return home Electrical and Electronic Engineering Resources
(Related: Computer Science Resources)

EUREKA

PHAROS

Databases and Periodical Indexes

Services

Instructional Services

General Information

What's New

Library Home
 

comments?


Fulltext Electronic Journals 
Citation and Fulltext Databases 
Databases Utilized for Part Searching
Professional Organizations, Institutes, and Laboratories
Online Standards Sites 
University Programs 
Patents 
Internet Resources and Directories for EEE

Fulltext Electronic Journals

Subscription Journals of the CSUS Library (Scholarly, peer-reviewed)
Online Mags.  (Industry news and product related information)
 
Citation and Fulltext Databases
Search here to find the abstracts for journal articles, conference proceedings, and other publications. The full text of journal articles is often available as well.

Applied Science and Technology (abstracts only) 1983- present.
Industry publications (trade journals) and popular literature (magazines) are included along with some scholarly journals.
Engineering Village 2 (abstracts and linked fulltext) 1970 - present. This database specializes in all disciplines of Engineering, including Electrical and Electronics Engineering, as well as Computer Engineering.  Focus is on scholarly publications. 
IEEE Xplore (citations, abstracts and fulltext). Citations go back to 1950, while full text journals articles go back to 1998. This database specializes in Electrical and Electronics Engineering and includes Computer Engineering and some aspects of Computer Science. Focus is on scholarly publications.
Science Direct (fulltext)  Engineering  is one of the subject areas this database covers. Scroll down to select it. Full text articles are generally available after 1995, while citations extend father back. Focus is on scholarly publications. 
Wiley Interscience (fulltext) 1996-present. Includes Engineering as a category. Focus is on scholarly publications. 

The following are broader, interdisciplinary databases. The recommendation is to search them after the Engineering and Scientific databases have been exhausted.

Article1st (abstracts only) 1990 - present. Scholarly journals, popular magazines, and trade journals all included.
Ebscohost: AcademicSearch
(fulltext) 1984- present. Scholarly journals, popular magazines, and trade journals all included.
Emerald Plus
(fulltext) 1967- present. Covers scientific, medical and engineering literature.
Infotrac: Expanded Academic
(fulltext) 1980- present. Scholarly journals popular magazines, and trade journals all included.
Proceedings First (citations and tables of contents) 1993 - present. Covers many disciplines, including Engineering. Focus is on scholarly publications.
Uncover/Ingenta (tables of contents, some abstracts) 1988 - present. Covers many disciplines, including Engineering. 

Non-subscription Databases for searching Computer Science literature (publicly accessible  to anyone via the web).  Literature found in these databases may not be "published" in the traditional sense.

E-print Network (http://www.osti.gov/eprints/)
(fulltext articles). The E-Print network includes pre-publication drafts of journal articles (preprints), scholarly papers, technical communications, or similar documents relaying research results among peer groups. You can browse the by disciplines (selecting Engineering, Power Transmission, Distribution and Plants, Renewable Energy, and others).

Databases Utilized for Part Searching

Partminer  (http://www.partminer.com/)
Chip Directory  (http://www.xs4all.nl/%7Eganswijk/chipdir/)
Electrical Engineering Circuits Archive  (http://www.ee.washington.edu/circuit_archive/)
EE Product Center  (http://cmpmedia.globalspec.com/ProductFinder/)
EEM IC Master  (http://www.icmaster.com/)

Professional Organizations, Institutes, and Laboratories

American Society for Engineering Education (www.asee.org)
AT&T Labs Research (http://www.research.att.com/)
Electric Power Research Institute (http://www.spie.org/)
Electronics and Electrical Engineering Laboratory (for the NIST) (http://www.eeel.nist.gov/)
Institute for Electronics, Information, and Communication Engineers/  (http://www.ieice.org/eng/index.html)
Institute for Interconnecting and Packaging Electronic Circuits (http://www.iec.ch/)
Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (www.ieee.org)
IEEE Communications Society
(http://www.comsoc.org/)
IEEE Computer Society  (http://www.computer.org/)
Institution of Electrical Engineers (http://www.iee.org/)
International Electrotechnical Commission (http://www.iec.ch/)
International Telecommunications Union (http://www.itu.int/home/index.html)
Lawrence Berkeley Laboratory (http://www.lbl.gov/)
Microelectronic Research and Communications Institute (http://www.mrc.uidaho.edu/)
Physical Science Laboratory (http://www.psl.nmsu.edu/)
Optical Society of America (http://www.osa.org/)
SPIE  The International Society for Optical Engineering (http://www.spie.org/)

Online Standards Sites

American National Standards Institute Homepage
(http://www.ansi.org)
American Society for Testing and Materials Homepage 
(http://www.astm.org)
International Organization for Standards Homepage
(http://www.iso.ch/iso/en/ISOOnline.openerpage)
National Information Standards Organization
(http://www.niso.org/)
National Institute of Standards and Technology Homepage

(http://www.nist.gov/welcome.html)
National Resource for Global Standards Homepage  
(http://www.nssn.org)

University Programs
CSUS Department of Electrical and Electronic Engineering (http://www.ecs.csus.edu/eee/)
 
Patents

U.S. Patent and Trademark Office (http://www.uspto.gov/)
Pioneering EE Patents  (http://eepatents.com/collection.html)
 
Internet Resources and Directories for EEE
The Cell Relay Retreat  (http://eepatents.com/collection.html)
Digital Signal Processing Group  (http://www-dsp.rice.edu/)
The EE Compendium  (http://ee.cleversoul.com/)
Embedded Technology  (http://www.embeddedtechnology.com/content/homepage/default.asp)
The Ethernet Site  (http://www.ethermanage.com/ethernet/ethernet.html)
Photonics Online  (http://www.photonicsonline.com/content/homepage/default.asp)
Optics.org
  (http://optics.org/)
RF Globalnet  (http://www.rfglobalnet.com/content/homepage/default.asp)
Superconductor subway  (http://www-mtl.mit.edu/semisubway.html)
VLSI Links  (http://www.mrc.uidaho.edu/vlsi/)
Wireless Design Online  (http://www.wirelessdesignonline.com/
 
Compiled by Maria Kochis, University Librarian
Last Updated: