Library Home Citing Electronic Resources
Composed by Bill Budge/Updated by Anne Bradley
MLA Examples of Citing Electronic Resources
CD-ROM E-Mail Electronic Book Gopher Mailing List (Listserv) Telnet Usenet News Groups World Wide Web
Factiva EBSCOhost ERIC Ethnic NewsWatch InfoTrac SearchBank Ideal LexisNexis Academic Universe Proquest

Personal E-Mail Example - MLA Style

Smith, Byron. smithb@ccvax4.vanderbilt.edu "Lexis/Nexis Tutorial." 23 June 1996. Personal e-mail. (24 June 1996).
Format
Author. Author's e-mail address "Subject Line in quotations." Date e-mail was posted (day month yr). the words Personal e-mail In parenthesis the date E-mail was read.


World Wide Web Cite - MLA Style

Budge, Bill. Lexis/Nexis Tutorial - The Fundamentals.14 June 1995. Online. California State University Library Available:http://www.csus.edu/indiv/b/budgeb/lex-nex1.htm (17 September 1996).
Format
Author. Document Title in italics. Date of Last revision - day month year. the word Online. Source of Electronic Text. Available: URL - WWW site/search path/file name. In parenthesis Date Accessed - day month yr.

Return to Top Page


CD-ROM Citation - MLA Style

Swett, Clint . "Someday Another Silicon Valley". Sacramento Bee. 26 October 1996, Pg. A1 CD-ROM. Available:Newsbank.
Format
Author (if given). "Title of Article in quotations". Title of Periodical in italics. Date of Publication (day month yr), paging the word CD-ROM. Available:Producer. No Date of search needed for CD-ROM

Return to Top Page


LexisNexis Academic Universe Cites - MLA Style

News Article - Citation (LexisNexis) - MLA Style

Swett, Clint. "Someday Another Silicon Valley." Sacramento Bee 26 October 1996: Pg. A1. Online. Lexis Academic Universe. General News Topics/Major Newspapers. (11 November 1999).
Format
Author (if given). "Title of article in quotations." Name of Newspaper in italics Date of Article - day month year: Section and page no. the word Online. the words LexisNexis Academic Universe. Library Name/Database grouping. In parenthesis the date of search - day month year.

Periodical Article Citation (LexisNexis Academic Universe) - MLA Style

Hardy, Eric S. " The people at the top of corporate America." Forbes 20 May 1996: p.192. Online. Lexis Academic Universe. General News Topics/All Magazines. (11 Nov. 1998).
Format
Author. "Title of Article". Title of Periodical in italics Date - day month year: Vol no.( & issue no.) - if given. the wordOnline. LexisNexis Academic Universe. Library name/File name. In parenthesis the date of search day month year.

Financial Report Citation (LexisNexis Academic Universe) - MLA Style

"Intel Corp:Latest Annual Financial date 12/30/98, Latest Quarterly Financial Date 06/29/98." Disclosure Reports 20 July 1998. Online. LexisNexis Academic Universe. Company Financial Information/Disclosure Reports. (12 November 1998).
Format
"Title of Report." Name of Database in italics Date of Report - day month year. the wordOnline. the words LexisNexis Academic Universe. Library Name/File Name. In parenthesis the date of search - day month yr.

Court Case Cites (LexisNexis Academic Universe) - MLA Stle - cites vary according to jurisdictions (see Li & Crane - 2nd ed. 1996)

"Sacramento City Univied School District v. Rachel H." (12 August 1993) Federal Reporter, 3rd Supp.14 (1993) 1398. Online. LexisNexis Academic Universe. State Legal Research/Case Law:State/California. (12 November 1998).
Format
"Name of Case."(Date of Case) Reporting Service in italics (Jurisdiction, if relevant) Volume(Date): paging. the word Online. the words LexisNexis Academic Unviverse. Library Name/Path to Subfile Searched. In parenthesis the date of search - day month year.

Statute Citation (LexisNexis Academic Universe) - MLA Style

"Taxpayer Bill of Rights 2." Pub. L. 104-168 United States Statutes at Large 110(1996) 1143+. Online. LexisNexis Academic Universe. U.S. Code, Constitution, & Court Rules/US Code. (14 November 1998).
Format
"Title of Act." Pubic Law No. Version of the Statute in italics Volume (Date) page no. the word Online. LexisNexis Academic Universe. Library name/file name. In parenthesis the date of search - day month year.

Return to Top Page



Factiva - MLA Style

Factiva Newspaper article - MLA Style
Walter, Bob and Clint Swett . "HP Plans Woodland Warehouse." Sacramento Bee 11 November 1996: pg. c1. Online. Factiva. (18 November 1998).
Format
Author. "Title of article." in quotations Name of Newspaper in italics Date of article - day month year: Section & page. the word Online. Factiva. In parenthesis Date of search - day month year.

