CSUS Proprietary Databases
for Full Text Articles on Marketing Research
Business Source Premier
Business Source Premier indexes trade publications, journals,
and market research reports.
Many are accompanied by the FULL
TEXT of the articles along with images. See the instructions
for Connecting
to Library Databases from Off-Campus.
Business Source Premier
Factiva
Factiva - an update and expansions of Dow Jones Interactive
Factiva gives access to, 1,000+ global and local newspapers,
6,500+ magazines, including industry-specific journals and newsletters,
270+ newswires, including Dow Jones, Reuters and The Associated Press,
160+ Media Programs, with transcripts from BBC, ABC, CBS, NBC and more,
9,000 Web sites in more than 20 languages, and 20,000+ Company Reports.
See the instructions for Connecting
to Library Databases from Off-Campus.
Factiva
ABI/INFORM Global
ABI/Inform Global indexes 1000 plus businessperiodical titles from the
most current issue back to 1970 - providing both citations/abstracts and
full text toperiodical articles of the more recent years. Full text often
includes graphic images separately or entire full text in PDF format.
Select the Advanced Search and use the window
templates to AND, OR, and AND NOT your search terms or find search WITHIN
3 words of each other. You may also restrict your searches by date(s)
and record segments: titles only, author, company, publication title,
subject, personal name, and search the text only. See the instructions
for Connecting to Library Databases
from Off-Campus.
ABI/INFORM
Global
Return to Top
World Wide Web Sites For Marketing
- Marketing Virtual Library
- http://www.knowthis.com - Managed by Professor Paul Christ this non-commercial
site is the first site to go to on the WWW. Links to marketing resources
of "Academic interest," Advertising, Careers in Marketing, Marketing
Law, Marketing Research, Database Marketing, Direct Marketing, etc.
- American Marketing Association
- http://www.marketingpower.com/ - Articles and content of the AMA's
eight major publications. Links to special interest and marketing
groups.
- Marketing Magic
- http://www.marketing-magic.biz/resources/ - From the UK, Traynor Kitching
and Associates large site includes links to general marketing and
internet marketing resources.
- MarketingProfs.com
- "Offering "Marketing Know-How from Professors and Professionals,"
MarketingProfs.com is unique in the world of marketing Websites in
that it focuses on the strategies and tactics that marketing firms
use. After a quick free registration, users will have access to MarketingProfs.com's
collection of articles, tutorials, and marketing FAQs. Written by
a fleet of marketing professors and professionals, these resources
are all top-notch -- well-written, insightful, and up-to-date." [EM]
The Scout Report
- Green Book - http://www.greenbook.org/greenbook/search.cfm
- Worldwide directory to Marketing Research Companies. Search by criteria,
i.e., geographic, industries researched, etc.
- bizjournals - http://www.bizjournals.com/
- Try this site to keyword search 35 business journals of some of
the larger metropolitan areas including Sacramento,
San Jose, and San Francisco. Both
current and retrospective, this is a good site to find full text articles
on public and private companies of regional interest. For instance
a search on Kaiser Permanente on January 29, 2003 resulted in 42 articles
in the last 30 days.
Return to Top
Marketing Plans
Advertising
- Advertising
World University of Texas - http://advertising.utexas.edu/world/index.asp
- Comprehensive listing to advertising links on the World Wide Web.
- Marketing on the Internet
- http://iws.ohiolink.edu/moti/ - Sponsored by OhioLink, Marketing
on the Internet provides "an overview of the dramatic way that the
Internet is impacting all aspects of marketing." The information on
this fascinating site is presented in five sections: Market Research,
Product, Place, Promotion, and Price. Each section showcases online
data that present the effects of the Internet on each of these five
elements. By far, the strongest section of this online tutorial is
the Market Research section, which contains both statistics and secondary
information." The Scout Project [EM]
- American Association of Advertising
Agencies (AAAA) - http://www.aaaa.org/ - The national trade organization
representing the advertising agency business.
