Library Home Citing Electronic Resources
Composed by Bill Budge/Updated by Anne Bradley

Turabian (Chicago Style) Examples of Citing Electronic Resources

CD-ROM E-Mail Electronic Book Gopher Mailing List (Listserv) Telnet Usenet News Groups World Wide Web
Factiva EBSCOhost ERIC Ethnic NewsWatch InfoTrac Ideal LexisNexis Academic Universe Proquest/ABI/Inform


Personal E-Mail Citation - Turabian (Chicago) Style

Batt, Fred, [fredbatt@csus.edu]. "Net at 2 Rivers Contract," Private e-mail message to Anne Bradley, [budgewd@csus.edu] 6 Nov. 1998.
Format
Sender, [Sender's E-mail address]. "E-Mail Subject Line," (Indent)...the words Private e-mail to (recipient),` [Recipient's e-mail address], Date E-mail Sent - day month yr.

Return to Top of Page


World Wide Wide Citation - Turabian (Chicago) Style

Budge, Bill, Hypertext Subject Index to the Dow Jones Interactive - Educational Subscription [online] (Sacramento, Calif.: CSU, Sacramento, 1995, accessed 15 Sept. 1998); available from http://www.csus.edu/csuslibr/lib119/dow-ind3.htm; Internet.
Format
Author of Web Page Document, Title of Web Page in italics, (Indent)the word [online] in brackets. (Place of Publication,Publisher, Date of Publication - latest update), the word accessed date of access - day month year); the words available from URL address and path to Web Page; the word Internet.

Return to Top of Page


Electronic Book Citation from netLibrary - Turabian (Chicago) Style

Korten, David C. The post-corporate world:life after capitalism,San Francisco, Calif. : Berrett-Koehler, 1999
<http://www.netLibrary.com> (3 Apr. 2001).
Format
Author's Name (if known), Title of Complete Work, Place of Publication & Publisher, date of Internet publication, <URL> (Date of access).

Return to Top of Page


Gopher Citation - Turabian (Chicago) Style

Alexander, Kim, Democracy Online: an Evaluation of the 1994 California Online Voter Guide.[online] gopher://gopher.cpsr.org:70/00/pub/cal_voter_foundation/democracy_online; 12 Nov. 1998; Internet.
Format
Author, Document Title in italics. (Indent) the word [online] in brackets gopher Internet address/Path/Filename; Access date - day month year; the word Internet.

Return to Top of Page


USENET Citation - Turabian (Chicago) Style

Mcrell, C., [cmc@halcyon.com] "Re:Worldwide Hospital Listing" In [bit.listserv.buslib-l] , 18 July 1997; Internet.
Format
Author's name [Author's e-mail address] "RE:Subject Line" (Indent)In [Newsgroup name] Re: message heading posted to newsgroup - day month yr; the word Internet.

Return to Top of Page


Mailing List Citation - Turabian (Chicago) Style

Butler, Barbara, [butlerb@sonoma.edu] "International Organizations Websites" In BUSLIB-L . [buslib-l@vmulvm.uiowa.edu] 16 July 1998; Internet.
Format
Author, [Author's e-mail address] "Subject Line" (Indent)In Mail Listserv Name. [listserv address] Date posted to Mail List - day month year; the word Internet.

Return to Top of Page


Telnet Citation - Turabian (Chicago)

Overmyer, E., "Serving the reference needs of children", Wilson Library Bulletin June 1995 69 (3) [online] telnet:dewey.lib.ncsu.edu/ElectronicTexts/Magazines/Wilson Library Bulletin/June1995; 21 July 1995; Internet.
Format
Author ( if given) , "Title of Article" ,Title of Periodical in italics (Indent)the word [online] in brackets telnet://Internet address/Path/Filename; Date of File Retrieval - day month year; the word Internet.

Return to Top of Page


CD-ROM Citation - Turabian (Chicago) Style
Swett, Clint , "Someday Another Silicon Valley", Sacramento Bee 27 Oct 1996, Pg. A1 [CD-ROM] New Canaan, CT/Newsbank.
Format
Author(if given), "Title of article", Title of periodical in italics, (Indent) Publication date, if available, vol., issue no. section/paging the word [CD-ROM] in brackets; Supplier/Database name (Database identifier or number, if available) Item or accession number

Return to Top of Page


ERIC Journals (EJs) & Documents (EDs) - Turabian (Chicago) Style

ERIC Journal Cites are here limited to citations of abstracts, not the full-text sources. Check with your instructor to make sure that citing abstracts is permissable

ERIC EJs & EDs from the CD-ROM Network

Davis,-Robin-K.; Lombardi,-Thomas-P. "The Quality of Life of Rural High School Special Education Graduates: A Follow-Up Study," In: Rural Goals 2000: Building Programs That Work, 1996, [CD-ROM] SilverPlatter, ERIC. ED394765.

