PERIODICAL DATABASES AND INDEXES
Women's Studies crosses many disciplines.
GenderWatch is a full-text database of articles in publications that focus on the impact of
gender across a broad spectrum of subject areas. America History and
Life is a good database for women's history; Social Sciences Full Text
contains several women's studies journals in the ares of sociology and psychology.
You can also begin your search using
EbscoHost Academic Search Premier.
Project Muse is a good source for journals in the
humanities and includes Journal of Women's History and Hypatia.
The Left Index and Alt-Press Watch are good sources for underground and alternative literature.
Prospector, the Library's new portal at http://prospector.csus.edu lists all electronic databases that the Library subscribes to in either alphabetical order or by subject categories. To find the best electronic databases and research guides for women's studies, go to the Prospector page. Under "Find Resource" in the "Browse by Subject Category" use the drop down box to find "Social Sciences" and then select "Gender Studies". A list of resources will display.
Click here for how to set up your computer for access from home.
Below are additional public web databases you can search online for citations
and abstracts to articles published in women's studies journals.
Women's studies database at the University of Maryland.
Includes full text of papers, articles and documents, links to women's studies websites, syllabi,
film and book reviews, gallery of portraits and more.
Women in American history.
By the editors of Encyclopedia Britannica. This free website provides an
overview and introduction to women's history in America. Includes timelines, articles,
media, study guides and links to other resources.
ViVa: a bibliography of women's history in historical and
women's studies journals. http://www.iisg.nl/~womhist/vivahome.php.
Published by the International Institute of Social History. Indexes
articles in over 100 scholarly journals in history and women's studies published
1975 to present. Currently does not allow for subject searching, but does
allow title and author searching as well as browsing by date of publication.
*Black American Feminisms: a multidisciplinary bibliography.
A multidisciplinary bibliography compiled by Sherri Barnes, Librarian at
University of California, Santa Barbara.
Women in politics bibliographic database.
Created by the Inter-Parliametnary Union in cooperation with the UN Development
Programme. Contains citations for 650 books, book articles, periodical articles,
organizational and government documents.
Diotima: materials for the study
of women and gender in the ancient world.
CLICK ON CALL NUMBER
FOR CATALOG RECORD AND CIRCULATION STATUS
CLICK ON UNDERLINED BOOK TITLE
FOR PUBLISHER'S DESCRIPTION
*ASTERISKED ITEMS INDICATE NEW RESOURCES FOR FALL 2006
American Woman 2003-2004.
HQ 1421 .A476 2003
Women's almanac 2002. Ref HQ 1111 .W73 2002
indicators on women and men http:/unstats.un.org/unsd/demographic/products/indwm/
The status of women in the states : politics, economics, health,
demographics. Ref HQ 1410 .I57 2002
*Women's review of books via Infotrac
Interdisciplinary information seeking in women's studies.
HQ 1180 .W47 1999
Reader's guide to women's studies. Ref HQZ 1180 .R43 1998
Women's studies encyclopedia. Ref HQ 1115 .W645 1999 and
HQ 1115 .W645 1989
Routledge international encyclopedia of women : global women's issues and knowledge.
Ref HQ 1115 .R69 2000
Feminism: a reference handbook. Ref HQ 1410 .H365 1998
Introducing women's studies : feminist theory and practice.
HQ 1154 .I67 1997
Women's issues. Ref HQ 1115 .W6425 1997
Women's work: a survey of scholarship by and about women.
HQ 1206 .W884 1998
Women in world history : a biographical encyclopedia. Ref HQ 1115 .W6 1999
Who's who of American women. Ref CT 3260 .W5
International who's who of women. Ref CT 3202 .I58
Notable women in American history : a guide to recommended biographies
and autobiographies. Ref CTZ 7963 .B6 A27 1999
National Women's Hall of Fame. http://www.greatwomen.org
Contains biographies and portraits.
