Go to Library Homepage CALIFORNIA STATE UNIVERSITY,
THE LIBRARY

ENGINEERING: SELECTED REFERENCE BOOKS FOR CIVIL ENGINEERING
Compiled by Maria Kochis

EUREKA (computer catalog)
TA  Engineering. Civil Engineering.
TC  Hydraulic Engineering.
TD  Environmental Technology. Sanitary Engineering
TE  Highway Engineering. Roads and Pavements
TG  Bridge Engineering

TA    ENGINEERING. CIVIL ENGINEERING

Dictionaries, Encyclopedias, Manuals
Soil Mechanics Laboratory Manual
/ Braja M. Das ref TA 10.5 .D28 2002

The Wiley dictionary of civil engineering and construction

    L.F. Webster. ref TA 9 .W44 1997

History. General Works
The reference guide to famous engineering landmarks of the world :
    bridges, tunnels, dams, roads, and other structures
/ Lawrence H. Berlow.
    ref TA 15 .B42 1998
Handbooks, Manuals
The civil engineering handbook
/ W.F. Chen ref TA 151 .C57 2003
Field engineer's manual
/ Robert O. Parmley ref TA 151 .F5 2002

The Wiley engineer's desk reference : a concise guide for the professional
    engineer
/Sanford I. Heisler. ref TA 151 .H424 1998
Engineering formulas
/ Kurt Gieck.. ref TA 151 .G4713 1997
Standard handbook for civil engineers
/ Frederick S. Merritt. ref TA 151 .S8 1996
Public works inspectors' manual
/ Silas B. Birch, Jr. ref TA 153 .P79 1996
Engineering as a Profession. General Works
Professional engineer income and salary survey
/ ref TA 157 .N3 2001
Peterson's job opportunities for engineering and computer science majors
/
ready ref TA 157 .P44 2000
Examinations. Questions
Civil engineering reference manual for the PE exam (2 copies)
/ Michael R. Lindeburg 
ref TA 159 .L53 2003
Civil engineering reference manual for the PE exam
/ Michael R. Lindeburg.
ref TA 159 .L54 2001

Practice problems for the civil engineering PE exam 
/ Michael R. Lindeburg. 
ref TA 159 .L55 2001

Civil engineering sample examination
/ Michael R. Lindeburg. ref TA 159 .L543 2000
EIT mechanical review : for the discipline specific fundamentals of engineering
    exam
/ Lloyd M. Polentz. ref TA 159 .P65 2000
Engineering Instruments. Industrial Instrumentation
Sen
sors handbook / Sabrie Soloman. ref TA 165 .S729 1999
Human Engineering. General Works
Handbook of human factors testing and evaluation /
Samuel G. Charlton 
ref TA 166 .H276 2002

The occupational ergonomics handbook
/ Waldemar Karwowski. ref TA 166 .O258 1999
Systems Engineering
Handbook of systems engineering and management
/ Andrew P. Sage.  ref TA 168 .H33 1999
Engineering Economy
Greenbook : standard specifications for public works construction
/
ref TA 180 .G76 2000

The Engineer's cost handbook : tools for managing project costs
/  Richard E. Westney. 
ref TA 183 .E64 1997
Contractors Operations and Equipment. General Works
Construction operations manual of policies and procedures
/
    Andrew M. Civitello, Jr. ref TA 210 .C58 2000
Engineering Mathematics. Pocketbooks, Tables
Handbook of civil engineering calculations
/ Tyler G. Hicks. ref TA 332 2001 
Engineering mathematics handbook
/ Jan J. Tuma, Ronald A. Walsh. ref TA 332 .T85 1998
Standard handbook of engineering calculations
/ Tyler G. Hick. ref TA 332 .S73 1995
Engineering Mathematics. Study and Teaching
101 solved civil engineering problems
/ Michael R. Lindeburg. ref TA 333 2001 
1001 solved engineering fundamentals problems
/ Michael R. Lindeburg. ref TA 333 .L56 1997
Engineering Mathematics. Probabilistic and Statistical Methods
Handbook of statistical methods for engineers and scientists
/
    Harrison M. Wadsworth, Jr. ref TA 340 .H34 1998
Mechanics of Engineering. Vibration in Engineering
Shock and vibration handbook
/ Cyril M. Harris. ref TA 355 .S5164 1996
Mechanics of Engineering. Applied Fluid Mechanics 
Fluid flow handbook /
Jamal Saleh ref TA 357 .F525 2002

