return home Civil Engineering

EUREKA

PHAROS

Databases and Periodical Indexes

Services

Instructional Services

General Information

What's New

Library Home
 

comments?

Civil Engineering Online Resources

List of Current Journals
Fulltext Electronic Journals
Citation and Fulltext Databases
Professional Organizations (United States)
Other Professional Organizations (International and Foreign)
Research Centers (United States)
Technical Reports
Online Resources
Patents 
Standards
University Programs
 

List of Current Journals pertaining to Civil Engineering, 
which are in print or microform in the library 

Fulltext Electronic Journals

Subscription Journals of the CSUS Library (Scholarly, peer-reviewed)

Non-Subscription Journals and Online Mags (These journals are self-identified as journals, while the online magazines focus on industry news and product related information)
 
Citation and Fulltext Databases
Search here to find the abstracts for journal articles, conference proceedings, and other publications. The full text of journal articles is often available as well.

Applied Science and Technology (abstracts only) 1983- present.
Industry publications (trade journals) and popular literature (magazines) are included along with some scholarly journals.

Engineering Village 2 (abstracts and linked fulltext) 1970 - present. This database specializes in all disciplines of Engineering, including Civil Engineering. Focus is on scholarly publications. 

Science Direct (fulltext)  Engineering  is one of the subject areas this database covers. Scroll down to select it. Full text articles are generally available after 1995, while citations extend father back. Focus is on scholarly publications. 

Wiley Interscience (fulltext) 1996-present. Includes Engineering as a category. Focus is on scholarly publications. 

The following are broader, interdisciplinary databases. The recommendation is to search them after the Engineering and Scientific databases have been exhausted.

Article1st (abstracts only) 1990 - present. Scholarly journals, popular magazines, and trade journals all included.
Ebscohost: AcademicSearch
(fulltext) 1984- present. Scholarly journals, popular magazines, and trade journals all included.
Emerald Plus
(fulltext) 1967- present. Covers scientific, medical and engineering literature.
Infotrac: Expanded Academic
(fulltext) 1980- present. Scholarly journals popular magazines, and trade journals all included.
Proceedings First (citations and tables of contents) 1993 - present. Covers many disciplines, including Engineering. Focus is on scholarly publications.
Uncover/Ingenta (tables of contents, some abstracts) 1988 - present. Covers many disciplines, including Engineering. 

National Transportation Library  (http://ntl.bts.gov/)
The library is a repository of materials from both public and private sources. Free and accessible to the public.
 
Professional Organizations (United States) 

Other Professional Organizations (International and Foreign)

Civil Engineering Research Centers (United States)
 
Technical Reports

GrayLit Network (http://www.osti.gov/graylit/)The GrayLIT Network provides a portal for over 100,000 full text technical reports from the Department of Energy (DOE), the Deparment of Defense (DOD), the Environmental Protection Agency (EPA), and NASA.

Online Resources (A Sampling of Potentially Useful Sites)

EarthExplorer (http://edcsns17.cr.usgs.gov/EarthExplorer/)
Earthquake Information Network
(http://www.eqnet.org/)
Earthquake Maps on the Web (http://cires.colorado.edu/people/jones.craig/WebEQintro.html)
EROS Data Center - USGS (http://edc.usgs.gov/)
Hydrology Data and Information (http://daac.gsfc.nasa.gov/CAMPAIGN_DOCS/hydrology/hd_main.shtml)
Licensure Boards for Engineers and Land Surveyors (http://www.drblank.com/copebrds.htm)
Structures International Gallery/Database (http://www.structurae.net/)
Water Erosion Prediction Project (http://topsoil.nserl.purdue.edu/nserlweb/weppmain/wepp.html)
Water Librarian's Page (http://www.interleaves.org/%7Erteeter/waterlib.html)
The Water Page (Africa) (http://www.thewaterpage.com/)
Wetlands Fact Sheet (http://www.epa.gov/owow/wetlands/contents.html)
Wetlands, Oceans and Watersheds (http://www.epa.gov/owow/index.html)

Patents

U.S. Patent and Trademark Office (www.uspto.gov)
 
Standards

American National Standards Institute Homepage
(http://www.ansi.org)
American Society for Testing and Materials Homepage 
(http://www.astm.org)
International Organization for Standards Homepage
(http://www.iso.ch/iso/en/ISOOnline.openerpage)
National Information Standards Organization
(http://www.niso.org/)
National Institute of Standards and Technology Homepage

(http://www.nist.gov/welcome.html)
National Resource for Global Standards Homepage
  
(http://www.nssn.org)
 
University Programs

CSUS Department of Civil Engineering (http://www.ecs.csus.edu/ce/)
Construction Management Program (http://www.csus.edu/cm/)

Last Updated: