Library Research Tools
HROB 151 - Management of Human Resources
Prof. Marsha Jeppeson

Presented by Anne Bradley, Business Reference Librarian
bradleya@csus.edu ~ 278-4350 ~ CSUS Library Office 2501
February 23, 2009


CSUS Library Home - http://library.csus.edu

Finding Local Companies

D&B Million Dollar Database
Database includes contact information and other basic facts for public and large private companies.

Reference USA
Access to this database is available at any branch of the Sacramento Public Library or from any computer for Sacramento Public Library cardholders (library card number required for remote database access). Best resource for finding companies in the Sacramento or any other city/county/region in the United States. Search by a combination of industry, location, size, etc.

Finding news and other information about a local company

Sacramento Bee
Search for full-text articles from the Sacramento Bee back to 1986.

Sacramento Business Journal - http://sacramento.bizjournals.com/sacramento/
Articles are available free online from their website. Free registration may be required to access entire article.

Find information on human resource management topics

Business Source Premier
Includes academic business journals, trade journals, industry overviews, company reports, and company SWOT analyses.
Also provides scholarly and trade magazine articles on HR topics.
Hint: Search subject terms such as job evaluation, performance management, empoyees rating of, etc.

ABI/Inform
Great for academic, trade and and national business journals.
Use the Advanced Search screen for more search options.
Hint: Search using subject terms such as: performance appraisal, job evaluation, job descriptions, etc.

Factiva
Use the Companies/Markets tab to get a company profile, latest news, and financials (for public companies only).
Use the News section to find full text for 10,000 publications which are international in scope including newspapers (US national, US regional, and foreign), trade publications, national business publications, business newsletters, business news wires, and some academic journals.

Don't forget we have books!

EUREKA - CSUS Library Catalog - http://eureka.lib.csus.edu/
Do an Advanced Keyword search to find books about your company and industry.
We also have tons of books on many human resource topics!

Need additional resources?

Business & Economics page - http://library.csus.edu/databases/default.asp?mode=bne - Find Resource Guides here!

General Library Information

Citation Style Guides


Library Homepage || Database and Article Searching || Library Guides by Subject

2/20/2009