|
CALIFORNIA STATE
UNIVERSITY, SACRAMENTO Communication
Studies: |
This guide should be used as a starting point. It is intended to introduce you to some reference books and to point you in the direction of additional research. Most of the books on this list are located in Reference and these are noted with a "ref" before the call number. The Reference section is located on 2 North and sits behind the Reference Desk. Note also that Reference books cannot be checked out.
Dictionary of Quotations About Communication Ref PN 6081 D535 2000
Communication Handbook Ref P 875 D46 1986
Dictionary of Media and Communication Studies Ref P 875 W38 2000
Encyclopedic Dictionary of Semiotics, Media, and Communications Ref P 875 D36 2000
Facts On File Dictionary of Telecommunications Ref TK 5102 G73 1991
GATF Glossary of Graphic Communications Ref Z 118 G76 1998
Hispanic Media & Markets Ref HF 5905 H5
Language and Communication: A Cross-Cultural Encyclopedia Ref P 29 F47 1998
Webster's New World Dictionary of Media and Communications Ref P 875 W45 1996
International Encyclopedia of Communications Ref P 875 I5 1989
Communication Research Measures: A Sourcebook Ref P 913 C62 1994
Barron’s How to Prepare for the TOEIC Ref PE 1128 L644 1999
Handbook of Research Design and Social Measurement Ref H 62 M44 1991
Handbook of Rhetorical and Communication Theory Ref P 90 H296 1984
Violence and the Media: A Reference Handbook P 96 V5 N48 1996
Communication Research: Strategies and Sources P 91.3 R83 2000
Communication Yearbook 1977-Current; P 87 C5974
International and Intercultural Communication Annual 1976-Current; (Series title; individual volumes cataloged separately)
African American’s Information Directory Ref E 185.5 B52 1998/99
Metro California Media Ref P 88.88 M47 1998
Communication Disciplines in Higher Education Ref P 88.8 E46 1993
Directory of Women’s Media 1992 Ref HQZ 7962 I52
Peterson’s Media Companies P 88.8 P47
Women in Communication: A Biographical Sourcebook P 94.5 W65 W667 1996
Black Women in Television Ref PN 1992.8 A34 H55 1990
Blacks and the Media: Communications Research Since 1978 PZ 5633 A37 W55 1990
Children's Journeys Through the Information Age HQ 784 T4 C24 1999
Control of the Media in the United States Ref PZ 5634 U6 B46 1992
Ethnic and Racial Images in American Film and Television Ref PNZ 5784 M9 W65 1987
Human Communication Behavior and Information Processing Ref PZ 5630 P48 1992
Image of Older Adults in the Media Ref PZ 5633 A39 N84 1992
Political Communication: Rhetoric, Government, and Citizens JA 85 H34 1998
Press and Speech Freedoms in America, 1619-1995: a Chronology Ref PN 4738 P74 1997
Terrorism and the News Media: A Selected, Annotated Bibliography P 96 T472 A43 1994
Unspeakable Images: Ethnicity and the American Cinema PN 19959 M56 U57 1991
American Orators Before 1900 Ref PN 4055 U5 A4 1987
American Orators of the Twentieth Century Ref PN 4193 P6 A44 1987
Black Rhetoric: A Guide to Afro-American Communication 1976 Ref PNZ 1361 N39 G55
Encyclopedia of Rhetoric and Composition Ref PN 172 E53 1996
Handbook of Modern Rhetorical Terms Ref PN 172 W6
Historical Rhetoric: An Annotated Bibliography 1980 Ref PNZ 7004 R5 H57
Index to American Women Speakers: 1828-1978 1980 Ref PSZ 1231 O7 M36
Representative American Speeches 1939-Current; PS 668 R4
Speech Index 1935-1980; Ref PNZ 6514 S7 S75
Vital Speeches of the Day 1934-Current; 3 South-Periodicals (Also in EBSCOhost Academic Elite)
We Shall be Heard: An Index to Speeches by American Women, 1978 to 1985 Ref PSZ 1231 O7 M37 1988
CIOS: Communication Institute for Online Scholarship http://wwwciosorg
AJR Newslink (American Journalism Review)
http://ajrnewslinkorg/menuhtml
Offers journalism professionals articles on current US journalism topics. It also provides links to over 8,000
magazines, news services, and newspapers (including small-town weeklies, campus papers, and alternative papers) in
the US and around the world.
American Communication Association http://wwwuarkedu/~aca/acastudiescenterhtml
Provides an annotated list of communication-related links organized by the sub-fields of Communications Studies.
Each of the sub-field categories leads to dozens of further links to web resources in that field.
Douglass: Archives of American Public Address http://douglassspeechnwuedu/
Appropriate for general scholarship in rhetorical history. Speeches may be searched by speaker, by title,
chronologically, or by topic.
Finding Data on the Internet: A Journalist’s Guide
http://wwwrobertnilescom/data
Designed by a professional journalist as an electronic resource to general data and statistical sources for other
journalists. Crime, demographics, law, and other broad categories are represented.
The Freedom Forum Online http://wwwfreedomforumorg/
A nonpartisan, international foundation, dedicated to free press and free speech. Stories and documents are
updated daily.
American Communication Journal http://www.acjournal.org/
The American Communication Journal is the premier online scholarly, refereed journal dedicated to the study of
communication. The ACJ is published by the American Communication Association.
Journal of Computer-Mediated
Communication http://ascusc.org/jcmc/
A publication of the Annenberg School for Communication, University of Southern California. Focuses on the
communication research implications of new forms of electronic media.
Back to the top of the page
FINDING BOOKS IN EUREKA - Eureka is a catalog of items owned by the CSUS Library. Books can be searched for in Eureka by title, author, keyword and Library of Congress Subject Headings. LC Subject Headings are helpful because they organize all of the books on a topic under one subject heading. Try the following examples:
| Business Communication | Content Analysis |
| Information Theory | Journalism |
| Mass Media | Rhetoric |
Try a subject search and browse the list of subject headings that come up. If this doesn't work, try a keyword search.
FINDING ARTICLES IN THE LIBRARY: Electronic Databases
The following databases are suggested for articles on this topic. To access them, go to the Library's Homepage and select "Databases and Periodical Indexes" from the menu. If you are not on campus, consult the Remote Access Help Page for instructions.
EBSCOhost: Academic Search (1990-current) for magazine and journal articles.
ERIC (1966-current) for articles in education periodicals.
Infotrac: Expanded Academic (1980-current) for magazine and journal articles.
PsycINFO (1887-current) for scholarly articles in psychology journals.
Print Indexes & Bibliographies
Communication Abstracts 1978-1991 in Lower Level, 1992-current in Index Area P 87 .C59733
(Also searchable in EBSCOHost Academic Search)
Back to the top of the page
Back to the Subject Guides & Databases page
|
Questions/comments to:
Created 9/2001
html by Tim Sturm
|
Was this page helpful?
Yes
No
Comments or Suggestions |