*Women of our time. http://www.npg.si.edu/cexh/woot/index.htm
Twentieth-century photographs from the National Portrait Gallery
Who's who in California: a biographical dictionary. Ref F 860 .W63
Nobel prize women of science. Ref Q 141 .M358 1998b and
Q141 .B42 1993
American women in technology: an encyclopedia. Ref T 36 .Z54 2000
Biographical dictionary of women economists. Ref HB 76 .B535 2000
Significant contemporary american feminists: a biographical
sourcebook. Ref HQ 1412 .S56 1999
Great lives from history. American women series. Ref HQ 1412 .G74 1995
50 most influential women in American law. Ref KF 353 .B47 1996
Facts on File encyclopedia of black women in America. Ref E 185.96 .F2 1997
Notable hispanic american women. Ref E 184 .S75 W68 1993
Notable women of China : Shang dynasty to the early twentieth century.
Ref HQ 1767.5 .A3 N68 2000
A to Z of native american women. Ref E98 .W8 S65 1998
Biographical dictionary of ancient Greek and Roman women : notable women
from Sappho to Helena. Ref HQ 1136 .L54 2000.
WOMENS STUDIES AS AN ACADEMIC PROGRAM
Women's studies on its own: a next wave reader in institutional change.
HQ 1180 .W6876 2002
The politics of women's studies : testimony from thirty founding mothers.
HQ 1181 .U5 P65 2000
Transforming women's education : the history of women's studies in the University
of Wisconsin System : a collaborative project of the University of Wisconsin
System Women's Studies Consortium. HQ 1181 .U5 T77 1999
Women's studies in transition : the pursuit of interdisciplinarity.
HQ 1180 .W679 1998
When women ask the questions : creating women's studies in America.
HQ 1181 .U5 B69 1998
Encyclopedia of feminist theories. Ref HQ 1190 .E63 2000
Routledge critical dictionary of feminism and postfeminism. Ref HQ 1115 .R68 2000
Glossary of feminist theory. Ref HQ 1190 .A53 1997
Feminist theory reader: local and global perspectives.
HQ 1190 .F46346 2003
Theorizing backlash: philosophical reflections on the resistance
HQ 1154 .T473 2002
Feminist philosophies : problems, theories, and applications.
HQ 1190 .F463 1999
Black feminist reader : the basic historical writings.
PS 153 .N5 B5536 2000
Chicana feminist thought : the basic historical writings.
HQ 1421 .C52 1997
This bridge we call home: radical visions for transformation.
PS 509 .L47 T48 2002
Radical feminism : a documentary reader.
HQ 1426 .R325 2000
Radical women manifesto : socialist feminist theory, program and organizational
HQ 1426 .R327 2001
French feminism reader.
HQ 1617 .F747 2000
Beyond French feminisms: debates on women, politics, and culture
in France, 1980-2001.
HQ 1613 .B44 2003
Companion to feminist philosophy.
HQ 1190 .C665 1998
Ecofeminism : women, culture, nature.
HQ 1233 .E23 1997 and Electronic Book
Elgar companion to feminist economics. Ref HQ 1381 .E44 1999
Oxford Readings in Feminism Click on the title to browse specific titles in the series and obtain
call number and status.
Greenwood encyclopedia of women's issues worldwide. Ref HQ 1726 .G74 2003
Routledge international encyclopedia of women : global women's issues
and knowledge. Ref HQ 1115 .R69 2000
Chronology of women worldwide : people, places & events that shaped
women's history. Ref HQ 1121 .C617 1997
International encyclopedia of women's suffrage. Ref JF 851 .H28 2000
*Women in Iran from 1800 to the Islamic Republic.
HQ 1735.2 .W655 2004
*Women in Iran from the rise of Islam to 1800.
TSAK HQ 1735.2 .W656 2003
*Opening the gates: an anthology of Arab feminist writing. HQ 1784 .O64 2004
Global critical race feminism: an international reader.
K 644 .G59 2000
Feminism and antiracism : international struggles for justice.
HQ 1190 .F4189 2001
Thinking differently: a reader in European women's studies.
HQ 1587 .T47 2002
National Council for Research on Women.
United Nations' WomenWatch: the UN
internet gateway on the advancement
and empowerment of women. http://www.un.org/womenwatch/
Women in the third world : an encyclopedia of contemporary issues.
Ref HQ 1870.9 .W6548 1998
*Imagining ourselves: global voices from a new generation of women.
HQ 1155 .I63 2006
International Museum of Women's companion website
Global feminisms since 1945.
