Architecture
Library Logo

Art: Architecture

by Alicia Patrice and Debbie Rogenmoser

Contents:

Books - EUREKA
General
Biographies
Buildings/Structures
Sustainable Architecture
For the Professional
Regions/Areas
   Americas
   Europe
   Asia
   Africa
Databases
Related CSUS Research Guides
Return to Library Homepage

BOOKS - EUREKA

When consulting
EUREKA to locate books, the subject headings listed below can be searched, along with other terms listed in the Library of Congress Subject Headings. EUREKA can be searched by author, title, word, and subject(s). The call number ranges shown at left can also be used for browsing the Library shelves.
NA 190-1555.5
NA 2695-2793
NA 4170-7020
NA 7100-7884
Architecture History
Architectural Drawing and Design
Public Buildings
Domestic Buildings; Houses; Dwellings

Back to the top of the page


GENERAL

ADA Accessibility Guidelines for Buildings and Facilities
     http://www.access-board.gov/adaag/html/adaag.htm
Architecture Glossary
     http://architecture.about.com/library/bl-glossary.htm?once=true&
Art & Architecture Thesaurus Sourcebook  Ref Z 695.1 .A7 A763 1996
Dictionary of Architecture & Construction   Ref NA 31 .H32 2000
Encyclopedia of Architecture: Design, Engineering & Construction  Ref NA 31 .E59 1988 vol 1-5
Encyclopedia of 20th Century Architecture, vol 1-3   Ref NA 680 .E495 2004
Encyclopaedia of World Architecture  Ref NA 202 .S76 1977 vol 1-2
Historic Architecture Aourcebook  Ref NA 31 .H56
The Penguin Dictionary of Architecture  Ref NA 31 .F55 1991
World Architecture Index: a Guide to Illustrations  Ref NA 202 .T4 1991
The World Atlas of Architecture  Ref NA 200 .W62 1988
Yahoo Directory/Architecture
     http://dir.yahoo.com/Arts/Design_Arts/Architecture/

Back to the top of the page


BIOGRAPHIES

Brief Biographies of American Architects
      http://www.sah.org/index.php?src=gendocs&ref=BiographiesArchitects&category=Resources
Contemporary American Architects  Ref NA 712 .J63 1993 vol 1-4
Contemporary Architects  Ref NA 40 .C625 1994
Contemporary European Architects  NA 958 .A48 1991
Edwardian Architecture: a Biographical Dictionary  Ref NA 968.5 .E38 G7 1986
The Illustrated Encyclopedia of Architects and Architecture .
     Ref NA 40 .I45 1991
International Archive of Women in Architecture
     http://lumiere.lib.vt.edu/iawa_db/
Who's Who in Architecture: from 1400 to the Present Day.  Ref NA 40 .W48
A Dictionary of Architecture and Building: Biographical, Historical,
     and Descriptive, vol 1-3
.  Ref NA 31 .S84 1966
Great Buildings Online/Architects
     http://www.greatbuildings.com/architects.html
Notable Architects
     http://www.infoplease.com/biography/architects.html

Back to the top of the page


BUILDINGS / STRUCTURES

Abacus Construction Index  http://www.construction-index.com/
     http://www.construction-index.com/
ArchInform/International Architecture Database
     http://eng.archinform.net/index.htm?scrwdt=1024
Built in America (LOC)
     http://memory.loc.gov/ammem/collections/habs_haer/
Cities and Buildings Database
     http://content-dev.lib.washington.edu/buildingsweb/index.html
A Dictionary of Architecture and Building: Biographical, Historical, and
     Descriptive, vol 1-3
.  Ref NA 31 .S84 1966
Dictionary of Building Preservation  Ref NA 31 .D55 1996
Exploring Image Collections on the Internet
     http://libraries.mit.edu/rvc/image-collections/
The Gothic Cathedral: the Architecture of the Great Church, 1130-1530, with
     220 Illustrations
 NA 5453 .W55 1990
Great Buildings Online
     http://www.greatbuildings.com/buildings.html
The Illustrated Encyclopedia of Architects and Architecture
     Ref NA 40 .I45 1991
National Register of Historic Places  http://www.cr.nps.gov/nr/
Structures  http://en.structurae.de/structures/index.cfm
THIAS.IT 40 Centuries of Architecture
    http://www.thais.it/architettura/default_uk.htm

Back to the top of the page


SUSTAINABLE ARCHITECTURE

Builders Without Borders
     http://www.builderswithoutborders.org/
California Institute of Earth Art and Architecture
     http://www.calearth.org/
California Straw Building Association
     http://www.strawbuilding.org/
A Handbook on Low-Energy Buildings and District-Energy Systems: Fundamentals, Techniques
     and Examples
  Ref TJ 163.5 .B84 H364 2006
The HOK Guidebook to Sustainable Design  Ref NA 2542.36 .M46 2006
Sustainable Architecture, Building and Culture  http://www.sustainableabc.com/
US Green Building Council  http://www.usgbc.org/
Sustainable Building Resource Directory  http://www.sbrd.org/
Yahoo Directory/ Sustainable Architecture
     http://dir.yahoo.com/Society_and_Culture/Environment_and_Nature/Sustainable_Development/Architecture/

Back to the top of the page


FOR THE PROFESSIONAL

ADA Accessibility Guidelines for Buildings and Facilities
     http://www.access-board.gov/adaag/html/adaag.htm
E-Architect  http://www.e-architect.com/
American Institute of Architects  http://www.aia.org/
The Pritzker Architecture Prize
     http://www.pritzkerprize.com/full_new_site/
Society of American Registered Architects (SARA)
    http://www.sara-national.org/
Society of Architecural Historians  http://www.upenn.edu/sah/

Back to the top of the page


REGIONS / AREAS

Encyclopaedia of World architecture  Ref NA 202 .S76 1977 vol 1-2
Traditions in Architecture: Africa, America, Asia, and Oceania  NA 208 .C76 2001
World Architecture Index: a Guide to Illustrations  Ref NA 202 .T4 1991
The World Atlas of Architecture  Ref NA 200 .W62 1988

(see also
Buildings/Structures section)

Back to the top of the page


DATABASES

Electronic indexes and databases are available to all on the Library research stations. Unless noted otherwise; access to databases and indexes from campus computer labs or off-campus computers is restricted to CSUS students, faculty, and staff. Instructions for off-campus access are available at
Off-Campus Access to Library E-Resources

Art Full Text
Grove Dictionary of Art
Project MUSE
JSTOR
Academic Search Premier (Ebsco)
Lexis-Nexis: Academic Universe
America: History and Life
Historical Abstracts

Back to the top of the page


RELATED CSUS RESEARCH GUIDES

Design: Selected Resources for Graphic Design, Interior Design, & Photography
Construction Managemant Books

Back to the top of the page
Go to Library Homepage


Questions/comments to: Alicia Patrice, Art and Music Librarian, CSU, Sacramento CA
email:alicias@csus.edu    Last updated 2/08