Library Research Guide
FACS 139 - Global Issues in Textiles and Apparel

Presented by Anne Bradley, Reference Librarian ~ bradleya@csus.edu ~ 916-278-4350
February 11, 2014


Country Background Information

Country Reports from Business Source Premier - This database provides a variety of reports on different aspects of countries including political, economic, investment, and social overviews. Also provides country data such as GDP, employment, production, etc. Type country name to get started. Note: Country Review provides a great overview.

Background Notes of the Countries of the World - online at http://www.state.gov/r/pa/ei/bgn/ or in Reference at Ref D848 .C6 - Brought to you by the Federal Government, these guides include facts on the country's land, people, history, government, political conditions, economy, and its relations with other countries and the United States.

Europa Year Book - Ref D 2 .E87 - Includes narratives and economic statistics on the world's countries. "Recent History" section is current and good for political risk assessment. Updated every year.

Import/Export Data

Foreign Trade Statistics - http://www.census.gov/foreign-trade/statistics/index.html - Brought to you by the U.S. Census Bureau, this site offers free import/export data. Covers trade with United States only.

WTO Member Profiles - http://www.wto.org/english/thewto_e/whatis_e/tif_e/org6_e.htm - Each member of the WTO has a nice profile which includes major trade partners. Select your country then click "Trade Statistics" to get started.

UN comtrade - http://comtrade.un.org/db/default.aspx - Use this commodities trade data website to find top import/export partners. Hint: This guide has step by step instructions for getting "top trading partners".

International Trade Statistics Yearbook - Ref. HF 91 .U473 - Good resource for finding export/import statistics by product for countries around the world. Older editions are located on the Lower Level.

Direction of Trade Statistics - Ref HF 91 .I65 - This IMF publication tracks for latest 7 yrs. each country's import/export in US$ with other countries and trading blocks.

Foreign Trade of the United States - Ref HF 3000 .F67 2001 - Provides time series data extending from 1970/1980 to 1999 of U.S.A. trade transactions in services and goods to other countries. Also, data for U.S. States international transactions in goods and services with countries. Good way of determining trends of exports along specific product, service and commodity lines to specific countries.

Textile Industry Analysis and Trade Policy

Business Source Premier - Provides industry profiles for U.S. and other countries. Hint: Type in textiles in the box and then check Industry Overview in Document Type section.

Export Advantage - http://otexa.ita.doc.gov/ - Office of Textiles and Apparel - Find information on current issues, recent trade acts, trade data, research links and more. Use the Market Reports/Tariffs to find current trade regulations and import/export regulations for your country.

Trade Policy Review (Country) - http://www.wto.org/english/tratop_e/tpr_e/tpr_e.htm - TPRs contain information on each title country covering recent economic developments, trade and investment policy, market access in goods, policies affecting trade in goods, selected commercial sectors, recent economic developments and more. WTO member profiles (http://www.wto.org/english/thewto_e/whatis_e/tif_e/org6_e.htm) also provide helpful information on tariffs.

Export.gov - http://www.export.gov - The U.S. Government export portal. Market Research section provides market research reports for specific industries in foreign countries. Not all countries will have a report for textiles/apparel. Free registration is required to search and view reports.

Web Research Guide

International Business Guide -http://csus.libguides.com/international - If you couldn't find the trade statistics, country data, etc. with the above links, more resources are listed and described in the International Business Guide.


Database and Article Searching

You will have to supplement your research with articles from our online databases. The Business and Management page will link you to the top business databases available at CSUS.

ABI/Inform
Great source for scholarly/research articles as well as national business journals.
Use the Advanced Search screen for more search options.

Business Source Premier
Great for academic journals and industry overview.
Hint: try searching using textile industry or clothing trade and your country's name

Academic Search Premier
Database with coverage of subjects beyond business including economics, development, history and more!
Hint: Try a Subject search using the term: Textile Industry. Click Limit to Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) journals to get scholarly/research articles.

OneSearch - http://onesearch.csus.edu/primo_library/libweb/action/search.do - CSUS Library Catalog
Do an Keyword search to find books about your country. For example, try key words business and Bolivia or try the Subject search under the subject heading "Clothing trade - United States" or "Textiles Industry - Government Policy" or "Foreign Trade Regulation - China".


Library and General Information

Remote Access Instructions - http://library.csus.edu/content2.asp?pageID=47 - Yes, you can access our databases from off campus!

Journal Locator List - http://sfx.calstate.edu:9003/sacramento/az/default - How to find if the Sacramento State University Library has a journal in print or if the journal is full text in a library database.

APA Style Guide - http://csus.libguides.com/APA_Style_Guide - Provides examples of how to cite using APA style. Very user friendly.


Library Homepage || Database and Article Searching || Library Guides by Subject

Updated: 2/10/2014