Printed Style Guides to Citing Electronic Resources
Electronic
Styles:A Handbook for Citing Electronic Information by Xia Li
and Nancy B. Crane Information Today, Inc. Medford, NJ, 1996 - One of
the more complete works on electronic citation, the Xia Li and Nancy
Crane book includes sections on both the APA and the MLA
style. Copies of this work are on the 2nd floor Ready Reference section
under the call no. Ref PN/171/F56/L5 1996.
- The
Columbia Guide to Online Style - Janice Walker. Columbia
University Press, 1998. - 2-North REF/PN171/F56/W35 1998.
- The MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers - 2nd edition -
Large Print
by Joseph Gibaldi Modern Language Associaiton of
America, 1995 - sections 4.8 through the end of 4.9 cover citing
electronic sources. Provides examples of cites for Lexis, Dow Jones
Interactive, OCLC Epic, Dialog, and other online databases.
Ref/PN147/G444/1999
- The Rinehart Handbook for Writers. 4th ed.
by Bonnie
Carter and Craig Skate NY:Harcourt Brace, 1996. 4-North, PE
1408/c36/1996.
- The Scott, Foresman Handbook for Writers. 4th ed.
by
Maxine Hairston and John J. Ruszkiewicz NY: HarperCollins,
1996.4-North, PE 1408/H2968/1996.
- Chicago Manual of Style. 14th ed.
Chicago: University of
Chicago Press, 1993.4-North, REF/Z 253/c57/1993.
- A Manual for Writers of Term Papers, Theses, and Dissertations 6th
ed.
by Kate L. Turabian Chicago, University of Chicago Press,
1996. - surprisingly little treatment of electronic citations. Check
"electronic documents" in the index.2-North,
REF/LB2369/T8/1996.
Return to Table of Contents
Internet Styleguides for Citing Electronic Resources
MLA STYLE
- excellent and easy
to navigate guide to citing electronic sources in all styles (MLA, APA,
Chicago, & the American Chemical Society). Examples and basic
formats are given. You can back up on this site for guidance in citing
print resources.
Basic
Columbia Guide to Online Style - by Janice Walker . MLA
& APA. Synchronous Communications (MOOs,MUDs, and Internet Relay
Chats - IRCs), Gopher Sites, E-Mail, Listservs or Mail Lists, and Usenet
News Groups.
Library
of Congress Learning Center - Citation formats
and examples using the MLA-Style and Turabian-Style (Chicago) for citing
films, photographs, recorded sound, special presentations, and texts
from the LOC Websites. APA-Style is not included.
Online! A
Reference Guide to Using Internet Resourcess -
(http://www.bedfordstmartins.com/online/). " Provides citation styles
for the total range of online information: World Wide Web site, Email
message, Web discussion forum posting, Listserv message, Newsgroup
message, Real-time communication, Telnet, FTP, and gopher sites.
Detailed descriptions and examples of each are given for MLA, APA,
Chicago, and CBE. The guide is helpful in defining distinctions between
citing the whole site versus citing one page or part of a site, and
citing personal versus professional sites."
Bibliographic
Citations - from Dr. Curtis Clark of CalPoly Pomona this is a
concise, one page guide to the elements of bibliographic citation of
both printed and web resources. If you do not know what "Style" is
required (MLA, APA, or Turabian), this is a good guide to use.
OWL
Online Writing Lab - this site from Purdue University not only
is a source of links to MLA & APA Style Guides, but of particular
value, are links to Discipline-Specific Style Guides, i.e.,
anthropology, science and engineering, legal writing, etc.
Beyond
the MLA Handbook - by Andrew Harnack and Gene Kleppinger. To
save time students may wish to link to the authors' "Citing
the Sites" - an excellent short guide to the more common
Internet protocol citations.
Return to Table of Contents
APA STYLE
APA Style
Guide - CSUS Librarian Kathryn Blackmer Reyes' guide to APA
formatting style.
Drexel
Library - Citing Electronic Sources - excellent and easy to navigate
guide to citing electronic sources in all styles (MLA, APA, Chicago,
& the American Chemical Society). Examples and basic formats are
given.
- APASTYLE.org -
URL - http://www.apastyle.org/elecref.html - American Psychological
Association's - many helpful excerpts from the newest (2001) 5th edition
of the APA Publications Manual. Includes formatting and examples for
Citations in Text of Electronic Material, Reference examples for
Electronic Source Materials, General Forms for Electronic Reference, and
more.
- APA Cribsheet
- OWL
Online Writing Lab - this site from Purdue University not only is a
source of links to MLA & APA Style Guides, but of particular value,
are links to Discipline-Specific Style Guides, i.e.,
anthropology, science and engineering, legal writing, etc.
Return to Table of Contents
TURABIAN/CHICAGO STYLE
Return to Table of Contents
Send questions, comments or suggestions to: Anne Bradley
Copyright ? 2001 CALIFORNIA STATE UNIVERSITY,
SACRAMENTO. All rights reserved.
|