-
United Nations Framework Convention on
Climate Change
http://unfccc.int/2860.php
Be sure to look at the "Essential Background" link which houses many important documents
including the Kyoto Protocol, the participant's and signers.
- Global Warming & Climate Change, http://www.loc.gov/rr/scitech/tracer-bullets/globalwarmingtb.html
From the Library of Congress, Science Reference Services. Great links and well organized. What else would you expect from Librarians?
- Global Climate Change, U.S. Dept. of State
http://www.state.gov/g/oes/climate/
- EPA's Global Warming Site
http://epa.gov/climatechange/index.html
Good starting point for research, with basic explanation and many links.
- U.S. Climate Action Report, The
United States of America's Third National Communication Under the United
Nations Framework Convention on Climate Change http://www.state.gov/g/oes/rls/rpts/car/
-
Global Climate Change, reports of the Congressional Research
Service
Searchable database from the CRS.
Includes background analysis, international actions and more.
- Carbon Dioxide Information Analysis Center, http://cdiac.ornl.gov/
Analysis center for the U.S. Dept. of Energy for climate change data.
- Climate Change: The Threat to Life and A New Energy Future – Exhibition from the American Museum of Natural History explores the science, history, and impact of climate change, and illuminates ways in which individuals, communities and nations can reduce their carbon footprints.
- Cooperative Programme on Water and Climate
http://www.waterandclimate.org/home.asp According to their mission statement, the dialogue is a "platform
through which policymakers and water resources managers have better access
to, and make better use of, information generated by climatologists and
meteorologists. Member institutions include the IPCC, FAO, IUCN, International Water
Assoc., Third World Water Forum and the World Water Council. Many reports available under the publications link.
- Water and Climate Bibliography,
http://www.pacinst.org/topics/global_change/water_bibliography/
A searchable database of scientific literature maintained by the
Pacific Institute pertaining to climate change
and freshwater resources worldwide. Currently more than 3000 entries. Find
relevant citations here and then use the Journal Title List or EUREKA to
access the articles.
- Coral Bleaching and Global Climate Change from the CRC Reef Research Centre Ltd http://www.science.org.au/nova/076/076key.htm
From the Australian Academy of Science,
this site aimed toward secondary teachers, has provided clear explanation
of the issue along with a bibliography, links to activities, and web
sites.
- Global Warming: Early Warning Signs
http://www.climatehotmap.org/index.html
Uses a map to show effects of global warming. A good place to get
topics for papers.
- Climate Change Science:
An Analysis of Some Key Questions (2001)
http://books.nap.edu/books/0309075742/html/ or 4 North QC 981.8 .C5 C55 2001
From the National Academies (of Science, Engineering and Medicine), Commission on Geosciences, Environment and
Resources (CGER)
- The Science of Ozone Depletion
http://www.epa.gov/ozone/science/
From the EPA, this site has great background information and many
links to scientific sites.
- EarthTrends: the Environmental Information Portal
http://earthtrends.wri.org/
Contains several useful features, notably a searchable database, data
tables and country profiles. Be sure to look at the "Climate and
Atmosphere" section. The site is maintained by the World Resources
Institute, with data from many organizations (listed under data
providers).
- CSEIN
The Center for International Earth Science Information Network (CIESIN) was established in 1989 as an independent non-governmental organization to provide information that would help scientists, decision-makers, and the public better understand the changing relationship between human beings and the environment. Browse by subject for data, applications, and information on climate change.
-
The Carbon Cycle, Woods Hole
Research Center
http://www.whrc.org/science/carbon/carbon.htm
Brief explanation along with graphics and links on
how the carbon cycle works.
- Guide
to Resources & Research in Geology/Earth Sciences for CSUS
students.
http://library.csus.edu/guides/metzgerd/geology/webpage13.htm#climate
Look for Climate Links and explanation to sites for weather data, mostly from NOAA.
- US Climate Change Science Program, http://www.globalchange.gov/
Has current US assessment plans.
-
RealClimate.Org
http://www.realclimate.org
A serious blog written by scientists.
- Global Climate Change (University of Buffalo Libraries), by Fred Stoss
- http://library.buffalo.edu/libraries/asl/guides/environment/ecochange.html
A well-organized set of links, some repeated above others new.
- American Museum of Natural History
|
|
Acronyms,
Abbreviations & Organizations
Global Change Master Directory List of
Earth Science Acronyms, Glossaries and Gazetteers/NASA
http://gcmd.gsfc.nasa.gov/Resources/FAQs/acronyms.html
If you aren't sure where to begin, try the Carbon Dioxide Information
Analysis Center link.
CIESIN, Center for International Earth
Science Information Network,http://www.ciesin.columbia.edu/
UNEP, United Nations
Environmental Program http://www.unep.org WMO,
World Meterological Organization http://www.wmo.ch/index-en.html
IPCC, Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change http://www.ipcc.ch/
NOAA, National Oceanic & Atmospheric Administration, www.noaa.gov
|