 Ref D 14 .G74 1989
Great Historians of the Modern Age Ref D 14 .G75 1991
Historians of the American Frontier Ref E 175.45 .H57 1988

CALIFORNIANS AND SACRAMENTANS

The Argonauts of California Special Collections F 865 .H35
California Pioneer Register and Index, 1542-1848. Including Inhabitants of California,
    1769-1800, and List of pioneers
Ref F 860 .B27
Encyclopedia of Frontier Biography, vol. 1-4 Ref F 596 .T515 1988
The Governors of California Ref F 860 .M5
History of Sacramento County, California Ref F 868 .S12 W73
    This title is a mug book. Additional mug books on Sacramento and other
    California counties are located in the same area.
Index to the Argonauts of California Reserve F 865 .H351
A Memorial and Biographical History of Northern California, Illustrated Ref F 866 .M51
Sacramento County Biographies
    http://freepages.genealogy.rootsweb.com/~npmelton/sacb.html
Sacramento County Cemeteries Ref F 860 .S34 1985 v.1
Sacramento Directory (Polk Directory) Lower Level F 869 .S12 A18 (1888-1982)
Sacramento Suburban Directory Lower Level F 869 .S12 A185
    (1957, 1959-1968, 1970-1978, 1980-1982)
Spanish-Mexican Families of Early California, 1769-1850 vol. 1-2 Ref F 860 .N6
A Volume of Memoirs and Genealogy of Representative Citizens of Northern California
    Ref F 860 .U66
Who's Who Among the Women of California Ref F 860 .W62 1922
Who's Who in California (various years)Ref F860 W628; Ref F860 W63; Ref F860 W634
Who's Who in the West Ref F 595 .W64
  
Back to the top of the page  

CENSUS, GOVERNMENT DOCUMENTS & PUBLIC RECORDS
Many of the materials in this catagory are considered published primary sources. They are produced by various local, state, and federal agencies and are available to the public. Some of these materials are located in the Reference Collection and others are located in the Government Documents Collection.

CENSUS


The first census of the United States was in 1790. The U.S. Census Bureau conducts a census of the population every 10 years to determine how many people live in a different areas of the country and to describe the characteristics of the population in terms of age, sex, ethnic background, marital status, income and other variables.

The Library has historical decennial censuses in paper format from 1850. Locating the paper census can be difficult. Some are cataloged and can be looked up in EUREKA by performing an ADVANCED KEYWORD search using the specific date and the word census. For example: census and 1890. One can also browse the Government Documents collection under the call number C 3.223.

Search Historical Census Browser (http://fisher.lib.virginia.edu/collections/stats/histcensus//) for historical censuses.

          Contact Ben Amata, (278-5672)Government Documents Librarian, for help
          locating census information in EUREKA or with any questions on the census.


Census Schedules are the records of who lived where when the decennial censuses were taken. There is a 72 year restriction on the release of these records. To date, the 1930 schedules are available on microfilm. A fire destroyed almost all of the 1890 records. The CSUS Library has purchased microfilm for northern California cities and counties. They are available in the Gov Docs microfiche cabinets on 2 North: Population Schedules…(of Northern California cities and counties) Gov Docs Film C 3.23

The most recent censuses are available from the U.S. Census Bureau (http://www.census.gov/.) This site also has some historical and state specific data. The CSUS Guide to the Census has additional information including suggest web sites.

These paper indexes allow one to identify the types of statistics that one will find in the historical decennial censuses and in which volumes they are contained.

Bureau of the Census Catalog of Publications, 1790-1972 Gov Docs C 3.163/3:790-972
Population Information in Nineteenth Century Census Volumes
      Ref HAZ 7164 .D3 S44 1983  (indexes censuses from 1790-1890)
Population Information in Twentieth Century Census Volumes, 1900-1940
    Ref HAZ 7164 .D3 S45 1985
Population Information in Twentieth Century Census Volumes, 1950-1980
    Ref HAZ 7164 .D3 S46 1988

GOVERNMENT DOCUMENTS


Aside from the census there are thousands of documents published by federal, state, and local agencies. CSUS Library receives many of them and they are located in the Government Documents Collection (2nd Floor North). The California State Library will have a more complete collection of government documents. Documents published by local Sacramento agencies can be found under the call numbers:

      Gov Docs CA-L S32   Sacramento City
      Gov Docs CA-L S325  Sacramento County
      Gov Docs CA-L S326   Sacramento Region

Index to Current Urban Documents (1972/73-1999/00) ref HTZ 7165 .U5 I654
People of Sacramento Archives: The History of Sacramento’s Diverse Ethnic Groups
    Gov Docs Computer CA-L S325 .E3 P5x
Urban Documents Microfiche Collection, Sacramento, CA LMC fiche #000167
    Contains documents cited in Index to Current Urban Documents.


