Library Research Resources
MGMT 102 - Business Communications - Professor Jeppeson

Presented by Anne Bradley, Business Reference Librarian
bradleya@csus.edu ~ 278-4350 ~ CSUS Library Office 2501
February 2013



CSUS Library Home - http://library.csus.edu

Getting started with industry overviews

  • IBISWorld
    Provides Industry Market Research reports for more than 700 US industries. Each report is 20-30 pages and is written at the 5-digit level of the official North American Industry Classification System (NAICS).
  • Encyclopedia of American Industries
    Provides detailed information on a wide range of industries in every realm of American business.
    Either type your industry into the Search box at the left to search for your industry or click Table of Contents to browse.
    CSUS Authentication Required.
  • Industry Profiles from Business Source Premier
    Provides market value, segmentation, competitive landscape, and forecast data for selected industries.
    Type your industry or market in the Browse box.

    Standard and Poor's Industry Surveys - Ref HG 4921 .S65 - Provides an overview of 52 major industries and includes major competitors.

Finding more company and industry information using Database & Article Searching

Business Source Premier
Includes company profiles, SWOT analyses, market reports, country reports, industry overviews, and articles.
Type your topic keywords into the boxes.
Check boxes in Document Type if you are looking for a particular type of resource (company report, industry overview, etc.).

ABI/Inform Complete
Strong for academic, trade, and national business journals.

Factiva
Use the Companies/Markets tab to get a company profile, latest news, and financials.
Full text for 10,000 publications which are international in scope including newspapers (US national, US regional, and foreign), trade publications, national business publications, business newsletters, business news wires, and some academic journals.

LexisNexis Academic Universe
Provides company information and news (current and archived), foreign language newspapers, legal research resources, and accounting professional literature.
Company financials including SEC filings available here.

Finding financial information for your company and industry

Value Line Research Center
Presents a concise analysis of a company's financial performance. Fundamental financials are also included. Start by clicking Research Hub then Investment Survey Plus.

Mergent Online
Database provides financial information for publicly traded U.S. and International companies.
Create and download individual company reports or company comparison reports.

Industry Financial Ratios
Ratio sourcebooks contain financial and operating ratios, and composite balance sheet and income statements for specific industries, usually arranged by SIC or NAICS numbers.
Dun and Bradstreet Industry Norms and Key Business Ratios. Ref HF 5681 .R25 I525
RMA Annual Statement Studies. Ref HF 5681 .R25 R6
Almanac of Business and Industrial Financial Ratios. Ref HF 5681 .R25 T68

Yahoo!Finance - http://finance.yahoo.com
Very useful free financial web site. Includes lots of great current financial information for active publicly traded companies.

Don't forget we have books!

EUREKA - CSUS Library Catalog - http://eureka.lib.csus.edu/
Do an Advanced Keyword search to find books about your company and industry.

Need additional resources?

Business & Management page - Find Resource Guides here!

General Library Information

Citation Style Guides

Library Homepage || Database and Article Searching || Library Guides by Subject

Updated: 2/18/2013