HQ 1154 .G56 2000
HQ 1236 .F4463 1997
World Bank Gender and Development News and Resources
Women's Edge Coalition: the leading non-partisan organization shaping
U.S. policy to benefit poor women worldwide. http://www.womensedge.org
Bretton Woods Project: critical voices on the World Bank and IMF.
Bank Information Center. BIC is an independent, non-profit, non-governmental
organization that advocates for the protection of rights, participation, transparency,
and public accountability in the governance and operations of the World Bank, regional
development banks, and IMF. http://www.bicusa.org/en/index.aspx
Joyous greetings : the first international women's movement, 1830-1860.
HQ 1154 .A6856 2000
International encyclopedia of women's suffrage. Ref JF 851 .H28 2000
The women's liberation movement in America.
HQ 1421 .B47 1999
Women's movement: references and resources. Ref HQZ 7963 .S9 R93 1996
A history of women in the United States. Ref HQ 1410 .H58 2004
Encyclopedia of women in the American West. Ref HQ 1438 .W45 E53 2003
The reader's companion to U.S. women's history. Ref HQ 1410 .R43 1998.
Milestones : a chronology of American women's history. Ref HQ 1410 .W434 1997
American women's history: a research guide.
An excellent bibliography of print and online resources.
*American women through time.
Links specific events through time with relevant online sources.
The encyclopedia of women's history in America. Ref HQ 1410 .C85 2000 and
HQ 1410 .C85 1996
Handbook of American women's history. Ref HQ 1410 .H36 2000 and
HQ 1410 .H36 1990
Women in U.S. history: a resource guide. Ref HQZ 7964 .U49 H364 2000.
Discovering women's history: a practical guide to researching the lives of
women since 1800.
HQ 1121 .B37 1998
Working Americans 1880-2005: Women at work. Ref HD 8066 .W63 2000 v. 6
Black women in America: an historical encyclopedia. Ref E 185.86 .B542 1993
Unequal sisters: a multicultural reader in U.S. women's history.
HQ 1410 .U54 2000
HQ 1410 .U54 1994
Not for ourselves alone. http://www.pbs.org/stantonanthony.
PBS multimedia site based on the film. Requires Flash plug-in.
Women's rights in the United States: a documentary history.
HQ 1236.5 U6 W68 1994
Selected papers of Elizabeth Cady Stanton and Susan B. Anthony.
HQ 1410 .A2525 1997
Selected papers of Margaret Sanger.
HQ 764 .S3 A25 2003
Selected papers of Jane Addams.
HV 40.32 .A33 S45 2003
women's history: a research guide Digital Collections of Primary Sources
*Ghosts of the Second Wave http://www.lindagriffith.com/projects.html. The online exhibit by Linda Griffith documents the historic gathering of over 20,000 women (including Bella Abzug, Margaret Mead, Barbara Jordan, Kate Millett, Betty Friedan, Ivy Botini, Ladybird Johnson, Betty Ford, Rosalyn Carter, etc) in November of 1977 in Houston, Texas, wherein the National Plan of Action was ratified. Among the resolutions were those affirming reproductive freedom and protection from discrimination based on sexual or affectional preference. Includes text and commentary of The Plan.
women online archival collections http://scriptorium.lib.duke.edu/collections/african-american-women.html
Civil War Women
Women of Protest: Photographs from the Records of the National Woman's Party
*Women working, 1800-1930
http://ocp.hul.harvard.edu/ww An on-line collection of Harvard University Library's Open Collections Program
American Memory http://memory.loc.gov/
A gateway to primary source materials from the Library of Congress. One can search for topics
on women throughout all the collections or a specific collection such as Woman Suffrage ~ Books and Pamphlets ~ 1848-1921
Women public speakers in the United States, 1800-1925 : a bio-critical sourcebook.
Ref HQ 1412 .W67 1993
Women public speakers in the United States, 1925-1993 : a bio-critical sourcebook.
Ref HQ 1412 .W68 1994
California women speak : speeches of California women in public office.
HQ 1391 .U5 C35 1994
LEGAL STATUS, RIGHTS
Women's rights : a global view.
HQ 1236 .W6527 2001
HQ 1236.5 .U6 S77 2003
Human Rights Watch global report on women's human rights.
HQ 1236 .H87 1995
Women at the margins: neglect, punishment, and resistance.
HQ 1421 .W6528 2002
Social and legal status of women.
