Tools for Business Research
HROB 101 - Marsha Jeppeson

Presented by Anne Bradley, Business Reference Librarian
bradleya@csus.edu ~ 278-4350 ~ CSUS Library Office 2501
February 23, 2012


CSUS Library Home - http://library.csus.edu

Always a great place to start your business research!
Access library databases from Database and Article Searching Page

Find company and industry information using Database & Article Searching

The CSUS Library provides access to many great business databases which you can use to find articles on your company or HR topic.

Business and Management Databases -
http://xerxes.calstate.edu/sacramento/databases/subject/business-and-management

Business Source Premier
Includes academic business journals, trade journals, industry overviews, company reports, and company SWOT analyses.
Check the boxes next to document types if looking for specific resources.

ABI/Inform
Great for academic, trade and and national business journals including trade journals of HR professionals.
Use the Advanced Search screen for more search options.

Factiva
Use the Companies/Markets tab to get a company profile, latest news, financials and stock price chart.
Browse News Page to scan daily and weekly headlines from some of the most popular news sources.
Factiva also has full text for 10,000 publications which are international in scope including newspapers (US national, US regional, and foreign), trade publications, national business publications, business newsletters, business news wires, and some academic journals.

LexisNexis Academic Universe
Provides company information and news, foreign language newspapers, legal research resources, and accounting professional literature.
Company financials including SEC filings available here.

Mergent Online
Database provides financial information for publicly traded U.S. and International companies.
Create and download individual company reports or company comparison reports.
Data older than 15 years is available in Mergent Web Reports.

Value Line Research Center
Presents a concise analysis of a company's financial performance. Fundamental financials are also included.
Hold mouse over Research Hub then click Investment Survey Plus to start searching for your company.

Useful industry resources

Standard and Poor's Industry Surveys - Ref HG 4921 S65
Provides an overview of 52 major industries and includes major competitors.
Encyclopedia of American Industries -
Has narrative profiles of major industries. Each report describes industry organization and structure, current conditions, industry leaders, and trends.
Encyclopedia of Products & Industries--Manufacturing - Ref HD 9720.5 E53 2008 - Individual products get in-depth analysis including key producers, supply chain, distribution channel, adjacent markets, trends, and target markets.

Don't forget we have books!

EUREKA - CSUS Library Catalog - http://eureka.lib.csus.edu/
Do an Advanced Keyword search to find books about your company or HR topic.
We also have videos and other media you can find by doing a keyword search.

Need more information?

Business and Management Page
http://xerxes.calstate.edu/sacramento/databases/subject/business-and-management

Company Research Guide - http://csus.libguides.com/company

General Library Information

Remote Access Instructions - http://library.csus.edu/content2.asp?pageID=47

APA Style Guide - http://library.csus.edu/guides/rogenmoserd/general/apa.html

OWL at Perdue - APA Style Guide -
http://owl.english.purdue.edu/owl/resource/560/01/

Journal Locator List - http://sfx.calstate.edu:9003/sacramento/az/default


Library Homepage || Database and Article Searching || Library Guides by Subject

2/20/2012