CSUS Library Logo

CALIFORNIA STATE UNIVERSITY, SACRAMENTO
THE LIBRARY

FILM:  SELECTED REFERENCE MATERIAL
Compiled by Clifford Wood
/Revised by Maria Kochis



Electronic Databases

Paper Periodical Indexes
Film Reviews
Selected Internet Resources
Biographical References
Encyclopedias/Dictionaries


Yearbooks

Plot Synopses
Bibliographies
Miscellaneous


ELECTRONIC DATABASES:  INDEXES TO PERIODICALS AND NEWSPAPERS

InfoTrac:  Expanded Academic ASAPThis index is a mixture of  full text, abstracts, and citations of both popular magazines and scholarly journals. 1980-current 
EBSCOhost Academic Search EliteThis database provides access to abstracts and the full text of both popular magazines and scholarly journals. 1996- current
Essay & General Literature Index.  
This database only includes citations and focuses on essays and articles contained in collections. 1986-current
Lexis-Nexis Academic Universe - To find film reviews, select "News;" then Arts and Sports," then "Book, Movie, Music and Play Reviews." 1982- current
MLA.  Although it only includes citations, this database is the first place to search for literary criticism. 1963-current
Project Muse. This database is mostly comprised of full text articles. It's coverage spans the Arts and Humanities. 1993 - current.

PAPER PERIODICAL INDEXES

Reader's Guide to Periodical Literature. 
Index Area AI 3 .R4 (1901)-Current 
Film Literature Index. 
ref PN 1998 .F5 1973-1998 
FILM REVIEWS

Film Review 2004-2005. ref PN 1993. 3 .F624 2004-2005
Film Review Annual. 
ref PN 1995 .F465 1981-2001
Halliwell's Film and Video Guide ref PN 1998 .H433 2002
The New York Times Film Reviews.  1913-2000  ref PN 1995 .N4
SELECTED INTERNET RESOURCES

American Film Institute.
CineMedia.
INDIEwire.
The Internet Movie Database.
UCLA: Selected Internet Sources in Film
.
BIOGRAPHICAL REFERENCES

Contemporary Theatre, Film and Television.  ref PN 2012 .W51 1984-Current
A Biographical Dictionary of Film. ref PN 1998.2 .T49 1994
A Biographical Handbook of Hispanics and United States Film. 
       
ref PN 1995.9 .H47 K46 1997
Who's Who in Hollywood.  2 v.  ref PN 1998.2 .R34 1992
Women Filmmakers and Their Films.  ref PN 1998.2 .W66 1998
ENCYCLOPEDIAS/DICTIONARIES

The Complete Film Dictionary.  ref PN 1993.45 .K66 1997
Critical Dictionary of Film and Television Theory PN 1993.45.C75 2001
The Film Encyclopedia.  ref PN 1993.45 .K34 1998
The Filmgoer's Companion.  ref PN 1993.45 .H3 1997
Hispanics in Hollywood.  ref PN 1995.9 .H47 R49 1994
Images in the Dark:  An Encyclopedia of Gay and Lesbian Film and Video. 
        ref PN 1995.9 .H55 M87 1996
International Dictionary of Broadcasting and Film PN 1990. B64 2000
The New Historical Dictionary of the American Film Industry.   
        ref PN 1993.5 .U6 S539 1998
Women in Film.  ref PN 1995.9 .W6 W658 1991
YEARBOOKS 

Magill's Cinema Annual.   ref PN 1993.3 .M34  1982-Current
International Motion Picture Almanac.  ref PN 1993.3 .I55 1929-Current
Screen World.  PN 1993.3 .S3 1949-1993  
Variety International Film Guide.  ref PN 1993.3 .I544 1964-Current 
PLOT SYNOPSES

Magill's Survey of Cinema:  English Language Films.  
       
4 v. ref PN 1995 .M3 1980
Magill's Survey of Cinema:  English Language Films.  
       
6 v. ref PN 1995 .M3 1981
Magill's Survey of Cinema:  Foreign Language Films. 
        8v. ref PN 1993.45 .M34 1985
Magill's Survey of Cinema:  Silent Films.  3 v. ref PN 1995 .M34 1982.
The Motion Picture Guide.  Numerous volumes.  PN 1995 .N346 1986-1999
BIBLIOGRAPHIES

Blacks in Film and Television.  ref PNZ 5784 .M9 G72 1990
Film Study.  ref PNZ 5784 .M9 M34 1990 
Women and Mass Communications.  ref PZ 5633 .W65 L45 1991
MISCELLANEOUS

The Academy Awards Index.  ref PN 1993.92 .S53 1993
The Bent Lens: a World Guide to Gay & Lesbian Film 
       
ref PN 1995.9.H 55 B45 2003
Blacklisted: The Film Lover's Guide to the Hollywood Blacklist 
       
ref PN 1993. 5 .U6 B84 2003

The Cuban Filmography: 1897 through 2001 ref PN 1993 .5 .C38 G375 2003
Gender, Ethnicity and Sexuality in Contemporary American Film. 
        ref PN 1995.9 .S45 D38 2000
Guide to the Cinema(s) of Canada ref PN 1993. 5 .C2 G85 2001
Film Festival Guide: for Filmmakers, Film Buffs, and Industry Professionals 
        ref PN 1993.4. L36 2000
Film Quotations.  ref PN 1994.9 .N69 1994
The Mexican Filmography, 1916 through 2001 ref PN 1993. 5 .M4 W55 2004
The Off-Hollywood Film Guide: the Definistive Guide to Independent and 
        Foreign Films on Video and DVD 
ref PN 1995.9. F67 W54 2002
Horror Films of the 70's. ref PN 1995.9 .H6 M85 2002
A Hundred Years of Japanese Film. ref PN 1993. 5 .J3 R47115 2001
Video Versions: Film Adaptations of Plays on Video
        ref PN 1997 .85 .V53 2000
100 Years of American Film
ref PN 1993.5.U6 A59 2000

Return to Top of Page
Return to CSUS Library Databases & Periodical Indexes


Send questions, comments or suggestions to: Maria Kochis kochism@csus.edu
Copyright@2001 Clifford Wood - California State University, Sacramento
Updated: January 22, 2005 by Maria Kochis