HQ 1421 .H39 1990
Supreme Court decisions and women's rights : milestones to equality.
KF 4758 .A7 S87 2001
Women's rights on trial : 101 historic trials from Anne Hutchinson to the
Virginia Military Institute cadets.
KF 220 .F76 1997
Historical and multicultural encyclopedia of women's reproductive rights in the
United States. Ref HQ 766.5 .U5 H57 2002
Feminist legal theory: an anti-essentialist reader.
K 349 .F458 2003
Legal response to violence against women.
KF 9304 .L44 1997
Law of her own : the reasonable woman as a measure of man.
KF 9325 .F67 2000
Women and the American legal order.
KF 478 .A5 W62 1997
Legal guide for lesbian and gay couples. Ref KF 539 .L44 2002
Lesbians, gay men, and the law.
KF 4754.5 .A7 L48 1993
Rights of lesbians and gay men
KF 4754.5 Z9 R54 1992
ABC of women workers' rights and gender equality.
K 41772 .A72 2000
Sexual harassment on the job. Ref KF 3467 .Z9 P47 1998
Sexual harassment: issues and answers.
HQ 1237.5 .U6 S485 2001
Title IX: 25 years of progress http://purl.access.gpo.gov/GPO/LPS12198
Planned Parenthood Affiliates of California (PPAC)
Tracks legislation and voting records, provides bill fact sheets
and news releases.
Historical dictionary of the lesbian liberation movement. Ref HQ 76.5 .M94 2003
International encyclopedia of sexuality. Ref HQ 21 .I68 1997
Good sex : feminist perspectives from the world's religions.
BL 458 .G647 2001
Reader's guide to lesbian and gay studies. Ref HQ 75.15 .R42 2000
Lesbian histories and cultures : an encyclopedia. Ref HQ 75.5 .L4395 2000
Completely queer: the gay and lesbian encyclopedia. Ref HQ75 .h63 1998
Fearless : the complete personal safety guide for women. GV 111.5 .D36 2000
Are you a target? : a guide to self-protection and personal safety. HV 6558 .F44 1988
Chuck Gross's women's self defense course. Video 001509
Real knockouts : the physical feminism of women's self-defense. GV 1111.5 .M38 1997
Encyclopedia of American women and religion.Ref BL 2525 .B45 1998
Encyclopedia of women and world religion. Ref BL 458 .E53 1999
Women in scripture : a dictionary of named and unnamed women in the Hebrew Bible,
the Apocryphal/Deuterocanonical books, and the New Testament. Ref BS 575 .W593 2000
Cassell's encyclopedia of queer myth, symbol, and spirit : gay, lesbian, bisexual,
and transgender lore. Ref BL 795 .H6 C65 1997
What men owe to women : men's voices from world religions. BL 458 .W47 2001
Encyclopedia of women and crime. Ref HV 6046 .E56 2000
Rape in America: a reference handbook. HV 6561.H337 1995
Handbook on women and aging. HQ 1059.5 .U5 H36 1997
*The new Harvard guide to women's health. Ref RA 778 .C2164 2004
Our bodies, ourselves. Ref RA 778 .N49 1998 and older editions at RA 778 .N67
National Women's Health Information Center. Sponsored by the Office on Women's Health,
U.S. Dept. of Health and Human Services. http://www.4woman.gov/
Politics of women's bodies: sexuality, appearance, & behavior.
HQ 1206 .P56 2003
Fasting girls: the history of anorexia nervosa.
RC 552 .A5 B784 2000
Womens Sports Foundation. http://www.womenssportsfoundation.org
Guerrilla Girls' bedside companion to the history of western art. N 8354 .G84 1998
Feminisms art theory: an anthology 1968-2000.
N 72 .F45 F442 2001
Price of motherhood: why the most important job in the world is
still the least valued.
HQ 759 .C924 2001
Mothering: ideology, experience, and agency.
HQ 759 .M883 1994
Motherhood: meanings, practices, and ideologies.
HQ 759 .M8743 1991
Mommy queerest: contemporary rhetorics of lesbian maternal identity.
HQ 75.53 .T49 2002
In praise of black women. HQ 1123 .S37913 2001
Women filmmakers and their films. Ref PN 1998.2 .W66 1998
Historical dictionary of women's education in the United States. Ref LC 1752 .H57 1998