|EUREKA (COMPUTER CATALOG http://eureka.lib.csus.edu/
Library of Congress (LC) call number areas for browsing materials
related to Physical Geography
Geology of geographic areas
meteorites and tektites)
Dynamic and structural
RELATED EARTH SCIENCES|
Hydrology, water-snow-ice, natural
Engineering geology, rock
and soil mechanics
and mineral industries (general)
Economic geology, mining, ore
E12/2001 (in 5 volumes)
Geologic Atlas of California.
2 North Ref Desk Coll /QE/89/C3
Issued by the California Division of Mines and Geology. Consists of
27 colored map sheets showing the regional distribution and
inter-relationships of the various rock units and major geologic
structures present in California. Each of the 27 individual map sheets
may be purchased separately from the Division. A state map unit
(formations) map sheet cross index is provided. Reference is made to the
appropriate USGS topographic maps covering each of the 27 major map
California Water Atlas.
2 North Ref Desk Coll/G/1526/C3/C3/1979
Large, beautifully illustrated color atlas treating every aspect of
water supply, delivery and use in California: the nature of the water
environment; the changes people have made in that environment; the
history of water development; artificial water systems; water pricing
and consumption; industrial-recreation-energy uses; water quality and
future policy. Numerous maps and graphic charts. Narrative and graphic
elements have been developed as "equal partners". Major chapters are
Natural Endowment, Advent of Human Settlement, Colorado River, Great
Valley Systems, Operation of Modern Water Systems, Economics of Water,
Commercial and Recreational Water Use, Water Quality, and Unresolved
Questions for the Future. Updated version available, http://atlas.resources.ca.gov
has 70 data sets to use.
Soil Surveys of California. ref/S/599/C3/U5
Issued by the US Department of Soils and Plant Nutrition. Soil
surveys of California by county or large geographic area. Soil maps and
interpretations are included; discussion of the formation and
classification of the soils in the area; soil laboratory data provided
when available; climate and general agricultural information are
covered. Also discussed are engineering uses of soils, soil suitability
for drainage, irrigation, recreation, wildlife, and community planning.
Published cooperatively with the assistance of the University of
California Agricultural Experiment Station.
Monthly Climatic Data for the World.
ref/QC/982/U5 (1969-1999), some years on microfiche
Issued by the US National Oceanic and
Atmospheric Administration. http://www5.ncdc.noaa.gov/pdfs/mcdw/mcdw.html
country. Divided into two major sections: Surface Data Tables (pressure,
temperature, precipitation, sunshine) and Upper Air Data Tables
(pressure, temperature, vector wind).
Climatological Data: California. ref/QC/984/C2/U4
(1966-1998), some years on microfiche
Also issued by the US National
Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration. http://lwf.ncdc.noaa.gov/oa/climate/climatedata.html#MONTHLY
with annual summaries. Organized by basin (eg., North Coast Drainage,
Sacramento Drainage, etc.). Records temperature, precipitation,
Local Climatological Data: Sacramento.
Also issued by the NOAA.
records from the Sacramento Executive Airport include temperature,
precipitation, wind, and sunshine.
Some of the
data is available electronically at http://www.ncdc.noaa.gov/pdfs/lcd/lcd.html
You must first choose a year, then a station abbreviation (Sacramento
Executive Airport is SAC). Eventually there will be a listing of a
filenames consisting of a year/month/station abbreviation, i.e.,
200103SAC.pdf is for March, 2001
Sacramento Executive Airport. The datafiles are accessible by
authorized users only--so if you are a CSUS IP authenticated user, it
should work. However, the system is quirky and may turn you away. If
this happens try again later.
Climatoglical Data: Other Cities http://www5.ncdc.noaa.gov/pubs/publications.html#LCD
Summarizes temperature, relative humidity, precipitation, cloudiness,
wind speed and direction observations for several hundred cities in
the U.S. and its territories. Monthly and annual. See note above for
- Glossary of Geology. ref/QE/5/G56/1997
- Encyclopedia of Earth System Science.
ref/QE/5/E514/1992 (in 4 volumes)
- MacMillan Encyclopedia of Earth Science.
ref/QE/5/E5137/1996 (in 2 volumes)
- Magill's Survey of Science: Earth Science Series.
INDEXES TO USGS, DWR & CDMG
- Department Publications. ref/TD/224/C2/A32 (1922-current),
located behind Reference Desk
- Issued by the California Department of Water Resources. Indexes the
Bulletin series of the agency. More than 200 publications are indexed
covering virtually every aspect of water in California: ground and
surface water, dams, pollution, economic and social effects, etc. Some
are online at http://www.publicaffairs.water.ca.gov/information/pubs.cfm
- California Geology Magazine Index 1948-1986 Ref TN24C2A42
- Consolidated Index of Publications. ref/TN/24/C2/A4
- Issued by the California Division of Mines and Geology. Subject
index to approximately 170 bulletins and reports of the State
Mineralogist. Also indexes the Division's periodical publications:
California Geology, California Journal of Mines & Geology (ceased
publication), and the Mineral Information Service (ceased publication).