Flow measurement engineering handbook
/ Richard W. Miller.
ref TA 357.5 .M43 M55 1996
Materials of Engineering and Construction  
Handbook of nanophase and nanostructured materials / Zhong Lin Wang 
ref TA 418 .9 .N35 H358 2003 v.1-v.4
Thermal analysis of construction materials / V.S. Ramachandran ref TA 418 .52 .H36 2003

Characterization of materials
/ Elton N. Kaufmann  ref TA 404. 2 .C43 2002 v.1 and v.2
Annual book of ASTM standards / American Society for Testing and Materials. 
ref TA 401 .A653 2001

Encylcopedia of materials 
/ K.H. Jurgen Buschow ref  TA 402. E53 2001
ASTM standards in building codes / ref TA 404.5 .A45 2001 v.1 - v.4
CRC materials science and engineering handbook
/ James F. Shackelford. 
 ref TA 403.4 .C74 2001

Materials handbook : a concise desktop reference / Francois Cardarelli. 
ref TA 404.8 .C37 2000

Heat-resistant materials
/ J.R. Davis. (ASM Specialty Handbook). ref TA 418.26 .H42 1997
Materials Handbook
/ George S. Brady. ref TA 403 .B75 1997
Engineered materials handbook
/ ref TA 403 .E498 1995 
Materials of Engineering and Construction. Special Materials. Concrete
Handbook of analytical techniques in concrete science and technology 
/ V.S. Ramachandran ref TA 440 .R26 2001
Materials of Engineering and Construction. Special Materials. Glass
Handbook of glass in construction
/ Joseph S. Amstock. ref TA 450 .A55 1997
Materials of Engineering and Construction. Special Materials. Metals
Land development handbook /
ref TA 549 .L29 2002

Copper and copper alloys
/ J.R. Davis.. (ASM Specialty Handbook)
ref TA 480 .C7 C714 2001

ASM handbook
. Comprehensive index / ref TA 459 .A52 2000
Nickel, cobalt, and their alloys
/ J.R. Davis. (ASM Specialty Handbook) 
ref TA 480 .N6 A28 2000

Uhlig's corrosion handbook
/ R. Winston Revie. ref TA 462 .U4 2000
Worldwide guide to equivalent irons and steels
/ William C. Mack ref TA 466 .W67 2000
Magnesium and magnesium alloys
/ M. Avedesian. 
     (ASM Spcialty Handbook) ref TA 480 .M3 M32 1999

Metals handbook
/  J.R. Davis. ref TA 459 .M288 1998
Carbon and alloy steels
/ J.R. Davis. (ASM Specialty Handbook) 
ref TA 479 .C37 C37 1996

Cast irons
/ J.R. Davis. (ASM Specialty Handbook) ref TA 474 .C38 1996
Surveying
Land development handbook : planning, engineering, and surveying
/
 ref TA 549 .L29 1996
Structural Engineering. Pocketbooks. Tables
Structural engineering handbook
/ Edwin H. Gaylord.  ref TA 635 .S77 1997
Structural Engineering. Wooden Construction
Wood engineering and construction handbook
/ Keith F. Faherty,
     Thomas G. Williamson. ref TA 666 .W63 1997
Timber solutions manual
/ David W. Duquette. ref TA 666 .D88 1997
Structural Engineering. Metal Construction
ACI manual of concrete practice
/ ref TA 683 .A4 1999 (Part 1 and 2)
Structural steel designer's handbook
/ Roger L. Brockenbrough ref TA 684 .S79 1999
Concrete construction handbook
/ Joseph A. Dobrowolski.  ref TA 681 .C745 1998
Concrete construction engineering handbook
/ Edward G. Nawy. ref TA 681 .C743 1997
Steel design handbook : LRFD method
/ Akbar R. Tamboli.  ref TA 684 .S7545 1997
Earthwork
Earth Manual
/ ref TA 715 .E273 1998 pt.1
Heavy equipment : the world's largest machinery
/ John Carroll. ref TA 725 .C37 1997

TC    HYDRAULIC ENGINEERING

Technical Hydraulics
Tables for the hydraulic design of pipes, sewers and channels
/ HR Wallingford
ref TC 174 .T28 1998

