|
Environmental Studies:
|
| GF 90 | Landscape Assessment |
| GV 191.67 | Recreational Aspects of Wilderness Areas/Outdoor Recreation |
| HC 79 | Environmental Economics |
| HC 103.7 | Economic Geography of Natural Resources |
| KF 5505 | Conservation of Natural Resources-legal |
| QH 75 - QH77 | Endangered Species-general |
| QK 86 | Endangered Species-plants |
| QH 91.8 | Biodiversity-marine |
| QL 81.5 - QL 84.77 | Endangered Species-zoology |
- Conservation
Central Valley grassroots guide : land use environmental groups and related organizations, Ref S 920 .C46 1999
Conservation Directory, Ref S 920 .C6
Encyclopedia of the world's zoos, Ref QL 76 .E53 2001
The environmental resource handbook, Ref GE 20 .E586- Biodiversity
Catalog of fishes, Ref QL 618 .C38 1998
Encyclopedia of biodiversity, Ref QH 541.15 .B56 E53 2001
Life on the edge : a guide to California's endangered natural resources : wildlife, Ref QL 84.22 .C2 L54 1994
Measuring and monitoring biological diversity. Standard methods for mammals, Ref QL 708.5 .M435 1996
Species report card : the state of U.S. plants and animals, Ref QH 76 .P75 1997- Endangered Species
1994 IUCN red list of threatened animals see IUCN internet site for updated info: http://redlist.org
2 NORTH Ref QL 82 .A15 1994
Beacham's guide to international endangered species.
2 North Ref QL 82 .B435 1998 v.1-3
Endangered species [computer file] : a reference handbook. Internet QL82 .S49 1998eb
Endangered Wildlife of the World, Ref QL 83 .E55 1993
Guide to the federal and California endangered species laws. 2 North Ref KF 5640 .M8 1994
Habitats and ecosystems : an encyclopedia of endangered America, Ref QH 76 .C73 1999
State and Federally Listed Endangered and Threatened Animal Species of California,
2 North Ref QL 84.22 C2.S828 1998 or 2005 online version,
Wetlands Deskbook, Ref KF 5624 .W48 1997
|
Identify them by using one of
the following indexes/abstracts. Most electronic indexes are restricted to CSUS
students, faculty, & staff. Once you have identified an interesting article,
and know the name of the journal you want, use the Journal
Locator List, the EUREKA
Library Catalog and/or Prospector's Find Journals to identify whether the journal is available in print or
electronically.
|
Biodiversity & Conservation, http://darwin.bio.uci.edu/~sustain/bio65/Titlpage.htm#Table%20of%20contents
A hypertext book with loads of links, an easy way to get started on learning about the issues.Biodiversity Glossary of Terms, http://www.wri.org/biodiv/gbs-glos.html
CA Dept. of Conservation, Division of Land Resource Protection, http://www.consrv.ca.gov/DLRP/index.htm
Programs to conserve California's farmland & open space resourcesCA Habitat Conservation Planning Branch/Endangered Species page http://www.dfg.ca.gov/hcpb/species/t_e_spp/tespp.shtml
Includes how a species gets listed, laws, lists of federal and state endangered and threatened animals, The Status of Rare, Threatened, and Endangered Animals and Plants of California - Annual Report for 2000 and much more.CALFED Bay Delta Program, http://calwater.ca.gov
The mission of the CALFED Bay-Delta Program is to develop and implement a long-term comprehensive plan that will restore ecological health and improve water management for beneficial uses of the Bay-Delta System.California Digital Conservation Atlas http://atlas.resources.ca.gov/
According to their introduction, "The Atlas brings together data from a variety of local, state, and national sources, and allows users to mix and match those layers of information at different scales for creating custom maps." Data sets include vegetation, wetlands, watersheds, urban areas, soils, farmlands, conservation plans, projects and more.- California Environmental Resources Evaluation System, http://ceres.ca.gov
Lots of information and links. Be sure to look at the "Environmental Information" section searching by Geographic area, theme or data type.
- Convention on Biological Diversity, http://www.biodiv.org/convention/default.shtml
From the United Nations-the international agreement to preserve biodiversity worldwide. Includes selected reports on biodiversity, the text of the agreement with subsequent modifications, and quarterly reports. Has the U.S. signed yet?
- Endangered Species Program, http://endangered.fws.gov/
Part of the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service.
- Endangered Species Related Laws and Policies, http://endangered.fws.gov/policies/index.html#ESA
From the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service site, links to the text of laws, notices, policies, etc. Note: site was last updated on June 16, 2004.
- Environment Canada Environmental Indicators, http://ecoinfo.org/env_ind/indicators_e.cfm
Use this site to explore the state of the environment by monitoring programs on different species, mostly birds.
- The Evolution of the Conservation Movement, 1850-1920, http://lcweb2.loc.gov/ammem/amrvhtml/conshome.html
Documents the historical formation and cultural foundations of the movement to conserve and protect America's natural heritage, through books, pamphlets, government documents, manuscripts, prints, photographs, and motion picture footage drawn from the collections of the Library of Congress. The collection consists of 62 books and pamphlets, 140 Federal statutes and Congressional resolutions, 34 additional legislative documents, excerpts from the Congressional Globe and the Congressional Record, 360 Presidential proclamations, 170 prints and photographs, 2 historic manuscripts, and 2 motion pictures.- National Environmental Directory, http://www.environmentaldirectory.net/
A directory of 13,000 organizations in the US.
- Sierra Nevada Ecosystem Project, http://ceres.ca.gov/snep/
SNEP evaluation of an entire set of Sierra Nevada ecosystems, including their social, economic, and ecological components, as requested by Congress in 1996.
- Species Survival Commission, http://www.iucn.org/themes/ssc/
From the IUCN, the group that produces the produces the IUCN Red List of Threatened Species, provides technical and scientific advice to governments, international environmental treaties, conservation organizations, publishes Action Plans, newsletters, policy guidelines, organizes workshops, implements on-ground conservation projects and raises funds for and carries out research.
- 2004 IUCN Red List of Threatened Species, www.redlist.org/
From the International Union for Conservation of Nature and Natural Resources, this database provides taxonomic, conservation status and distribution information of all kinds of species.
NOTE: read the introduction for what is and is not included in the database.
- World Atlas of Biodiversity, http://stort.unep-wcmc.org/imaps/gb2002/book/viewer.htm
An easy to use GIS-based program from the UNEP. You choose a map layer (aspects of biological diversity) and then impose the data on a geographical map.
| Return to CSUS Library Database Subject Guides |
Send
questions, comments or suggestions to:
Deborah Metzger, Science Reference Librarian
3.15.06 Last revised on 3.15.06