Factiva Periodical Article - MLA Style

Kirkpatrick, David. "Your Next PC May be Japanese." Fortune Magazine 28 October 1996: pg. 140+. Online. Factiva. Publications Library/Business and Trade Publications. (12 November 1998).
Format
Author. "Title of Article" in quotations Title of Periodical in italics. Volume no.(Issue no.) -if given. Date of Publication: pagination. the word Online. Factiva. In parenthesis Date of search - day month year.

Factiva Financial Report - MLA Style

"Adobe Systems, Inc." Media General Financial Services 11 August 1996: pg 1-5. Online. Factiva. MG/Company versus Same Industry (12 November 1998).
Format
"Title of Report." in quotations Name of Database in italics Date of Report - day month year: pagination. The word Online. Factiva. Factiva File/Subfile. Date of search - day month year.

Return to Top Page Top of Page


EBSCOhost - MLA Style

Journal Article

"Gigabit Ethernet standards push." Electronic News v 44, n 2227, 13 July 1998: p 2. Online. EBSCOhost. Academic Search Elite (26 June 1998).
Format
Author - Last name, First name (if given). "Title of Article". Title of Periodical in italics Vol no.( & issue no.) Date - day month year: - if given. the wordOnline. Database Name. Library name/File name. In parenthesis the date of search - day month year.

Return to Top Page Top of Page

Ideal - MLA Style

Journal Article

Nigg, Erich A., Anne Blagy and Heidi A. Lane. " Dynamic Changes in Nuclear Architecture during Mitosis: On the Role of Protein Phosphorylation in Spindle Assembly and Chromosome Segregation." Experimental Cell Research v 229, n 2, December 1996: p 174-180. Online. Ideal/All categories. (26 June 1998).
Format
Author. "Title of Article". Title of Periodical in italics Date - day month year: Vol no.( & issue no.) - if given. the wordOnline. Lexis Academic Universe. Library name/File name. In parenthesis the date of search - day month year.

Return to Top Page Top of Page


Ethnic NewsWatch - MLA Style

Stewart, Stevan. "Mary's Barbeque is 'Lipsmacking': Mary Eddings say her restaurant has the best food in Sacramento." Sacramento Observer Vol. 38(7) Jan. 6, 1999. Online. Ethnic NewsWatch/English. (25 June 1999).
Format
Author. "Title of Article" in quotations Title of Periodical in italics. Volume no.(Issue no.) -if given. Date of Publication: pagination. the word Online. Supplier. Database Name. In parenthesis Date of search - day month year.

Return to Top Page



Proquest Direct - Periodical Article - MLA Style

Higgins, Kevin T. "The Anytime, Anywhere Phone Company." Marketing Management Vol. 8(1) Spring, 1999: pg. 4-7. Online. Proquest Direct/UMI Company. ABI/Inform Global. (12 November 1998)
Format
Author. "Title of Article" in quotations Title of Periodical in italics. Volume no.(Issue no.) -if given. Date of Publication: pagination. the word Online. Supplier. Database Name. In parenthesis Date of search - day month year.

Proquest Direct - Newspaper article - MLA Style

Jenkins, Bruce. "In NBA Finals, Forget the Kids." San Fransisco Chronicle 22 May 1999: pg. B2. Online. Proquest Direct. Proquest Newstand. (18 June 1999).
Format
Author. "Title of article." in quotations Name of Newspaper in italics Date of article - day month year: Section & page. the word Online. Supplier/Vendor. Database Name. In parenthesis Date of search - day month year.

Return to Top Page


ERIC Journals (EJs) & Documents (EDs) - MLA Style

ERIC Cites are here limited to citations of abstracts, not the full-text sources. Check with your instructor to make sure that citing abstracts is permissable.


ERIC EJs & EDs from the CD-ROM Network - MLA Style

Davis,-Robin-K.; Lombardi,-Thomas-P. Abstract of "The Quality of Life of Rural High School Special Education Graduates: A Follow-Up Study." In: Rural Goals 2000: Building Programs That Work 9 p. CD-ROM. SilverPlater/ERIC ED394765.

Deutsch-Berney,-Tomi; Ticke,-Lynne. Abstract of "Kindergarten Plus: Integrating Children with Disabilities into Early Childhood Classrooms." ERS-Spectrum 14 June 1994. v13 n4: p36-40. CD-ROM SilverPlater/ERIC EJ517762
Format
Author(s). Abstract of "Title in quotations." JournalTitle in italics Date of Publication - day month year. volume (issue no.):paging. The word CD-ROM Supplier/Database name. Item or accession number. NO date of search.
ERIC (EJs) & (EDs) from First Search - Online

Davis,-Robin-K.; Lombardi,-Thomas-P. Abstract of "The Quality of Life of Rural High School Special Education Graduates: A Follow-Up Study." In: Rural Goals 2000: Building Programs That Work 9 p. Online. Eureka/Gateway/FirstSearch/Education/ERIC ED394765. (12 November 1996).

