CSUS Library Logo CALIFORNIA STATE UNIVERSITY,
THE LIBRARY

Art Education:  Selected References
Compiled by Susan Beelick, Revised by Alicia Patrice



EUREKA (COMPUTER CATALOG)

EUREKA lists books and media materials by author, title and subject. The Library of Congress Subject Headings, a five-volume set located on 2 NORTH near the Reference Desk, is the standardized list of terms used as subject headings in EUREKA.

Sample Subject Headings:

ART-STUDY AND TEACHING ETCHING-TECHNIQUE
ART-STUDY AND TEACHING (ELEMENTARY) PAINTING-STUDY AND TEACHING
ART-STUDY AND TEACHING (PRESCHOOL) PAINTING-TECHNIQUE
ART-STUDY AND TEACHING (PRIMARY) POTTERY
ART-STUDY AND TEACHING (SECONDARY) PRINTS-TECHNIQUE
DRAWING-STUDY AND TEACHING SCULPTURE-TECHNIQUE
DRAWING -TECHNIQUE WATERCOLOR PAINTING-TECHNIQUE 
BIBLIOGRAPHIES AND HANDBOOKS

Art Teacher's Book of Lists.  3 NORTH N 7438 .H86 1998
The Art Teacher's Desktop Reference.  3 NORTH N 353 .P25 1994
Bibliographic Index.  1937-Current.  2 NORTH Index Area Z 1002 .B594
Children's Books about Art:  An Annotated Bibliography with Classroom Activities. 
     2 NORTH Reference NZ 5935.5 .I58 1992
Exemplary Art Education Curricula:  A Guide to Guides.  
     3 NORTH N 85 .N374 1994
Learning In and Through Art:  A Guide to Discipline-Based Art Education. 
     3 NORTH N 105 .D64 1998
Literature for the Visual and Performing Arts:  Kindergarten Thru Grade Twelve.
    
1996.  2 SOUTH Curriculum Guide Art 0062
Visual Arts Teacher Resource Handbook.  3 NORTH N 353 .V59 1993


CONTEMPORARY RESOURCES

Celebrating Pluralism:  Art, Education, and Cultural Diversity. 
    
3 NORTH N 362 .C43 1996
Contemporary Art and Multicultural Education.  3 NORTH N 353 .C66 1996
Creating Meaning through Art.  3 NORTH N 88.3 .C74 1998
Curriculum, Culture, and Art Education:  Comparative Perspectives. 
     3 NORTH N 85 .C87 1998
Excellence II:  The Continuing Quest in Art Education. 3 NORTH N 353 .S652 1995
History, Theory, and Practice of Art Criticism in Art Education. 
    
3 NORTH N 7476 .C76 1990
John Dewey and the Lessons of Art.  2 SOUTH B 945 .D4 J33 1998
Philosphy of Art Education.  3 NORTH N 84 .F46 1996
Preservice Art Education:  Issues and Practice.  3 NORTH LB 1715 .P74 1995
Quiet Evolution:  Changing the Face of Arts Education.  3 NORTH N 108 .W55 1997
Research Methods and Methodologies for Art Education.  3 NORTH N 85 .R48 1997
Teaching Art:  Academies and Schools from Vasari to Albers.  
    
3 NORTH N 85 .G62 1996


SOME WEB RESOURCES FOR ART EDUCATION

ArtSource.  http://www.ilpi.com/artsource/welcome.html
Fine Art Forum.  http://www.msstate.edu/Fineart_Online/art-resources
From the Getty.  http://www.artsednet.getty.edu
INFOMINE:  Scholarly Internet Resources Collections.  http://infomine.ucr.edu/
Leads to Many Sites on Many Subjects.  http://sunsite.berkeley.edu/InternetIndex


CSUS LIBRARY ART EDUCATION PERIODICALS AND INDEXES
     (All periodicals from 1980 are located on 3 South)*


American Craft.  v. 39  (1979)-Current
American Journal of Art Therapy.  v. 9  (1969)-v. 34 (1996)
Applied Science and Technology Index (formerly Industrial Arts Index).  
    
1958-Current.  LOWER LEVEL Index Area TZ 7913 .I7
Art Bulletin (College Art Association).  v. 2 (1919)-Current
Art Education (National Art Education Association).  v. 24 (1971)-Current
Art in America.  v. 1  (1913)-Current
Art Index.  1929-Current.  2 NORTH Index Area NZ 5937 .A78
Art News.  v. 34  (1936)-Current
Art Therapy.  v. 5  (1988)-Current
Artforum.  v. 1  (1962)-Current
Arts and Activities.  v. 38  (1955)-Current
Arts Education Policy Review.  v. 94  (1992)-v. 96  (1994)
Crafts 'n Things.  v.11  (1986)-v. 20  (1994)
EBSCOhost.  (EUREKA database)
Education Index.  1929-1999.  2 NORTH Index Area L 3 .E42
ERIC.  (EUREKA database)
Humanities Index.  1974-1999.  2 NORTH Index Area AI 3 .R492
Index to How to Do It Information.  1964-Current.  2 NORTH Reference TTZ 7913 .L3
Journal of Aesthetic Education.  v. 1  (1966)-v. 28 (1994)
Journal of Aesthetics and Art Criticism.  v. 1  (1941)-Current
Perceptual and Motor Skills.  v. 3  (1952)-Current
Readers' Guide to Periodical Literature.  1901-Current.  
     2 NORTH Index Area AI 3 .R4
School Arts.  v. 29  (1929)-Current
Studies in Art Education (National Art Education Association).  v. 9  (1967)-Current

*The periodical holdings statements have been abbreviated. See EUREKA for exact holdings.


CURRICULUM MATERIAL

The Curriculum Collection (2 SOUTH) contains textbooks (K-12), juvenile books through young adult, non-print materials and curriculum guides. CSUS Library is the depository for curriculum materials collected at the annual conference of the Association for Supervision and Curriculum Development (ASCD). 


MEDIA

The Library Media Center (1 SOUTH) has videos specifically for art education:

Interacting with Art.  1988.  4 cassettes & guide.  30 minutes each.  (VHS)  Video 1804
The Role of Art in General Education.  1987.  30 minutes.  (1/2 in.)  (VHS) Video 2482

In addition there are numerous videos for art and craft techniques and in art history. Media materials are indexed in EUREKA.


ILLUSTRATIONS

A variety of mounted art reproductions, arranged by nationality of artist, are available for classroom use. In addition there are study prints, pictures and posters. They are filed in picture files in the Curriculum area (2 SOUTH).

An extensive Slide Collection of paintings, drawings, ceramics, architecture, and other art work is indexed in EUREKA and located in the Library Media Center.

Illustrations and art reproductions can be located by using the following sources:

Art Index.  1929-Current.  2 NORTH Index Area NZ 5937 .A78
Haddad's Fine Arts.  7th ed.  2 NORTH Reference N 4035 .H32 1994 & Suppl.
Illustration Index.  1957-Current.  2 NORTH Reference N 7525 .A66
New York Graphic Society Fine Art Reproductions.  
     2 NORTH Reference N 4035 .N48 1994
World Painting Index.  1977-Current.  2 NORTH Reference ND 45 .H38 v. 1-2 & Suppls.


Return to Top of Page

Return to CSUS Library Databases & Periodical Indexes

Send questions, comments or suggestions to: Alicia Patrice mailto:alicias@csus.edu

Copyright@2001 Susan Beelick - California State University, Sacramento

Updated:
Monday, January 11, 2002 1:49:50

html by Lynn O'Farrell