Business
and Management Databases - http://xerxes.calstate.edu/sacramento/databases/subject/business-and-management
- The CSUS Library provides access to many great business databases
which you can use to find articles on your company and industry.
- Business Source Premier - Includes academic business journals, trade journals, market reports, company reports, and company SWOT analyses.
Check the boxes next to document types if looking for specific resources.
Click on Company Profiles in the right hand column to find a great report on your company.
- ABI/Inform - Indexes and abstracts over 1,500
journals, newspapers, and trade publications in all areas of business and management.
Use the Advanced Search screen to find articles on your company or business communication topic.
- Factiva - Factiva gives access to 1,000+ global
and local newspapers, 6,500+ magazines, including industry-specific
journals and newsletters, 270+ news wires, and 20,000+ Company
Reports.
Click on the Companies/Markets tab to create
a company profile.
Type search terms into Free Text box.
Browse News Page to scan daily and weekly headlines from some of the most popular news sources.
- LexisNexis Academic - Delivers full
text coverage of national and international news from hundreds
of newspapers and news wires. Company reports including SEC filings
are available along with industry and market news.
Click on News then select Business News Publications from the source drop-down menu.
- Value Line Research Center - Lists current company information in one-page summaries along with
investment statistics. Value Line lists companies by industry so it
is easy to find competing companies.
Click on Plus Edition and search for your company by name or ticker symbol.
- Mergent Online - Provides extensive financial
information for publicly traded U.S. and International companies.
Create and download individual company reports or company comparison
reports. Also includes Industry Reports.
- EUREKA - CSUS
Library Catalog - Eureka is a catalog of books, periodicals,
and other items owned by the CSUS Library.
Do a Keyword search on your topic e.g. crisis communication
Do a Keyword search on your company e.g. Wal-Mart
- Journal
Locator List - http://sfx.calstate.edu:9003/sacramento/az/
Use this to answer the age old question "What database provides
the full-text of my article?"
Also tells if the library subscribes to the journal in print.
Useful Print Resources
Standard and Poor's Industry Surveys - Ref. HG 4921
S65
A comprehensive source that provides a basic overview of 52 major
industries and includes statistical tables, charts, current analysis,
recent developments, and company comparisons.
Encyclopedia of American Industries - Ref. HC 102 E53 - Has narrative
profiles of major industries. Each report describes industry organization
and structure, current conditions, industry leaders, and trends.
Encyclopedia of Products & Industries--Manufacturing - Ref HD 9720.5 E53 2008
- Individual products get in-depth analysis including key producers, supply chain, distribution channel, adjacent markets, trends, and target markets.
Handbook of Industry Profiles 2008 : Analysis and Trends for 300 Industries - Ref. HD 2328 .H363 2008
- Brief reports on 300 different industries.
Need more information?
Company
and Industry Guide - http://library.csus.edu/guides/bradleya/bluefr.htm
APA Guides and Tools -
Sac State Library Writing guides http://db.lib.csus.edu/guides/
-
Includes APA and MLA style examples (scroll to the bottom of the page to "Writing Guides").
EndNote - Software available for free download to Sac State students. Helps you create bibliographies in pretty much any style (APA, MLA, etc.) Integrates well with Word 2007 for extra ease in bibliography creation. If your computer has Microsoft Word 2010 make sure to download EndNote X4. Other free site can also help - e.g.KnightCite, Noodlebib, etc.
APA tutorial - The most exciting video you'll watch online all year - This tutorial goes over the very basics of citing in APA style.
|