- Advertising Educational Foundation
- http://www.aded.org/
- Advertising Age - http://www.adage.com/
- Industry data, calendar of marketing conferences and events, and
"Account Action".
- Advertising Law - http://www.arentfox.com/quickGuide/businessLines/advert/advertisingLaw/advertisinglaw.html
- Arbitron
- http://www.arbitron.com/cable/ratings_reports_freestudies.htm -
Free studies from this collector of radio ratings.
Demographics
- Demographic
Statistics (SSBA -Whitehouse) - URL: www.whitehouse.gov/fsbr/demography.html.
This site highlights national demographics of general interest,
i.e., housing, income and earnings, education, crime, etc.
- Consumer Expenditure Survey
- URL: www.bls.gov/cex/ - The Bureau of Labor Statistics collects
information from the nation's households and families on their buying
habits (expenditures), income, and characteristics. The strength of
the survey is that it allows data users to relate the expenditures
and income of consumers to the characteristics of those consumers.
- U.S. Bureau
of the Census. Population Division - URL: www.census.gov/ftp/pub/population/www
- particularly good for state and county market growth or decline
is the link "State and County Quickfacts".
- Electronic Map Library
-URL: 130.166.124.2/library.html - Provided by the Department of Geography
at California State University, Northridge, the Electronic Map Library
site hosts Professor William Bowen's excellent collection of digital
atlases. Atlases were available for the entire United States; all
of California; Boston; Washington, D.C.; Los Angeles; San Francisco;
San Diego; Sacramento; and New York City. Each atlas is based
on census data (which is also linked to the site) and is divided into
at least four principle topics: Population and Race, Income, Poverty,
Adult Educational Attainment. Maps have yet to be undated with
2000 census data.
- Sperling's Best Places
- compare any city with any other city in the USA by people, economy,
housing, health, crime, education, climate and transportation. Also,
available are demographics on school districts and climate profiles.
- Saurage Research - http://www.saurageresearch.com/keyfindings_marketplan.htm Provide free "key findings" newsletter with brief statistics.
- County and City Data
Books - URL: fisher.lib.virginia.edu/ccdb - From GeoStat of the
University of Virginia. "This resource provides WWW access to the
electronic versions of the 1944 -1984, and 1988 - 2000 County and City Data Books.
This service provides the opportunity to create custom printouts and/or
customized data subsets. ... By converting these files into SPSS files
and then merging them into a single file for each year/level, we are
able to offer a more flexible and convienent point of access."
- The Right Side -
URL: www.easidemographics.com/ - match 12 geographies (zips, cities,
counties, msa's, tv markets, etc.) with 12 reports (education; age
by sex by race, ethnicity; employment). 1 M pages of census data.
Opinion Polls
- Gallup - URL: www.gallup.com/
- Includes overnight phone polls, i.e., - August 17, 1998 "Now, thinking
about Bill Clinton as a person, do you have a favorable or unfavorable
opinion of him." And key Gallup measures along with an archive of
key public opinion polls since March of 1966 (use with the FIND feature
under EDIT on the browser).
- California
Field Poll - URL: field.com/fieldpollonline/subscribers/
- Public Opinion Quarterly URL:
www.aapor.org/
- The Polling Report -
URL: www.pollingreport.com/ - "Updated whenever a new poll is released,
the site provides a daily glimpse into public opinion trends. Users
may select from polls grouped in three categories (Politics and Policy,
Business/ Economy, or The American Scene)"...Internet Scout Project
[MD]
- Polling
the Nations - CSUS authentication required.
- National Opinion Research
Center (NORC) - URL: www.norc.uchicago.edu/ - Conducts survey
research in the public interest for government agencies, educational
institutions, private foundations, non-profit organizations, and private
corporations.
- Public Agenda - URL:
www.publicagenda.org/ - is one place to go to get the results of many,
if not all, of the polls taken on issues running the alphabetical
gamut from abortion to welfare.
Return to Top
Send questions, comments or suggestions to: Anne
Bradley
Copyright © 2001 CALIFORNIA
STATE UNIVERSITY, SACRAMENTO. All rights reserved.
|