|
CIA World Factbook
https://www.cia.gov/cia/publications/factbook/index.html
Provides basic information by country such as geography (location,
area, etc.), people (population, birth rate, death rate, literacy,
etc.), economy (gdp, inflation rate, labor force, unemployment,
etc.), government, communications, military, and transportation.
Doing Business http://www.doingbusiness.org/
Sponsored by the World Bank, this free database provides objective measures of business regulations and their enforcement. Indicators cover topics such as starting a business, employing workers, paying taxes, getting credit, etc.
Euromonitor
publishes the following volumes which are a great source for a
wide variety of economic, demographic, consumer, and marketing
statistics. Updated annually.
European
Marketing Data and Statistics
International Marketing Data and Statistics
European Marketing Forecasts
International Marketing Forecasts
Consumer Europe
Consumer International
Consumer Asia
Consumer Middle East
Consumer USA
World Economic Factbook
|
Ref.
HA 1107 E87
Ref. HA 42 I56
Ref. HC 240 A1 E85
Ref. HF 5410 I58
Ref. HD 7022 C68
Ref. HC 79 C6 C636
Ref. HC 411 C66
Ref. HC 415.15 Z9 C67
Ref. HC 101 C744
Ref. HC 59.15 W67 |
International Data
Base (IDB) http://www.census.gov/ipc/www/idb/
U.S. Bureau of the Census offers summary demographic information
for 227 countries and areas of the world. Easy-to-use menus provide
the most up-to-date country demographics along with projections.
OECD
Economic Surveys Ref. HC 59 O7
Series of monographs, usually updated every one or two years,
each dealing with an individual country's macroeconomic conditions,
changing trade developments, and short-term/long-terms economic
prospects.
Global
Competitiveness Report Ref. HF 1414 G559.
An authoritative, insightful and up-to-date analysis or macroeconomic
and other data measures of comparative economic performance of
the world's countries. Each country receives a "competitiveness
Balance Sheet" profile with ratings on factors such as Competence
of Public Officials, Value Added Tax rate, High Skilled IT Job
Market, etc. which are listed under two columns with the headings
Notable Competitive Advantages and Notable Competitive
Disadvantages. Updated annually.
International
Financial Statistics Ref. HG 3881 I6
Yearbooks providing for up to 30 years of data for the countries
of the world. Import and export data, balance of payments, and
government finance, trade, and commodity price indexes.
OFFSTATS:
Official Statistics on the Web http://www.offstats.auckland.ac.nz/
Links to sites offering free and easily accessible social, economic
and general data from official sources, especially those that
provide both current data and time series. You can click on the
name of a country and get official government statistics, plus
data from other sources (like the United Nations, the CIA, and
the World Bank).
World
Development Indicators (WDI) http://www.worldbank.org
All data available in the print version. Ref. HC 59.15 W656
World Bank's premier annual compilation of data about development.
The World Bank website provides some free charts and graps. Click "Data and Research" then "Data Website" to find the free information.
World
Development Report Ref. HC59.7 E558
Time series comparison data from base years country-by-country
of macroeconomic and demographic variables. Published annually.
Statistical
Handbook on Poverty in the Developing World Ref. HC 59.72
P6 S73
Overview of nearly 200 of the "developing" countries with comparative
data for land areas, population, health, education, and economic
output.
InfoNation
http://www.cyberschoolbus.un.org/infonation/info.asp
This United Nations site provides a means of comparing demographics,
macroeconomic indicators, social indicators, and geographic factors
among up to seven countries in printable tables. Menu-driven and
easy to use.
Political
Risk Yearbook, vols. 1-7 Ref. JX 1252 P65 2001
Lengthy political forecast scenarios (18 months & 5 years) which
cover the business climate, government support or lack of support
for international business, foreign investment policies, economic
conditions, political parties and leaders, labor supply and costs,
and general social stability.
Return
to top
Business
Culture, customs and etiquette
http://www.executiveplanet.com
Detailed information and guidance about business practices, social
customs, and intercultural communication in a wide range of countries.
Culturgrams:
The Nations Around Us Ref. GT 150 C85
Updated every two years, provides concise (4 pages) treatments
of the cultural characteristics of the countries of the world.
Global Road
Warrior : 95-country Resource for the International Business Communicator
and Traveler Ref. G 156.5 B86 G56 2001
Kiss, Bow,
or Shake Hands: How to Do Business in 60 Countries Ref.
HF 5389 M67 1994
International
Addresses and Salutations http://www.bspage.com/address.html
Business etiquette, the customs and traditions that are observed
by businesses in each country. Correct forms of postal addressing
for various countries, along with brief explanations of how to
address men and women in business.