Many statistical sources are compilations of information gathered from government documents. Some good sources for historical statistics on California/Sacramento are:

California Statistical Abstract Ref HA 261 .C3
    Latest print version is 2004. Now available online.
County and City Data Book (various years 1949-current) Ref HA 202 .A36
Guide to Public Vital Statistics Records in California, vol. 1-2 HA 38 .C2 H52
Statistical Abstract of the United States (various years 1878 - current) Ref HA 202

PUBLIC RECORDS


Early Court Records of Sacramento County, California Ref KFC 969 .S12 B3
    Indexes cases in civil and criminal courts for the years 1849-1879.
For the Record: Catalog of the Public Records, City of Sacramento 1848-1982,
     Sacramento County 1848-1982
Ref F 868 .S12 S39
Historic Cosumnes and the Slough House Pioneer Cemetery 2 South 860 .R43
Paper Trails: a Guide to Public Records in California CD 3111 .N48 1990
Placer County, California [cemeteries], vol. 1-6 Ref F 860 .P43 1984
Population Schedules…(of Northern California cities and counties) Gov Docs Film C 3.23
Marriage Affidavits, 1893-1897, Sacramento County, California Ref F 868 .S12 B39
Marriage Affidavits,1904-1906, Sacramento County, California Ref F 868 .S12 B394 1982
Rest in Peace: Early Records from Cemeteries in the City and County of Sacramento,
    California
Ref F 868 .S12 B4  Includes New Helvetia Cemetery, St. Joseph's Cemetery,
    Sacramento City Cemetery and others.
Sacramento County Cemeteries, vol. 1 Ref F 860 .S34 1985
Sacramento Bee Newspaper Index of Births, Marriages, Deaths Microfiche 218
  
Back to the top of the page  

INDEXES & DATABASES
Articles from periodicals: newspapers, popular magazines, trade journals, or scholarly journals, are found using indexes and databases. (Refer to the CSUS guide Popular Magazine or Scholarly Journal? for an explanation on the differences between these types of periodicals.)

The CSUS Library subscribes to thousands of periodicals. Some periodicals are received in paper and are located by title on 3 North. Others are received electronically or online. Depending on the subscription, access to the online subscription is made via EUREKA (search periodical title) or through a database. To determine if a specific periodical is available in a database use Locate Print or E-Journal. Use Interlibrary Loan to obtain articles that are not available at CSUS.


PRINT INDEXES

  • American History and Life (1964-1988) Lower Level EZ 1236 A48
    (also available in a database)
  • Biography and Genealogy Master Index Index Area CTZ 5305 .U5 B56
  • Biography Index(1946-current) Index Area CTZ 5301 .B5
  • California Periodicals Index (1978-1992) Index Area PNZ 6952 C3 C2
  • Index to California Historical Society Quarterly, 1922-1961 Ref F 856 C24 vol.1-40
  • Los Angeles Times Index 1986-2001 Index Area AI 21 .L65 L67
    (also available in a database)
  • The New York Times Index (1851-2000) Ref AI 21 .N44
    (available from 1980 in Lexis-Nexis database)
  • Poole's Index to Periodical Literature (1802-1906) Ref AI 3 .P7
  • Readers' Guide to Periodical Literature (1901-current) Ref AI 3 .R4
  • Sacramento Bee Historical Index 1895-1935 (microfilm) LMC
  • San Francisco Chronicle Index: 1950-1980 LMC Microfiche 010035
    (also available in a database)
  • San Francisco Newspapers Index: 1904-1959 LMC Microfiche 010034
ELECTRONIC INDEXES (DATABASES)
Unless noted otherwise; electronic indexes are restricted to CSUS students, faculty, & staff. Instructions for off-campus access are available at Off-Campus Access to Library E-Resources .