Deutsch-Berney,-Tomi; Ticke,-Lynne. Abstract of "Kindergarten Plus: Integrating Children with Disabilities into Early Childhood Classrooms". ERS-Spectrum.v13 n4: p36-40 Online. Eureka/Gateway/FirstSearch/Education/ERIC EJ517762 (12 November 1996).
Format
Author(s). Abstract of "Title in quotations." Journal Title in italics Volume(issue no.): paging. The word Online.. Supplier/Database name/Path/File name - Database identifier or number, if available. Item or accession number. In parenthesis Date of search - day month year.

Return to Top Page


InfoTrac - SearchBank - MLA Style - includes the Expanded Academic Index, and the General Business Index on the Eureka Gateway.

Periodical Article - Expanded Academic Index ASAP - MLA
Shattuck, John. "Prospects of peace with justice in Bosnia." (Transcript) US Department of State Dispatch 19 February 1996 v7 n8 p53(5). Online. The Gale Group, Academic Index ASAP. (22 November 1996.
Format
Author. "Article Title." Title of Periodical in italics Date of Publication - day month yr. vol. no. & issue no. and pagination. the word Online. Supplier, File Name. Date of search - day month yr.

Investment Report - General Business Index - MLA

Maccaffrey, M.A. Microsoft Corporation - Company Report. ALEX. BROWN & SONS, INC. 12 August 1996 Online. The Gale Group, General Business Index ASAP. (22 November 1996).
Format
Author. Title of Report in italics Publisher. Date of Publication - day month yr. the word Online. Name of Information Supplier, Name of File. In parenthesis the Date of search - day month yr.

Return to Top Page


Electronic Book Citation from netLibrary - MLA Style

Helliwell, John F. How Much Do National Borders Matter?.
Washington, D.C.:Brookings Institution Press, 1998. 3 Apr. 2001.
<http://www.netLibrary.com>
Format
Author. Title of the Book. Place of Publication, Publisher, and Date of Publication. Edition(if available) Access Date. <URL>

Return to Top Page


Telnet Citation - MLA Style

Gomes, Lee. "Xerox's On-Line Neighborhood: A Great Place to Visit." Mercury News. 3 May 1992. Online. Xerox Corp Available Telnet:lamba.parc.xerox.com 8888, @go #50827, press 13. (5 December 1998).
Format
Author (if known). "Title of Document or Article." in quotations Title of the Periodical or Full Work in italics Date of the Publication - day month yr. Source of Electronic Text (Supplier/Vendor) Available Telnet: the telnet address. Directions to access the publication. In parenthesis Date of search - day month yr.

Return to Top Page


Gopher Citation - MLA Style

Alexander, Kim. "Democracy Online: an Evaluation of the 1994 California Online Voter Guide" Online Voter Guide February 1995. Online. Available Gopher:gopher.cpsr.org:70/00/pub/cal_voter_foundation/democracy_online (12 November 1996)
Format
Author. " Title of Article" in quotations. Title of Publication in italics, if available. Date of Publication - day month yr. the word Online. Available Gopher...the gopher Address with Path to File. In parenthises Date Accessed - day month yr.

Return to Top Page


USENET (Newsgroup) Citation - MLA Style

Bates, Mary Ellen. "Dialog Search Question." 5 Nov. 1996. Online posting. Newsgroup bit.listserv.buslib-l. Usenet. (6 Nov. 1996)
Format
Author's name (if known). "Subject Line from the posting." in quotation marks" Date of Posting - day month yr. the words Online posting. the word Newsgroup Address of the newsgroup. the word Usenet In parenthesis Date of Access - day month yr.

Return to Top Page


Mailing List (Listserv) Citation - MLA Style

Butler, Barbara. "International Organizations Websites." 15 July 1996. Online Posting. Business Librarians. Available E-mail: buslib-l@vmulvm.uiowa.edu (16 July 1998). Discussion.
Format
Author. "Subject Line in quotations." ... Date of Post - day month yr. the words Online Posting. Name of the Mailing List. the words Available E-mail: (Listserv) address. In parenthesis Date Accessed - day month yr. the word Discussion.


Return to TOC Front Page of Electronography
Send questions, comments or suggestions to: Anne Bradley

Copyright 2001 CALIFORNIA STATE UNIVERSITY, SACRAMENTO. All rights reserved.