Return
to top
Export.gov
http://www.export.gov/
The U.S. Government Export Portal includes a bounty of resources
including Exporting Basics, Market Research, Trade Leads, Shipping
Logistics and Documentation, etc. Access to some information in
the Market Research section requires free registration.
Exporter's
Encyclopaedia Ref. HF 3011 E9
Updated annually this gives basic mechanics of exporting along
with trade regulations of foreign countries.
Export/Import
Procedures and Documentation Ref. HF 1416.5 J64 2002
Trade
Policy Review (Country) Found in Reference between Ref.
HF 1479 and HF 1625. You can browse or search EUREKA
by Title.
TPRs contain information on each title country covering recent
economic developments, trade and investment policy, market access
in goods, policies affecting trade in goods, selected commercial
sectors, recent economic developments and more.
Office
of the US Trade Trade Representative http://www.ustr.gov/
Reports in PDF format on trade conditions in dozens of countries
worldwide. It's mostly concerned with export barriers to U.S.
goods, but the information is valuable to anyone interested in
foreign trade. Start by choosing a world region or a trade agreement.
Official
site of the World Trade Organization http://www.wto.org/
The international body dealing with the rules of trade between
nations. Links to related sites. Browse by trade topic--e.g.,
goods, services, intellectual property, environment, development,
policy review, dispute settlement, and government procurement.
Return
to top
| FEDERAL, STATE, AND
LOCAL IMPORT/EXPORT ASSISTANCE |
Export.gov
http://www.export.gov/
The U.S. Government Export Portal includes a bounty of resources
including Exporting Basics, Market Research, Trade Leads, Shipping
Logistics and Documentation, etc.
Trade
Information Center http://www.trade.gov/td/tic/
Web site of the International Trade Administration, U.S. Department
of Commerce.
US
Trade and Development Agency http://www.tda.gov/
"USTDA facilitates development in emerging markets by promoting
U .S. partnerships in high priority overseas projects."
TradePort
http://www.tradeport.org/countries/index.html
"California's Gateway to Global Trade."
Sacramento
U.S. Export Assistance Center http://www.buyusa.gov/sacramento/
Phone: 916-566-7170
Email: Sacramento.Office.Box@mail.doc.gov
Address: 1410 Ethan Way
Sacramento, CA 95825
The Commercial Service of the U.S. Department of Commerce is a
federal government agency dedicated to helping small-to-medium
sized companies with their exporting strategies.
Sacramento
Regional Center for International Trade Development
http://www.sacramentocitd.org/
1410 Ethan Way
Sacramento, CA 95825
Phone: 916-563-3200
Offer coaching to assist small-to-medium sized companies with
importing and exporting.
Northern California World Trade Center http://www.norcalwtc.org/
"The NCWTC - a private, non-profit, affiliate of the World Trade Center Association—is dedicated toward enhancing international trade within the Northern California region. The Mission of the Northern California World Trade Center is to facilitate international business in Northern California by offering a one-stop-shop for information, education, technical assistance and networking services that help businesses succeed in the global marketplace."
Return
to top
Foreign
Trade Statistics
http://www.census.gov/foreign-trade/statistics/index.html
U.S. Census Bureau site offers free import/export data. Covers
trade with United States only.
International Trade Statistics Yearbook
Ref. HF 91 U473
Export/import statistics by product for countries around the world.
Direction of Trade Statistics Ref.
HF 91 I65
Data from the IMF tracks for latest 7 yrs. each country's import/export
in US$ with other countries and trading blocks.
Foreign Trade by Commodities Ref.
HF 91 O67
OECD data tracks by commodity trade between one country and others
for latest 6 yrs. import/export trade in United States.
Foreign Trade of the United States
Ref. HF 3000 F67 2001
Time series data extending from 1970/1980 to 1999 of U.S.A. trade
transactions in services and goods to other countries. Also, data
for U.S. States international transactions in goods and
services with countries. Good way of determining trends of exports
along specific product, service and commodity lines to specific
countries.
Hemispheric
Trade and Tariffs Database http://198.186.239.122
Provides tariff information or trade statistics for countries
in North or South America. The searchable data base will be updated
on an annual basis with tariffs available in the second quarter
and trade flows in the fourth quarter of each year.
TradeStats
Express http://tse.export.gov/
From the Office of Trade and Economic Analysis (OTEA), International
Trade Administration, this web site "displays U.S. merchandise
trade statistics at national and state levels in the form of maps,
graphs, and tables for exports, imports, and trade balances. It
also allows you to retrieve, visualize, analyze, print, and download
trade data."
U.S.