  
Back to the top of the page  

SELECTED NEWSPAPERS
CSUS Library subscribes to a number of California newspapers. Locate a specific newspaper with a Title search in Eureka. Or use the terms calif* and newspapers as an Advanced Keyword search in EUREKA to find all the California newspapers available at CSUS. Back issues of newspapers will be in microfiche or microfilm and found in the Library Media Center (LMC) on the 1st floor.

       Note: The California State Library will have a more complete collection
       of California Newspapers.

Find specific articles in newspapers using the indexes and databases listed above. The following titles may also help when researching California newspapers:
  • A History of California Newspapers, 1846-1858 Ref PN 4897 .C2 K4 1962
  • California Mining Town Newspapers, 1850-1880; a Bibliography PNZ 6952 C2 G5
Some selected California newspapers available at CSUS are:
  • The California Star (1847-1848)
  • Los Angeles Times (1968-current)
  • Marysville Daily Appeal (1861-1905)
  • The Placer Argus (various years from 1882-1987)
  • The Sacramento Bee (1857-current)
  • The Sacramento Union (1903-1991)
  • San Francisco Chronicle (1968-current)
Back to the top of the page

JOURNALS AND MAGAZINES
Periodicals dated 1980-current and received in paper are located by title on 3 North. Paper holdings prior to 1980 are found on the Lower Level. Periodicals in microfiche and microfilm are located on the 1st floor in the Library Media Center.

In addition, more journals and magazines are available online. Depending on the subscription, access to online journals is available from EUREKA or through a specific database.

Locate a specific journal or magazine with a Title search in EUREKA or in Locate Print or E-Journal. Use the indexes and databases listed above to locate articles on specific topic in journals and magazines. Some selected journals and magazines are:
  
Back to the top of the page  

SPECIAL COLLECTIONS & ARCHIVES
Located on campus is the CSUS Special Collections & University Archives. Here one can find primary sources on local and regional history. Collections include the Cambodians in California Oral History Project, Charles M. Goethe Collection, and the Japanese American Archival Collection.

The Archives is located at Library II, 1st floor, South wing - hours can be found on their website.
Back to the top of the page

SACRAMENTO ARCHIVES AND MUSEUM COLLECTION CENTER (SAAMCC)
SAMCC is the repository and research center for Sacramento City and Sacramento County historic collections. Holdings consist of the official records of the City and County government, personal manuscript collections, business records, photographs, and artifacts. They are located at 551 Sequoia Pacific Blvd and the phone number is 916-264-7072. Check their web site for hours and appointment availability.
Back to the top of the page

CALIFORNIA UNDERGROUND RAILROAD
Launched as part of the University's celebration of Black History Month 2004, The California Underground Railroad: a Digital Archive, uses high quality digital images of letters, journals, photographs, documents, newspapers and more to tell the often overlooked experiences of African-American slaves in California.

For more information about the California Underground Railroad Digital Archive, contact Joe Moore, Pres., Sacramento African American Historical and Cultural Society at (916) 278-3510
Back to the top of the page

CALIFORNIA STATE LIBRARY
Another excellent resource is the California State Library. Among its many resources is a Picture Catalog of historical prints and drawings as well as other collections in the California History Room.

The California History Room is located at 900 "N" Street, Room 200, Sacramento, CA 95814. Contact the California History Room at (916) 654-0176 or email at cslcal@library.ca.gov

Back to the top of the page

WEB SITES - GENERAL SOURCES
Many of these sites include primary sources and links to additional web sites.

American Memory  http://memory.loc.gov/ammem/amhome.html
American Women's History/Asian-American Women
    http://www.mtsu.edu/~kmiddlet/history/women/wh-asian.html
History of the San Joaquin Delta  http://www.sacdelta.com/hist.html
History Matters  http://historymatters.gmu.edu/
The History Net  http://www.thehistorynet.com/
National Archives and Records Administration  http://www.archives.gov/facilities/index.html
National Union Catalog of Manuscript Collections http://www.loc.gov/coll/nucmc/rlinsearch.html
Online Archive of California http://www.oac.cdlib.org/
  
Back to the top of the page  
Back to the top of the page
Go to CSUS Library Home Page

Questions/comments to:  Linda Goff, Instruction and California History Librarian; ljgoff@csus.edu, CSU, Sacramento
or Debbie Rogenmoser, Reference Librarian; drogenmoser@csus.edu, CSU Sacramento
dr 2/04: Last updated 2/08