Tools for Business Research
EMBA Orientation Fall 2014

Presented by Anne Bradley, Business Reference Librarian
bradleya@csus.edu ~ 278-4350 ~ CSUS Library Office 2501


General Library Information

CSUS Library Home - http://library.csus.edu
Always a great place to start your business research!
Access library databases from Database & Article Searching.

Remote Access Instructions - http://library.csus.edu/content2.asp?pageID=47
Databases are accessible from off campus using your SacLink UserID and password.

Research Guides - http://csus.libguides.com/
These online guides will give you pointers and resources for researching almost any topic taught on campus! Yes, including a host of business-related subjects.

Find company & industry information and research articles using Database & Article Searching

Business Source Premier
Great for academic journals, market reports, company reports, and SWOT analyses.

ABI/Inform
Great for academic, trade and and national business journals.
Use the Advanced Search screen for more search options.

LexisNexis Academic
Provides company information and news, foreign language newspapers, legal research resources, and accounting professional literature.
Company financials including SEC filings available here.

Find financial information for your company and industry

Mergent Online
Provides financial information for publicly traded U.S. and International companies.
Create and download individual company reports or company comparison reports.
Includes 15 years of historical financial information (balance sheet, income statement, etc.), segment data, ratios, stock price data, SEC filings, annual reports and more!
Historical data over 15 years old is available in Mergent Web Reports.

Value Line Research Center
Presents a concise analysis of a company's financial performance. Fundamental financials are also included. Either type in a ticker symbol in the search box at the very top or hold mouse over Research Hub then click Stocks then Investment Survey Plus to get to survey issues.

Industry Financial Ratios
Ratio sourcebooks contain financial and operating ratios, and composite balance sheet and income statements for specific industries, usually arranged by SIC or NAICS numbers.
Dun and Bradstreet Industry Norms and Key Business Ratios. Ref HF 5681 .R25 I525
RMA Annual Statement Studies. Ref HF 5681 .R25 R6
Almanac of Business and Industrial Financial Ratios. Ref HF 5681 .R25 T68

Yahoo! Finance - http://finance.yahoo.com
One of the best, easiest to use, free internet sites for company financial information.

Industry overviews

IBISWorld - Provides Industry Market Research reports for more than 700 US industries. Each report is 20-30 pages and is written at the 5-digit level of the official North American Industry Classification System (NAICS).

Value Line Research Center - Either browse the newest issues or search search by industry name. Value Line lists companies by industry so it is easy to find competing companies. Each section is proceeded by an industry overview.

Encyclopedia of American Industries - Provides industry summaries according to SIC codes.

Standard and Poor's Industry Surveys - Ref HG 4921 .S65 - Provides an overview of 52 major industries and includes major competitors. Available in print in library only.

Marketing Data and Statistics

ABI/Inform Global
Type industry name or product in search box then scroll down to Document Type section and click Market Research box. This will limit search to market research reports.

Local Market Audience Analyst
Provides reports with demographic information, lifestyle behaviors, and PRIZM groupings for 210 Designated Market Areas (DMAs) and 3000+ U.S. counties. Includes Sacramento DMA and Sacramento County
NOTE: Must use Internet Explorer (IE) browser; MAC OS and Firefox, Safari, & Chrome browser are not supported.
Having trouble logging in and using LMAA? Login instructions and tutorials are available here.

Rand California
The Rand California database has historical (1970 -) to current demographic data for Sacramento County and for Sacramento MSA. Data included for these years are race, gender, age, immigration, education, health, etc. This is a good site for building tables of comparative demographic and other time series data for cities and counties in California (including Sacramento).

American Factfinder - http://factfinder2.census.gov/faces/nav/jsf/pages/index.xhtml
This is the gateway to the different Census projects such as 2010 Census, American Community Survey and Population Estimates Program. To find data start by clicking "Topics" or "Industry Code."

The vast majority of our collection of marketing data is held in print in the library. We have terrific resources covering Sacramento, California, United States and the world. Contact me for a consultation.

Don't forget we have books!

OneSearch - CSUS Library discovery tool
Search "Library Collections" then limit to books on next screen if looking for just books. Otherwise, OneSearch looks for books, videos, and journals about your company or business topic.
We have a very large (and growing) collection of electronic books just look for books that say "Online Access!"

Research Guides and Finding Tools

Need help finding more information? Consult our online research guides which include databases, books, and free web sites we recommend for doing research on a particular topic

Business subject research guides are here: http://csus.libguides.com/cat.php?cid=24958
Writing and Citation guides are here: http://csus.libguides.com/cat.php?cid=28769

Citation Linker
Will help you find if we have a specific journal, magazine or newspaper available online or in the library.
Or, use the "Article" tab to see if we have a specific article you are looking for.


Library Homepage || Database and Article Searching || Library Guides by Subject

 

updated 6/24/2014