return home Mechanical Engineering Online Resources

EUREKA

PHAROS

Databases and Periodical Indexes

Services

Instructional Services

General Information

What's New

Library Home
 

comments?

Mechanical Engineering

Mechanical Engineering

Fulltext Electronic Journals
Citation and Fulltext Databases
Catalogues and Suppliers
Professional Organizations (United States) 
Other Professional Organizations (International and Foreign) 
Technical Reports
Research Centers and Laboratories
Online Resources
Patents
Standards
University Programs
 
Fulltext Electronic Journals

Subscription Journals of the CSUS Library (Scholarly, peer-reviewed)

Non-Subscription Journals and Online Mags (These journals are self-identified as journals, while the online magazines focus on industry news and product related information)

Citation and Fulltext Databases

Search here to find the abstracts for journal articles, conference proceedings, and other publications. The full text of journal articles is often available as well.

Applied Science and Technology (abstracts only) 1983- present.
Industry publications (trade journals) and popular literature (magazines) are included along with some scholarly journals.

Engineering Village 2 (abstracts and linked fulltext) 1970 - present. This database specializes in all disciplines of Engineering, including Electrical and Electronics Engineering, as well as Computer Engineering.  Focus is on scholarly publications. 

IEEE Xplore (citations, abstracts and fulltext). Citations go back to 1950, while full text journals articles go back to 1998. This database specializes in Electrical and Electronics Engineering and includes Computer Engineering and some aspects of Computer Science. Focus is on scholarly publications.

Science Direct (fulltext)  Engineering  is one of the subject areas this database covers. Scroll down to select it. Full text articles are generally available after 1995, while citations extend father back. Focus is on scholarly publications. 

Wiley Interscience (fulltext) 1996-present. Includes Engineering as a category. Focus is on scholarly publications. 

The following are broader, interdisciplinary databases. The recommendation is to search them after the Engineering and Scientific databases have been exhausted.

Article1st (abstracts only) 1990 - present. Scholarly journals, popular magazines, and trade journals all included.
Ebscohost: AcademicSearch
(fulltext) 1984- present. Scholarly journals, popular magazines, and trade journals all included.
Emerald Plus
(fulltext) 1967- present. Covers scientific, medical and engineering literature.
Infotrac: Expanded Academic
(fulltext) 1980- present. Scholarly journals popular magazines, and trade journals all included.
Proceedings First (citations and tables of contents) 1993 - present. Covers many disciplines, including Engineering. Focus is on scholarly publications.
Uncover/Ingenta (tables of contents, some abstracts) 1988 - present. Covers many disciplines, including Engineering. 

Catalogues and Suppliers

GlobalSpec. (http://www.globalspec.com/)
ThomasRegional - an industrial search engine that allows you to search for manufacturers and distributers for industrial and mechanical parts. 
(http://www.thomasnet.com/404.html?WTsource=TRD)
Thomas Register of American Manufacturers (http://www1.thomasregister.com/)
Online Metals (http://www.onlinemetals.com/)
McMaster-Carr - Industrial Products (http://www.onlinemetals.com/)
Commercial Plastics (http://www.gepolymershapes.com)
TechSavvy (http://www.techsavvy.com/)
 
Professional Organizations (United States) 

Other Professional Organizations (International and Foreign) 


Technical Reports

GrayLit Network (http://www.osti.gov/graylit/) The GrayLIT Network provides a portal for over 100,000 full text technical reports from the Department of Energy (DOE), the Deparment of Defense (DOD), the Environmental Protection Agency (EPA), and NASA. 

Center for Aerospace Information (http://www.sti.nasa.gov/RECONselect.html) This database contains two million NASA reports from all sites as well as much of the open aerospace literature from 1968. Contains ABSTRACTS ONLY. This database also contains most NACA reports from 1915-1957. 

Research Centers and Laboratories

Online Resources (A Sampling of Potentially Useful Sites)

Computational Fuild Dynamics Resources Online (http://www.cfd-online.com/)
eFluids - on online resource for fluid mechanics and flow engineering (http://www.efluids.com/)
Efunda (http://www.efunda.com/home.cfm)
Engineering Tool Box
(http://www.engineeringtoolbox.com)
Fluids Movie Archive (http://www.itsc.com/movies/)
Fluid Power Net (http://fluid.power.net/)
Licensure Boards for Engineers and Land Surveyors (http://www.drblank.com/copebrds.htm)
Online Materials Information Resource
(http://www.matweb.com/index.asp?ckck=1)
Principle Metals
(Find Specs on Metals) (http://www.principalmetals.com/specifications/step2.asp?Originator=AISI)
Robotics Internet Sources
(http://www.cs.indiana.edu/robotics/world.html)
The Thermal Connection (http://www.tak2000.com/)
 
Patents

U.S. Patent and Trademark Office (www.uspto.gov)


Standards

American National Standards Institute Homepage
(http://www.ansi.org)
American Society for Testing and Materials Homepage 
(http://www.astm.org)
International Organization for Standards Homepage
(http://www.iso.ch/iso/en/ISOOnline.openerpage)
National Information Standards Organization
(http://www.niso.org/)
National Institute of Standards and Technology Homepage

(http://www.nist.gov/welcome.html)
National Resource for Global Standards Homepage
  
(http://www.nssn.org)

University Programs

CSUS Department of Mechanical Engineering (http://www.ecs.csus.edu/me/)
Mechanical Engineering Technology Program (http://www.ecs.csus.edu/me/met.html)

Last Updated: