D&B Regional Business Directory Ref.
HG 4057 C2 D856
Gives directory information for companies in Northern California. Find
companies by industry, geography or name.
D&B
Million Dollar Database
This database lists companies with sales greater than $9 million or 180
or more total employees. Search by city, zip code and/or industry. Provides
directory information including address, management, number of employees,
and estimated sales.
CSUS authentication required
LexisNexis
Academic Universe
Provides directory information for small, private companies and
detailed information for publicly traded companies. Click on Business
on the left side of the screen. Then click Company Profiles
to get to the company search screen. Searchable by a combination of industry,
location, public/private, sales and/or number of employees.
CSUS authentication required
Northern California Business Directory Ref. HF 5065
C2 N6
Lists 21,000 companies in Northern California by product/service category,
name, or geography. Provides directory information including address,
management, number of employees, and estimated sales.
Directory of California Technology Companies Ref. HF
5065 C2 C28
Provides directory information including address, management, number of
employees, and estimated sales for California's tech companies.
Top 25 Book of Lists - Sacramento Ref. HF 5065 S12 B8
Annual. Lists of top Sacramento business appearing in the Sacramento
Business Journal.
California International Trade Register Ref. HF 5065
C2 C27
Index by SIC product and services codes of what California companies export
to which countries or import from which countries.
Reference
USA
Access to this database is available at any branch
of the Sacramento Public Library or from any computer
for Sacramento Public Library cardholders (library card number required
for remote database access). Best resource for finding companies in the
Sacramento or any other city/county/region in the United States. Search
by a combination of industry, location, size, etc.
Return to top
American
FactFinder http://factfinder.census.gov/home/saff/main.html?_lang=en
Premier US Census Bureau web site providing access to 2000 Census data.
Some of the variables include the following which can be arranged by Census
Tract within Sacramento County: Age & Sex, Households & Families, Housing
Units, Housing Value, Owner & Renter Housing Costs, Population, Race,
& Age, Income & Poverty, educational levels, etc. An easy way to start
is to enter a street
address.
Rand
California
Rand California has historical (1970 -) to current demographic
data for Sacramento County and for Sacramento MSA. Data included for these
years are race, gender, age, immigration, education, health, etc. This
is a good site for building tables of comparative demographic and other
time series data for cities and counties in California (including Sacramento).
CSUS authentication required
California
Demographics http://www.dof.ca.gov/html/Demograp/druhpar.htm
"Single official source of demographic data for state planning and
budgeting. " County Population Projections to 2020. Actual and projected
birth rates by county.
California Economic Growth Ref. HC 107 C2 C272
Source for current and projected data on the economy of California by
commercial, agricultural and industry sectors, foreign trade, employment
& occupations, population, households, taxable sales, construction activity,
along with a section on the prospects of four California regions including
the Sacramento region. For more projections see California County
Projections Ref. HC 107 C2 C268.
California: Cities, Towns, & Counties Ref. HA 265 C29
Concise demographic, up-to-date profiles of California municipalities
and counties: population, race, households, labor & employment, income
& poverty, public safety, municipal finance, school systems, etc. Convenient
way to compare communities at a glance.
Counting
California http://countingcalifornia.cdlib.org/about.html
Arranged by topics - geography (region, county, select cities, and state
totals), title of the source or publication, or agency - this is a great
place for finding demographic information for the Sacramento market.
MPA: Market Profile Analysis - Sacramento Ref. HC 108 S12 M55
Data tool for evaluating existing markets, locations and for proposed
sites for stores and businesses. Information is arranged by county, zip
code, or census tract.
State Profile: California Ref. HC 107 C2 C36
Know as Woods and Poole this is a very good printed source of demographic
information on the Sacramento PMSA.
Return to top
Community Sourcebook of County Demographics Ref. HA
203 S65
Updated annually this resource has a "Spending Potential Index" for Sacramento
County measuring the level of Consumer spending against national averages.
For Sacramento it also contains the Distribution of Household Income Distribution
(%), the Average Disposable Income by Age of Householder, Projection to
the Year 2005 of the Number of Households and Families, and Median Household
Income. Population, Racial, Hispanic Origin, Age Distribution, Median
Age, and the ratio of Males/Females are also given for Sacramento County.
Community Sourcebook of Zip Code Demographics Ref. HA
203 S66
Updated annually. Provides the same data as the source above except by
zip code.
Survey of Buying Power Ref. HC 110 C6 S85
An annual publication of Sales & Marketing Management, this
provides the rankings for 323 geographic areas (including Sacramento)
and 210 broadcast markets for categories such as Total Effective Buying
Income (EBI), Median Household EBI, Households with $150K EBI, Total Retail
Sales, Sales in Many Product Lines (13), Total Number of Businesses, and
a Buying Power Index.
California Retail Survey Ref. HF 5429.4 C2 C3
Annual statistics of retail sales in all California County and major Cities
with comparative rankings such as performance rank, growth persistence,
sales rank, % of statewide sales, per capital income rank, etc.
Time series data for 12 years of retail sales and retail outlets. Retail
sales per household along with sales per retail outlet by type are given.
Return to top
| PROFILING THE TARGET CUSTOMER |
Lifestyle Market Analyst Ref. HF5415.3 L5
Annual publication providing a combination of demographic and lifestyle
interests for geographic areas including Sacramento.
New Strategist publishes a variety of books with consumer demographics
based age, race, gender or other theme. While these do not specifically
cover Sacramento, the information is useful for determining spending patterns
in general.
American Marketplace
Best Customers
Household Spending
American Generations
Millennials: Americans Born 1977 to 1994
Generation X: The Young Adult Market
Baby Boom: Americans Aged 35 to 54
Americans 55 and Older: A Changing Market
American Men
American Women
Racial and Ethnic Diversity
Who's Buying Alcoholic Beverages
Who's Buying Entertainment
Who's Buying for Pets
Who's Buying for Travel
Who's Buying Groceries
Who's Buying Health Care
Who's Buying Household Furnishings
Who's Buying Information Prods & Svcs.
Who's Buying at Restaurant's and Carry-outs
Who's Buying Transportation
|
Ref. HA 203 A635
Ref. HC 79 C6 R87
Ref. HC 110 C6 O34
Ref. HC 110 C6 M545
Ref. HQ 796 M4797
Ref. HC 110 C6 M544
Ref. HN 60 R868
Ref. HQ 1064 U5 A66
Ref. HQ 1090.3 A457
Ref. HQ 1421 A486
Ref. E 184 A1 R78
Ref. HF 5415.32 W4al
Ref. HF 5415.32 W4en
Ref. HF 5415.32 W4pe
Ref. HF 5415.32 W4tr
Ref. HF 5415.32 W4gr
Ref. HF 5415.32 Whe
Ref. HF 5415.32 W4ho
Ref. HF 5415.32 W4in
Ref. HF 5415.32 W4re
Ref. HF 5415.32 W4tn
|
Return to top
SRDS produces directories listing contact information and advertising
rates various types of media. The magazine volume lists publications by
product or subject. The radio volume also includes information on station
format.
Business Publications Advertising Source
Consumer Magazine Advertising Source
Newspaper Advertising source
Radio Advertising Source
TV & Cable Source |
Ref. HF 5905 S723
Ref. HF 5905 S725
Ref. HF 5905 S73
Ref. HF 5905 S74
Ref. HF 5905 S745 |
MRI+ http://www.mriplus.com
This web site offers contact and frequency information for magazines.
It also includes circulation for selected magazines. Access to the some
data via the Search feature and Top-Line reports is free with free registration.
Access to the Mediamark Reporter is by paid subscription only.
Return to top
For articles on Sacramento consumers use the recommended databases listed
below. For articles on marketing and consumers in general try databases
listed on this page: http://db.lib.csus.edu/databases/index.php?categoryID=000004302&catName=Business+and+Management
Database access is limited to current students, faculty, and staff of
CSUS. Instructions for off-campus users are here: Off-Campus
Access to Library E-Resources
Sacramento
Bee
Has the full text of articles appearing in the Bee since 1986.
LexisNexis
Academic Universe
Delivers full text coverage of California and national news from hundreds
of newspapers and news wires. Do a Guided News Search and choose
U.S. News in step 1. Choose California for step 2.
Sacramento Business
Journal http://www.bizjournals.com/sacramento/
This online version has daily headlines and some of the week's top stories
from the print version. Free registration is required.
Return
to top
Sacramento
Demographics
American Community
Survey http://www.census.gov/acs/www/
The American Community Survey is a new nationwide survey designed to provide
communities a fresh look at how they are changing. Replaces the long-form questionnaire in the census.
Sacramento
Forecast Project http://www.csus.edu/indiv/j/jensena/sfp/
CSUS Professor Arthur Jensen's project of economic forecasts for North
Central California including the Sacramento Metropolitan Statistical
Area Forecast. Forecasts are available on unemployment, employment,
and taxable sales.
SacSites http://www.sacsites.com/
Based on Geographic Information Systems technology, SacSites is an "interactive
Internet-based mapping application which gives users quick and easy access
to a range of valuable information about Sacramento and its geographic
features. SacSites allows users to view, create, and print maps; perform
site selection searches; develop custom demographic radius reports; access
documents online; and find sources of capital for commercial or business
development."
Sperling's Best Places
http://www.bestplaces.net/
Compare Sacramento to any city within California (349) or the USA by people,
economy, housing, health, crime, education, climate and transportation.
Also, available are demographics on school districts and climate profiles.
Sacramento:
Sources for Government, Statistics and Local Information
http://library.csus.edu/guides/rogenmoserd/general/sacramento.html
Includes Sacramento government links under the headings Government,
Law and City Planning and Statistics.
Electronic Map Library
http://130.166.124.2/library.html
From the Department of Geography at California State University, Northridge
this site provides geographic mapping of concentrations of the following
measured demographic data for Sacramento County: Population, Citizenship
(Foreign and Native Born, Naturalized Citizens and Non-citizens), Median
Household Income, Poverty, and Education. Data is from 1990 US Census.
Return to top
Return
to CSUS Library Business Guides & Databases
Return to CSUS Library home page
Send questions, comments or suggestions to:
Anne Bradley
mailto:bradleya@csus.edu
Copyright@2005 Anne Bradley - California State University, Sacramento
|