Deutsch-Berney,-Tomi; Ticke,-Lynne. "Abstract of Kindergarten Plus: Integrating Children with Disabilities into Early Childhood Classrooms", ERS-Spectrum.v13 n4 p36-40, Fall 1995, [CD-ROM] SilverPlatter, ERIC EJ517762.
Format
Author(s). [Abstract of Title, Journal Title in italics. volume(issue no.0; paging; Publication date, if available the word [CD-ROM] in brackets, Supplier of CD-ROM, ERIC Item or accession number.

Return to Top of Page


ERIC EJs & EDs from First Search - Online

Davis,-Robin-K.; Lombardi,-Thomas-P. "Abstract of The Quality of Life of Rural High School Special Education Graduates: A Follow-Up Study" In: Rural Goals 2000: Building Programs That Work [online] Eureka/Gateway/FirstSearch/Education/ERIC ED394765; 12 Nov. 1998.

Deutsch-Berney,-Tomi; Ticke,-Lynne. "Abstract of Kindergarten Plus:Integrating Children with Disabilities into Early Childhood Classrooms", ERS-Spectrum Fall 1995 .v13 n4 p36-40 [online] Eureka/Gateway/FirstSearch/Education/ERIC EJ51776212 12 Nov. 1998.
Format
Author(s). "Abstract of Title" Journal Title in italics, volume(issue no.), paging, Publication date - day/month/yr (Indent)the word [online] in brackets, Supplier/Database name/Path/File name - Document ERIC number, Access date - day month year.

Return to Top of Page


Proquest (ABI/Inform Global) - Turabian (Chicago) Style

Fisher, Dave "Defrauding the fraudsters". America's Network 7 January 1999, pg. 53-54 ;
[Online]; available from Proquest Direct/ABI/Inform Global; 18 Nov. 1998.
Format
Author. "Title of Article". Title of Periodical in italics. Date of Publication, page no. (Indent) the word [Online] in brackets; the words available from Proquest Direct/ABI/Inform Global; Access date - day month year.

Return to Top of Page



EBSCOhost - Turabian (Chicago) Style

Garland, Susan B. " Microsoft Takes It Down to the Wire ".
Business Week 24 May 1998, v103 n7 p53-54; [online]; Eureka/Gateway/EBSCOhost; 22 Nov. 1998.
Format
Author (if given) "Title of Article," Title of periodical in italics vol no. & issue no. & pagination; Date of Publication; the word [online] in brackets; Supplier/Path/File name, Access date - day month year.

Return to Top of Page


InfoTrac - The Gale Group- Turabian (Chicago) Style - includes the Academic Index, the Business Index, and the Newspaper Index on the Eureka Gateway.

Periodical Article - Expanded Academic Index ASAP

Shattuck, John. "Prospects of peace with justice in Bosnia" (Transcript). (Indent)US Department of State Dispatch 19 Feb. 1996, v7 n8 p53(5); [online]; Eureka/Gateway/Infotrac - The Gale Group/Expanded Academic Index ASAP; 22 Nov. 1998.
Format
Author (if given) "Title of Article," Title of periodical in italics vol no. & issue no. & pagination; Date of Publication; the word [online] in brackets; Supplier/Path/File name, Access date - day month year.

Investment Report - General Business Index ASAP
Maccaffrey, M.A., "Microsoft Corporation - Company Report." ALEX. BROWN & SONS, INC., [Online]; Eureka/Infotrac - The Gale Group/General Business Index ASAP; 22 Nov. 1998.
Format
Author (if given), "Title of Report", Publisher in italics. Date of Publication - day month year, (Indent)the word [online] in brackets; Supplier/Path/Filename, Access Date - day month year.

Return to Top of Page


IDEAL - Turabian (Chicago) Style
Nigg, Erich A, Anne Blangy and Heidi A. Lane "Dynamic Changes in Nuclear Architecture during Mitosis: On the Role of Protein Phosphorylation in Spindle Assembly and Chromosome Segregation". Experimental Cell Research. 24 June 1996, p. 174-180 [Online]; available from; Ideal/All categories. 25 June 1999 .
Format
Author. "Title of Article". Title of Periodical in italics. Date of Publication,page no. (Indent) the word [Online] in brackets; the words available from IDEAL; Access date - day month year.