Hydraulics. River, lake, and water-supply engineering
Flood risk management and the American River Basin : an evaluation

ref TC 424 .C2 F56 1995

TD    ENVIRONMENTAL TECHNOLOGY. SANITARY ENGINEERING

General Works
Dictionary of Water & Waste Management
/ Paul G. Smith ref TD 9 .S37 2002
Standard handbook of environmental engineering
/ Robert A. Corbitt.  ref TD 145 .S72 1999
Formula handbook for environmental engineers and scientists
/
     Gabriel Bitton. ref TD 153 .B58 1998

Environmental engineers' handbook
/ David H.F. Liu. ref TD 145 .E574 1997

Environmental/Sanitary Engineering as Profession. Study and Teaching
101 solved environmental engineering problems
/ R.W. Schneiter. ref TD 157.15 2001 
Environmental Protection
Environmental grantmaking foundations : directory /

ref TD 169.6 .E58 2001
 
Environmental Pollution
Environmental remediation. Cost data-assemblies.
ref TD 192.8 .E58 2001
Encyclopedia of environmental pollution and cleanup
/
     Robert A. Meyers.  ref TD 173 .E53 1999 v.1 and v.2

Bioremediation : principles and practice
/
     Subhas K. Sikdar ref TD 192.5 .B557323 1998 v.1,2,3

Environmental law handbook
/ Thomas F. P. Sullivan. ref TD 177 .E54 1995
Special Environmental Pollutants
Handbook of environmental data on organic chemicals
/
     Karel Verschueren. ref TD 196 .O73 V47 2001 v.1 and v. 2 
Dictionary of environmentally D
ictionary of Environmentally Important Chemicals /
     David Ayres. ref TD 196 .C45 A97 1998
Water supply for domestic/industrial purposes 
The World's Water /
Peter Gleick ref TD 345 .W674 2002-2003
Handbook of water and wastewater treatment technologies /
Nicholas P.   
      Cheremisinoff  ref TD 430 .C4584 2002
Handbook of water sensitive planning and design /
Robert L. France TD 657 .H36 2002
Handbook of drinking water quality / John De Zuane. ref TD 365 .D4897 1997
Groundwater chemicals desk reference
/ John H. Montgomery. ref TD 426 .M66 1996
Municipal Refuse. Solid Wastes 
The McGraw-Hill recycling handbook
/ Herbert F. Lund.  ref TD 794.5 .M397 2000
Recycling in America : a reference handbook
/ Debra L. Strong. ref TD 794.5 .S77 1997
Special Types of Environment 
California air pollution control laws /
ref TD 883. 5 .C2 C3 2003
Hazardous air pollution handbook /
Charles W. Spicer. ref TD 883 .H396 2002
California air pollution control laws
/ ref TD 883.5 .C2 C3 2001 
Environmental handbook for building and civil engineering projects
/
Roger Venables. ref 2001

Air quality control handbook
/ E. Roberts Alley / ref TD 883 .A576 1998
Hazardous Substances and their Disposal 
Standard handbook of hazardous waste treatment and disposal
/ Harry M. Freeman.
 ref TD 1032 .S73 1998

Toxic waste sites : an encyclopedia of endangered America
/ Mark Crawford.
ref TD 1040 .C73 1997

EPA environmental assessment sourcebook
/ J. Russell Boulding. ref TD 1050 .E58 E63 1996
EPA environmental engineering sourcebook
/ J. Russell Boulding. ref TD 1052 .E63 1996

TE    HIGHWAY ENGINEERING. ROADS AND PAVEMENTS

Highway Design
Highway design manual
/ ref TE 175 .C3 1995
Also view the online version at: http://www.dot.ca.gov/hq/oppd/hdm/hdmtoc.htm#hdm  

Highway design and traffic safety engineering handbook

Ruediger Lamm. ref TE 175 .L36 1999

Roadside Development. Landscaping
Roadside use of native plants
/ ref TE 178 .R63 1999
Specifications
Standard specifications
/ ref TE 180 .C3 1999
Materials for Roadmaking
Standard specifications for transportation materials and methods of sampling
and testing
/  ref TE 200.A615 2001 

TG    BRIDGE BUILDING

General Works
Bridge engineering handbook
/ Wai-Fah Chen. ref TG 145 .B85 2000

Back to the top of the page
Go to Databases and Periodical Indexes Page

Questions/comments to:
Maria Kochis, Science Reference Librarian
kochism@csus.edu
California State University, Sacramento
Last updated 01/20/05