Tools for Business Research
MBA 202 - Professor Cathy Daly

Presented by Anne Bradley, Business Reference Librarian
bradleya@csus.edu ~ 278-4350 ~ CSUS Library Office 2501
August 23, 2010


CSUS Library Home - http://library.csus.edu

Always a great place to start your business research!
Access library databases from Database and Article Searching Page

Find company and industry information using Database & Article Searching

The CSUS Library provides access to many great business databases which you can use to find articles on your company and industry.

Business and Management Databases

Business Source Premier
Includes academic business journals, trade journals, industry overviews, company reports, and company SWOT analyses.
Check the boxes next to document types if looking for specific resources.

ABI/Inform
Great for academic, trade and and national business journals.
Use the Advanced Search screen for more search options.

Factiva
Use the Companies/Markets tab to get a company profile, latest news, financials and stock price chart.
Browse News Page to scan daily and weekly headlines from some of the most popular news sources.
Factiva also has full text for 10,000 publications which are international in scope including newspapers (US national, US regional, and foreign), trade publications, national business publications, business newsletters, business news wires, and some academic journals.

LexisNexis Academic
Provides company information and news, foreign language newspapers, legal research resources, and accounting professional literature.
Company financials including SEC filings available here.

Mergent Online
Database provides financial information for publicly traded U.S. and International companies.
Create and download individual company reports or company comparison reports.
Data older than 15 years is available in Mergent Web Reports.

Value Line Research Center
Presents a concise analysis of a company's financial performance. Fundamental financials are also included.
Click on Plus Edition and search for your company by name or ticker symbol.

Useful print resources

Standard and Poor's Industry Surveys - Ref HG 4921 S65
Provides an overview of 52 major industries and includes major competitors.
Handbook of Industry Profiles 2008 : Analysis and Trends for 300 Industries
- Ref HD 2328 H363 2008
Encyclopedia of American Industries -
Ref HC 102 E53 - Has narrative profiles of major industries. Each report describes industry organization and structure, current conditions, industry leaders, and trends.
Encyclopedia of Products & Industries--Manufacturing - Ref HD 9720.5 E53 2008 - Individual products get in-depth analysis including key producers, supply chain, distribution channel, adjacent markets, trends, and target markets.

Industry Financial Ratios
Ratio sourcebooks contain financial and operating ratios, and composite balance sheet and income statements for specific industries, usually arranged by SIC or NAICS numbers.
Dun and Bradstreet Industry Norms and Key Business Ratios. Ref HF 5681 .R25 I525
RMA Annual Statement Studies. Ref HF 5681 .R25 R6
Almanac of Business and Industrial Financial Ratios. Ref HF 5681 .R25 T68
Factiva - Available under Companies/Markets tab.

Don't forget we have books!

EUREKA - CSUS Library Catalog - http://eureka.lib.csus.edu/
Do an Advanced Keyword search to find books about your company and industry.
To find books on crisis management try a Subject search - crisis management
We also have videos and other media you can find by doing a keyword search.

Need more information?

Company and Industry Research Guide - http://library.csus.edu/guides/bradleya/bluefr.htm

General Library Information

Remote Access Instructions - http://library.csus.edu/content2.asp?pageID=47
Journal Locator List - http://sfx.calstate.edu:9003/sacramento/az/default

APA Guides and Tools -

Sac State Library Writing guides http://db.lib.csus.edu/guides/ -
Includes APA and MLA style examples (scroll to the bottom of the page to "Writing Guides").

EndNote - Software available for free download to Sac State students. Helps you create bibliographies in pretty much any style (APA, MLA, etc.) Integrates well with Word 2007 for extra ease in bibliography creation. Other free site can also help - e.g.KnightCite, Noodlebib, etc.

APA tutorial - The most exciting video you'll watch online all year - This tutorial goes over the very basics of citing in APA style.

 


Library Homepage || Database and Article Searching || Library Guides by Subject

Updated: 8/23/2010