- List of Available Publications. ref/TN/24/C2/A41
- An annual update to the above. Also indexes the Special Report,
County Report, Miscellaneous Publications and various map series
published by the Division.
- Publications of the Geological Survey. ref/QE/75/U5
- Issued by the USGS. A catalog with geographic and subject indexes
that cover books, reports, maps, and charts published by the USGS. The
Library has a large, current collection of their Bulletin, Circular,
Professional Paper, and Water Supply Paper report series. Also
searchable online through the Publications Warehouse at
- New Publications of the Geological Survey. ref/QE/75/U5/suppl
- Monthly update to the above. Discontinued January 1, 2005.
Available online for the years 1995-2004 at http://pubs.usgs.gov/publications
- Bibliography and Index of Geology. 2 North Index Area
- See GeoRefS under Electronic Indexes for online
Claims to be the most comprehensive geological
index. Arranged by author with an extensive subject index
appended. Each monthly issue is divided into 29 broad subject
fields (eg., petrology, areal geology, geo-chemistry, etc.).
Monthly issues are cumulated annually into a 4 volume set: a 2
volume catalog and a 2 volume subject index. Indexes over 1,000
periodicals. During 1933-1968 it was titled Bibliography and Index
of Geology Exclusive of North America.
- Environmental Periodicals Bibliography. Lower
Area QHZ/5322/.E2/E5w (1973-1996)
- See Environmental Policy Index under
Electronic Indexes for online
Lower Level (1973-1980). Issued 6 times per year
with an annual index by author and subject. Only periodicals are
indexed. Broad coverage including: human ecology, air, energy,
land resources/agriculture, marine/freshwater resources, water
pollution/management, nutrition/health, etc.
- Mineralogical Abstracts. 2 North IndexArea Table
(1961-2001) QEZ 6031 .M56
- Includes citations to journal articles on references to
articles on mineralogy, geochemistry, and petrology. No
Selected Electronic Indexes
The following databases are suggested for research and can be
accessed through the Library's Database and Periodicals Index page
- This is the computer-based equivalent of the Bibliography and
Index of Geology (described above). GeoRef has over 2 million
references to geoscience literature and its coverage is congruent
with the Bibliography and Index of Geology back to 1785.
- Environmental Policy Index
- This is the computer-based equivalent of the Environmental
Periodicals Bibliography (described above). This database indexes
periodicals from 1973 to the current year.
- EI Village/EI
- Ei Engineering Village is the home of Compendex®, the most
comprehensive interdisciplinary engineering database in the world,
offering over five million summaries beginning in 1970, of journal
articles, technical reports, and conference papers and
proceedings. Primarily engineering-oriented, but includes
environmental concerns, toxics, water-land-air resources, urban
planning, transportation, etc. Scope of coverage includes the
United States and international areas. Also contains Web links to
Science & Technology
- Especially good for engineering and the applied aspects of
earth science back to 1983.
- Full text access to ~1,500 scientific and technical journals, including many in the
- USGS Home
- Provides links to contacts, fact sheets, Internet resources,
publications and data.
- American Geological Institute
- This website offers, free of charge, the GeoRef Preview Database
which provides access to the new bibliographic references going into the
GeoRef database for one week (see the description of GeoRef above).
Articles may be searched by subject, journal and keyword. For example, a
recent search under the subject "environmental geology" yielded 760
citations for that single week of coverage.
- California Division
of Mines and Geology http://www.consrv.ca.gov/cgs/index.htm
- Is no longer a separate entity. It is now part of the Dept. of Conservation. Loaded
with links to a variety of sites and sources including resource recycling,
earthquakes, farmland and open space, minerals, mining and a variety of
- California Digital Conservation Atlas
- According to their introduction, "The Atlas brings together
data from a variety of local, state, and national sources, and
allows users to mix and match those layers of information at
different scales for creating custom maps." Data sets include
vegetation, wetlands, watersheds, urban areas, soils, farmlands,
conservation plans, projects and more.
- Consortium for International Earth
Science Information Network. http://www.ciesin.org/
- This website embodies environmental themes and provides extensive
interactive applications, data resources, GIS services, and programs.
- Geological Society of America
- The mission of the GSA is to advance the geosciences, to enhance the
professional growth of its members and promote the geosciences in the
service to humankind. SomeGSA publications are available full-text at
this site while others are only indexed. Contains a good geologic time
to Resources and Research in Geology
for CSUS students doing research using our Library and databases.
Websites for Geoscientists
- A Guide developed for the 2001 GSA Annual meeting; links to data sources such as earthquake and environment
information, live access to climate data, planetary data, and the USGS.
It contains indexes to journal articles and technical reports, and lists
the abstracts and tables of contents to many earth science journals. It
provides access to maps, media, photos, software, directories, selected
government agencies worldwide, associations and a few selected
university geosciences libraries.
U.S. Global and Climate Data http://www.ncdc.noaa.gov/oa/climate/climatedata.html
- An interactive graphing tool designed to allow visual browsing of the
data available online at the the National Climatic Data Center (NCDC). An