Find the Industry Code
Industry Overviews
-
Use these tools to analyze the external variables (P.E.S.T.) for your company/industry
-
Standard and Poor's Industry Surveys - Ref. HG 4921 .S65 - Provides an overview of 52 major industries
and includes major competitors.
- Hoovers Handbook of Industry Profiles 2008 - Ref. HD 2328 .H363 2008 - Short industry snapshot.
- Encyclopedia of American Industries - Ref. HC 102 E53 - Has narrative
profiles of major industries. Each report describes industry organization
and structure, current conditions, industry leaders, and trends.
- Encyclopedia of Products & Industries--Manufacturing - Ref HD 9720.5 E53 2008
- Individual products get in-depth analysis including key producers, supply chain, distribution channel, adjacent markets, trends, and target markets.
- Business Source Premier
Check Industry Overview to get a profile on your industry.
Industry Financials
Ratio sourcebooks contain financial and operating
ratios, and composite balance sheet and income statements for specific
industries, usually arranged by SIC or NAICS numbers.
-
Dun and Bradstreet Industry Norms and
Key Business Ratios. Ref HF 5681 .R25 I525
-
RMA Annual Statement Studies.
Ref HF 5681 .R25 R6
-
Almanac of Business and Industrial
Financial Ratios. Ref HF 5681 .R25 T68
- Financial Studies of the Small Business. Ref.
HD 2346 .U5 F55a
Local Competitors
- U.S.
Census Bureau - http://www.census.gov/econ/www/index.html
- The US Census Bureau counts businesses as well as people! This is
a good way to find businesses in a city, zip code, or county. Click Data by Geography
then try County Business Patterns and Economic
Census to find how many companies are in a particular industry
in Sacramento.
- D&B Million Dollar Database
This database lists companies with sales greater than $9 million or 180 or more total employees. Search by city, zip code and/or industry. Provides directory information including address, management, number of employees, and estimated sales.
- LexisNexis Academic
Provides directory information for small, private companies and detailed information for publicly traded companies. Searchable by a combination of industry, location, public/private, sales and/or number of employees.
- D&B Regional Business Directory - Ref. HG 4057
C2 D856 - Gives directory information for companies in Northern California.
Find companies by industry, geography or name.
- Reference
USA - Access to this database is available at any branch of the Sacramento Public Library or from any computer
for Sacramento Public Library cardholders (library card number required
for remote database access). Best resource for finding companies in
the Sacramento or any other city/county/region in the United States.
Search by a combination of industry, location, size, etc.
Target Market
Demographic information for Sacramento can be found in the following
resources:
Lifestyle Market Analyst - Ref HF5415.3 L5 - Provides demographic
and lifestyle information.
Community Sourcebook of ZIP Code Demographics- Ref HA 203 S66
- County edition also available.
MPA:Market Profile Analysis -Sacramento - Ref HC108
S12 M55
American
Factfinder - http://factfinder.census.gov/home/saff/main.html?_lang=en
- US Census data. Use the data under "American Community Survey" to find descriptive data about people in Sacramento. Use "Population Estimates" if you want population counts.
New Strategist Publications provide consumer spending information/market
size information. A few are listed below, do a Keyword Search "new
strategist" in Eureka for a more complete listing.
Best Customers : demographics of consumer demand - Ref HC 79 C6 R87
Household Spending:Who Spends How Much on What -
Ref HC 110 C6 034
The Millennials : Americans born 1977 to 1994 - Ref
HQ 796 M4797
Who's Buying at Restaurants and Carry-outs - Ref
HF 5415.32 W4re 2004
For more resources see "Demographics"
section of Sacramento
Area Marketing Guide.
Library Databases
CSUS Library Home
- http://library.csus.edu
- Library provides access to many great business databases
which you can use to find articles on your product or industry.
- Go to the Database and Article Searching Page to select one or more of the following:
Business Source Premier - Brings
together in a single database industry overviews, company profiles,
and magazine and journal articles.
Check Articles to search for articles on your
topic.
Check Industry Overview to get a profile on your industry.
ABI/Inform - Indexes and abstracts over 1,500
journals and trade publications in all areas of business and management,
many with an international focus.
Use the Advanced Search screen for more search options.
Factiva - Factiva gives access to 1,000+ global
and local newspapers, 6,500+ magazines, including industry-specific
journals and newsletters, 270+ news wires, and 20,000+ Company
Reports.
Type search terms into Free Text box.
Consult Examples for advanced searching techniques.
E.g. Coca-cola same supply chain - Will find articles with both
terms in the same paragraph.
Mergent Online - Provides extensive financial
information for publicly traded U.S. and International companies.
Also includes Industry Reports.
EUREKA - CSUS
Library Catalog - Eureka is a catalog of books, periodicals,
and other items owned by the CSUS Library. Do an Advanced Keyword
search on your topic
Library and General Information
Remote Access
Instructions - http://library.csus.edu/content2.asp?pageID=47
Journal Locator
List - http://sfx.calstate.edu:9003/sacramento/az/default
- How to find if the CSUS Library has a journal in print or if the journal
is full text in a library database.
Suggested Resources for Team Product Case Requirements
B. What to Name Your Product or Service
Do a subject search in Eureka
with "Brand Name Products". You will bring titles such as
The Name is the Game: How to Name a Company or Product.
C. Legal Form of the Company
For books on the legal forms of companies do a SUBJECT search in
Eureka with the phrases:
"New Business Enterprises Finance", "Business Planning"
and "Venture Capital."
D. Organizational Members
For examples of organizational charts, do a Subject search in Eureka
using "Organization Charts."
F. Mission Statements
For examples of Mission Statements do a SUBJECT search in Eureka
with phrase "Mission Statements"
Mission Statements are also found, sometimes, in Annual Reports or
in the "President's Message to Stockholders" often containing
statements of objectives and goals with some ethical content.
G. Objectives
Once again, books with subject heading "Strategic Planning"
"Business Planning" and "New Business Enterprises Finance"
should provide guides for creating your own strategic and financial
objectives.
J. Acquisition Sources and Costs
Contact suppliers listed in some of the following sources:
-
-
Directory of California Wholesalers and
Service Companies - Ref HD 9981.5 C2 C3
Also consult Encyclopedia of Products & Industries--Manufacturing - Ref HD 9720.5 E53 2008
- Individual products get in-depth analysis including key producers, supply chain, distribution channel, adjacent markets, trends, and target markets. Not all products are covered, but you might get lucky!
N. Bibliography
Citation Style Guides - http://db.lib.csus.edu/guides/
Scroll all the way down the page to Writing Guides to find APA and MLA guides which show citation formats, examples, and additional web sites to help you properly compile your bibliography.
|