|
Industry Overviews
Industry Financials
Ratio sourcebooks contain financial and operating
ratios, and composite balance sheet and income statements for specific
industries, usually arranged by SIC or NAICS numbers.
-
Dun and Bradstreet Industry Norms and
Key Business Ratios. Ref HF 5681 .R25 I525
-
RMA Annual Statement Studies.
Ref HF 5681 .R25 R6
-
Almanac of Business and Industrial
Financial Ratios. Ref HF 5681 .R25 T68
- Financial Studies of the Small Business. Ref.
HD 2346 .U5 F55a
- Factiva
Use the Companies/Markets tab to get a company
profile, latest news, and financials.
Ratios for current year only.
Consumer Demographics
We have publications that have consumer demographics by themes
such as age, race, or other quality. These can cover spending habits
for very specific goods and services.
-
American Generations : who they are,
how they live, what they think - Ref. HC 110 .C6 M545
-
The Millennials : Americans under age
25 - Ref. HQ 796 .M55
- Best Customers : demographics of consumer demand
- Ref. HC 79 .C6 R87
- Who's Buying Alcoholic Beverages - Ref.
HF 5415.32 W4al
Many Euromonitor publications have an international scope.
- Consumer International - Ref HC 79 .C6
C636
- Consumer Asia - Ref HC 411 .C66
- Consumer Europe - Ref HD 7022 .C68
- International Marketing Data and Statistics
- Ref HA 42 .I56
Sacramento Consumers and Buying Power
- Lifestyle Market Analyst - Ref HF5415.3
L5 - Provides demographic and lifestyle information.
- MPA: Market Profile Analysis -
Sacramento Ref. HC 108 S12 M55 - Data tool for evaluating
existing markets, locations and for proposed sites for stores and
businesses. Information is arranged by county, zip code, or census
tract.
- California Retail Survey - Ref HF 5429.4
C2 C3 2002 - Annual of retail sales in all California County and major
Cities with comparative rankings such as performance rank, growth
persistence, sales rank, % of statewide sales, per capital income
rank, etc.
- Rand
California - This database has current demographic data
for Sacramento County and for Sacramento MSA. Data included for these
years are race, gender, age, immigration, education, health, etc.
- Counting
California - http://countingcalifornia.cdlib.org/about.html
- Take advantage of information collected by California government
agencies. Click on Geography to get started.
Local Competitors
- U.S.
Census Bureau - http://www.census.gov/econ/www/index.html
- The US Census Bureau counts businesses as well as people! This is
a good way to find businesses in a city, zip code, or county. Use
the County Business Patterns and Economic
Census to find how many companies are in a particular industry
in Sacramento.
- D&B Million Dollar Database
This database lists companies with sales greater than $9 million or 180 or more total employees. Search by city, zip code and/or industry. Provides directory information including address, management, number of employees, and estimated sales.
- LexisNexis Academic
Provides directory information for small, private companies and detailed information for publicly traded companies. Searchable by a combination of industry, location, public/private, sales and/or number of employees.
- D&B Regional Business Directory - Ref. HG 4057
C2 D856 - Gives directory information for companies in Northern California.
Find companies by industry, geography or name.
- Reference
USA - Access to this database is available at any branch
of the Sacramento Public Library or from any computer
for Sacramento Public Library cardholders (library card number required
for remote database access). Best resource for finding companies in
the Sacramento or any other city/county/region in the United States.
Search by a combination of industry, location, size, etc.
Research Guides
Business
& Economics page also links to Resource Guides for Economics
and Business
Database and Article Searching
All databases are accessible from the CSUS
Library homepage: http://library.csus.edu
-
Business
& Economics page - http://db.lib.csus.edu/databases/dbs.php?categoryID=000004302&catName=Business+and+Management - Business students should always start here! Links to business
databases and research guides.
Business Source Premier
Great for academic journals, market reports, company reports, and SWOT analyses.
Click Industry Profiles to browse/search industry reports.
Click Company Profiles or SWOT Analyses to find company reports.
ABI/Inform
Indexes and abstracts over 1,500 journals and trade publications in
all areas of business and management, many with an international focus.
Use the Advanced Search screen for more search options.
Factiva
Full text for 10,000 publications which are international in scope
including newspapers (US national, US regional, and foreign), trade
publications, national business publications, business newsletters,
business news wires, and some academic journals.
Type search terms into Free Text box.
Use Region and Industry boxes to
narrow your search to a specific geographic area and industry.
Consult Examples for advanced searching techniques.
E.g. Coca-cola same supply chain - Will find articles with both terms
in the same paragraph
LexisNexis Academic Universe
Provides company information and news, foreign language newspapers,
legal research resources, and accounting professional literature.
Sacramento
Business Journal http://www.bizjournals.com/sacramento/
This online version has daily headlines and some of the week's top
stories from the print version. Free registration is required.
General Library Information
Remote
Access Instructions - http://library.csus.edu/content2.asp?pageID=47
APA
Style Guide - http://library.csus.edu/guides/blackmer/APAstyle.htm
Citing
Electronic Resources - http://library.csus.edu/guides/bradleya/eography.htm
Journal Locator
List - http://sfx.calstate.edu:9003/sacramento/az/default - Use this
to find the full-text of an article.
|