logo

Guide to Resources in

TESOL

Prepared by Margaret Keys




EUREKA                                   
Recommended Databases     
Reference Works                     
Selected Journals
Web Resources
Obtaining Non-CSUS Materials
Education: Bilingual/Multicultural Resources Guide
Return to Library Homepage



EUREKA: Locate books, multimedia, and journals.

Subject Headings:

Bilingualism
Education bilingual
English language study and teaching (subject heading closest to ESL)
English language study and teaching foreign speakers
Language and languages study and teaching
Language arts
Limited English-proficient students (the subject heading for ELL)
Linguistic minorities
Multicultural education
Multilingualism
Second language acquisition

For subject headings assigned to specific ethnic groups, see the “Education: Bilingual/Multilingual Resources” guide.

Call Numbers for Shelf Browsing:

LC  1099 -1099.5     Multicultural education
LC 2601 - 2611         Education in developing countries
LC 2630 - 2913         Education of specific ethnic populations in the
                                    United States
LC 3701 - 3740         Immigrants or ethnic and linguistic minorities;
                                    bilingual education
LC 3950 - 4806.5     Gifted students; students with disabilities or
                                    learning disabilities.
PE 1065 G46 –
PE 1128 A2               English Language--study and teaching--foreign
                                    speakers



RECOMMENDED DATABASES: 

Academic Search Premier (EBSCO)  Multi-subject; 1975-present.
Chicano Database  1967-present                        
Education Full Text (Wilson) 1994-present.
ERIC (EBSCO version)        1921-present                                    
JSTOR Multi-subject; all full-text; 1665-2003 or more recent (there is a one- to five-year gap between publication and availability in JSTOR)
MLA International Bibliography (EBSCO) Language and linguistics; 1884-present
Project Muse Language, education, and ethnic studies; publication span varies.
PsycArticles (EBSCO) 1988-present
PsycINFO (EBSCO)  1840-present
Social Sciences Full Text (Wilson)  1983-present




REFERENCE WORKS:

Bilingual Education: A Reference Handbook (Ref LC 3731 .F45 2002)
History and evolution of bilingual education in the U.S. including policies, legal and political factors, and controversies.*

The Crosscultural, Language, and Academic Development Handbook : A Complete K-12 Reference Guide PE 1128 A2 D45 2002
Designed for general classroom teachers, this book combines theory, pedagogy, and resources to help promote cross-cultural awareness, language development, and academic success. Provides practical tips and applications.

Handbook of Research on Multicultural Education  (Ref LC 1099.3 H35 2004)  One-volume summary of theory and research in the field. Additional copy can be checked out.*

Handbook of Research in Second Language Teaching and Learning
(Ref P 118.2 H359 2005) Intended for researchers, faculty, teachers, and grad students. Eight main research areas are covered in 57 chapters. Additional copy can be checked out.*

Handbook of Research on Teaching the English Language Arts
(Ref. LB 1576 H234 2003)  Essays covering language learners, theory and history of teaching English language arts, and methods of research in the field.

Keeping Score for All: The Effects of Inclusion and Accommodation Policies on Large-scale Educational Assessments.  (Ref LB 3060.83 N295 2004)
Presents results of the study conducted by the Committee on Participation of English Language Learners and Students with Disabilities in NAEP and Other Large-Scale Assessments, along with descriptions of assessments and commonly used accommodations.  

Longman Dictionary of Language Teaching and Applied Linguistics
(Ref P 29 R5 1992)  Defines terms used in these fields.

Race, Ethnicity, and Education  (Ref LC 1099.3 R33 2006 v.1-4)
Four volumes contain essays on theory, and practice contributed by scholars, followed by a list of references. Each volume has an index.
Vol 1: Principals and Practices of Multicultural Education
Vol 2: Language and Literacy in Schools
Vol 3: Racial Identity in Education
Vol 4: Racism and Antiracism in Education*

*Bibliographic annotations from “Education: Bilingual/Multilingual Resources” guide.



SELECTED JOURNALS:

1979 and earlier are on Lower Level; 1980 to present, 3rd Floor. Many newer issues are available electronically on the Web or through Eureka.

Bilingual Research Journal

CATESOL Journal

Cross-Cultural Research

ELT Journal


English for Specific Purposes

Essential Teacher

Forum: A Journal for the Teacher of English Outside the United States

Language Learning

Linguistics and Education

Second Language Research

Studies in Second Language Acquisition

TESL-EJ: Teaching English as a Second or Foreign Language: An Electronic Journal

TESOL Journal

TESOL Quarterly



WEB RESOURCES:

California Department of Education, Specialized Programs: http://www.cde.ca.gov/sp/el/
Information about English learner programs approved by state board of education.

Center for Applied Linguistics (CAL): http://www.cal.org/topics/
Follow links to topics of interest and read reports on studies conducted by this organization.

The Internet TESL Journalhttp://iteslj.org/
Articles, research papers, lessons plans, classroom handouts, teaching ideas, activities for ESL students, and links to other relevant sites.

National Council of La Raza:  http://www.nclr.org/content/topics/detail/499/
This Latino civil rights organization site contains many articles in its database. Some may not be peer-reviewed, but they are informative and thought provoking.

National Council of Teachers of English (NCTE): http://www.ncte.org/
Search for your topic in the search box. Check out the Teaching Resource Collections.

TESOL: http://www.tesol.org
Highlights pertinent issues; presents information on membership and conferences.

U.S. Dept. of Education, Office of English Language Acquisition
http://www.ed.gov/about/offices/list/oela/index.html
Initiatives, programs, activities, and resources for educators, parents, and students.


OBTAINING NON-CSUS MATERIALS:

The University Library may not own everything you need. There are easy ways to get books, articles, and multimedia items from other libraries.

Interlibrary Services

This department locates and retrieves materials from other libraries for you, usually for free. Items are delivered to the ILS department (next to Circulation) or online through your ILLiad account.

U.C. Davis Shields Library  http://harvest.lib.ucdavis.edu/

WorldCat and Others http://library.csus.edu/content2.asp?pageID=41

Look up books and place Interlibrary Services requests using your ILLiad account.