Foreign Trade Highlights http://www.ita.doc.gov/td/industry/otea/usfth/
More data on U.S. international trade. "Emphasis is on goods
trade: aggregate exports and imports, U.S. commodity and country/regional
trade balances, and shifts in the commodity composition of U.S.
exports and imports with major trading partners and regions."
USITC
Interactive Tariff and Trade DataWeb http://dataweb.usitc.gov/
U.S. International Trade Commission site provides U.S. import
statistics, U.S. export statistics, U.S. tariffs, U.S. future
tariffs and U.S. tariff preference information. Requires free
registration.
Trade
Statistics Online A nice article from the Trade Information
Center detailing sources for doing international trade research.
Return to top
Use electronic
databases to find articles on your international marketing topics.
Below are the recommended databases for international marketing
research. A comprehensive list of available databases is here:
http://library.csus.edu/databases/
Database access is limited to current students, faculty, and staff
of CSUS. Instructions for off-campus users are here: Off-Campus
Access to Library E-Resources
ABI/Inform
Extensive coverage of international trade topics as well general
business and company news.
Business
Source Premier Provides country reports, market data for countries, as well as articles from across the globe.
Factiva
Huge collection of U.S. and international news sources. Includes
trade journals with international scope.
LexisNexis
Academic Universe Delivers full text coverage of
national and international news from hundreds of newspapers and
news wires. Do a Guided News Search to search World News.
Country Profiles are also available in the Reference
section.
Return
to top
Use the CSUS
online catalog EUREKA
to find books by subject, author, or title. Some useful headings
are listed below.
Balance
of Trade
Competition, international
Corporations, foreign
Export marketing
Free trade |
Foreign
economic relations [country name]
Foreign trade and employment
International business enterprises
International business enterprises - management
International trade |
Return
to top
International Business Meta sites
globalEDGE
http://globaledge.msu.edu/resourceDesk/
Great directory of international business resources categorized
by specific orientation and content. Vast majority of content
is free.
VIBES
http://library.uncc.edu/display/?dept=reference&format=open&page=68
"VIBES provides over 2,000 links to Internet sources of international
business and economic information that are in English and available
free of charge."
The
Federation of International Trade Associations - FITA
www.fita.org/webindex2a.shtml
A comprehensive searchable database of International Trade Web
Resources! More than 7000 links to International Trade / Import-Export
Web sites are annotated and indexed. Searchable in Spanish and
other languages by well organized categories, keywords, or by
country or region.
More Country Resources
BUBL
Link: Countries http://bubl.ac.uk/link/world/index.html
Search for web resources on any particular country from maps,
geology resources, travel guides, political reports, and much
more. Each site on the list has a summary.
International
Monetary Fund - World Economic Outlook http://www.imf.org/external/pubs/ft/weo/2006/01/data/index.htm
Recent international financial developments and provides revised
economic forecasts for emerging and mature economies.
IMF
Staff Country Reports http://www.imf.org/external/pubind.htm
International Monetary Fund Reports on the economic and commercial
conditions of specific countries in full text. Also check Country
Info . The IMF site provides uptodate news sources for country
specific information dealing with economics and trade.
MBendi
http://www.mbendi.co.za/
"This Website is a one-stop resource for business and commercial
information in Africa.... Profiles of 60 countries include
very basic information such as population, government structure,
and leading industries. MBendi also features comprehensive information
on industries ranging from communications and information technology,
to chemicals, to mining." The Scout Report [EM]
U.S. Commercial
Service Showcase Europe http://www.buyusa.gov/europe/
Market research for all the countries of Europe. You can search
by country or by industry, and there's also a calendar of trade
shows and other events. This site is for both U.S. companies who
want to export to Europe, and European companies who want to import
U.S. products.
World
Income Inequality Database http://www.wider.unu.edu/wiid/wiid.htm
The Social Development and Poverty Elimination Division of the
United Nations Development Programme provide the World Income
Inequality Database (WIID) to supply data and information on cross-country
and time level series of income inequalities.
More Import/Export Resources
Global Trade Tutorial http://www.tradeport.org/tutorial/index.html
Tutorial is designed to assist exports of all experience levels by providing a review of exporting materials.
Global
Trade Negotiations http://www.cid.harvard.edu/cidtrade/index.html
Includes "breaking news about trade from worldwide media;
in-depth articles on major issues like biotechnology, e-commerce,
intellectual property, market access, and others affecting trade;
research papers; links to governmental agencies and non-governmental
organizations; statistics, and much more."
Return to top
Return to CSUS Library Business Guides
& Databases
Return to CSUS
Library home page
Send questions, comments or suggestions to:
Anne Bradley
mailto:bradleya@csus.edu
Copyright@2004 Anne Bradley - California State University, Sacramento
|