Return to Top of Page


LexisNexis Academic Universe Citations - Turabian (Chicago) Style

News Article
Swett, Clint, "Someday Another Silicon Valley", Sacramento Bee 27 Oct 1996; Pg. A1; [online]; LexisNexis Academic Universe/General News Topics/Major Papers; 11 Nov. 1998.
Format
Author, "Title of article", Name of Newspaper in italics Publication date; page and section; (Indent)the word [online] in brackets; LexisNexis Academic Universe/Category name/SubFile name; Access date - day month year.

Periodical Article - LexisNexis Academic Universe
Hardy, Eric S. "The people at the top of corporate America" Forbes, 20 May 1996, p.192 [online]; LexisNexis Academic Universe/General News Topics/All magazines; 11 Nov. 1998.
Format
Author (if given) "Article title", Periodical Title in italics, (Indent)Date of Publication - day/month/yr., pagination, the word [online] in brackets; LexisNexis Academic Universe/Category name/SubFile name; Access date - day month year.

Financial Report - LexisNexis Academic Universe
"Intel Corp:Latest Annual Financial date 12/30/95, Latest Quarterly Financial Date 06/29/96" Disclosure 20 July 1996; [online] LexisNexis Academic Universe/Compny Financial Information/Disclosure Reports; 12 Nov. 1998.
Format
"Title of Report ", Database Producer in italics, Publication Date, pagination; the word [online] in brackets; LexisNexis Academic Universe/Category Name/SubFile Name; Access Date - day month year

Court Case - LexisNexis Academic Universe Turabian (Chicago) Style
Sacramento City Univied School District v. Rachel H., 14 F.3d 1398; 1994 U.S. App. LEXIS 1124; (United States Court of Appeals for the Ninth Circuit 1994), [online] LexisNexis Academic Universe/State Legal Research/Cases/California.
Format
Name of Case in roman, Parallel Citations including Lexis Citation; (Indent)(Name of Court the Decided and Date of Decision), the word [online] in brackets; LexisNexis Academic Universe/Category Name/Path to SubFile Name name. NO ACCESS DATE NEEDED

US Code Citation - Turabian (Chicago) Style
Bibliography
Government Organization and Employees. U.S. Code. 5 USCS@706(1997)60; [online]; LexisNexis Academic Index/U.S. Code, Constitution, & Court Rules/USCODE; 14 Nov. 1998
Format
Title of the Code, the words U. S. Code in italics....Title No. @ section no. (Date) in parenthesis; (Indent)the word [online] in brackets; LexisNexis Academic Universe/Category Name/File Name; Date of Access - day month yr.

Return to Turabian (Chicago) Menu

Return to Top of Page


Factiva - Turabian (Chicago) Style

Factiva Newspaper article - Turabian (Chicago) Style
Walter, Bob and Clint Swett "HP Plans Woodland Warehouse. Sacramento Bee 11 Nov. 1996, pg. c1; [Online] available from Factiva; 18Nov. 1998.
Format
Author. "Title of article". Name of Newspaper in italics Publication date, section & page no., (Indent)the word [Online] in brackets; the words available from Factiva; Access date - day month year.

Factiva Periodical Article - Turabian (Chicago) Style
Kirkpatrick, David "Your Next PC May be Japanese". Fortune Magazine 28 Oct 1996, pg. 140+ ; [Online]; available from Factiva; 18 Nov. 1996.
Format
Author. "Title of Article". Title of Periodical in italics. Date of Publication, page no. (Indent) the word [Online] in brackets; the words available from Factiva; Access date - day month year.

Factiva Financial Report - Turabian (Chicago) Style
"Adobe Systems, Inc". Media General Financial Services 11 August 1996, pg. 1-5 [Online] ; available from Factiva/Company Financial Information/Company versus Same Industry; 18 Nov.1998.
Format
"Title of Report" Name of Database in italics. Date of Publication, pagination (Indent)the word [Online] in brackets; the words available from Factiva/Database/Path to Report; Access Date - day month year.


Return to Top of Page


Ethnic NewsWatch - Turabian (Chicago) Style
Stewart, Stevan. "Mary's Barbeque is 'Lipsmacking'". Sacramento Observer. 06 Jan 1999, vol.38, no. 7; [Online]; available from Etnic NewsWatch/English; 25 June 1999.
Format
Author. "Title of Article". Title of Periodical in italics. Date of Publication, page no. (Indent) the word [Online] in brackets; the words available from Ethnic NewsWarch; Access date - day month year.

Return to Top of Page

Return to Table of Contents on Front Page


Send questions, comments or suggestions to: Anne Bradley

Copyright 2001 CALIFORNIA STATE UNIVERSITY, SACRAMENTO. All rights reserved.