Business:
Labor Law
Reference Sources
In the CSUS Library
Anne Bradley & Bill Budge & Bill Kristie
Labor Cases: Federal and State
Labor Statuatory Law: Federal and California
National Labor Relations Board Decisions
Employment Discrimination
Employee Benefits
Arbitration
Collective Bargaining
DECISIONS OF FEDERAL AND STATE COURTS AND NLRB
Labor Relations Reporter
. ref HD 7833 .L46 v.l-11 -
Library discontinued subscription.
Consists of 10 titles filed in separate binders, but volumes and numbers are continuous. Each volume had a distinctive title: v.1 Analysis, News and Background Information.--v.2 Labor Management Relations, Decisions of Boards and Courts.--v.3 Labor Arbitration and Dispute Settlements.--v.4 State Laws.--v.5 Wages and Hours Cases.--v.6-6a Wage and Hour Manual.--v.7 Fair Employment Practices Cases.--v.8-8a-b Fair Employment Practice Manual.--v.9 Individual Disabilities Cases.--v.11 pt.1-2 Labor Relations Expediter.--v.11 Master Index. Includes sections "Decisions of NLRB" and "Court Decisions on the Law of Labor Relations". Issued in conjunction with Labor Relations Cumulative Digest and Index with Table of Cases and Labor Relations Cumulative Digest.
Analysis/News and Background Information: (Including Summary of Developments)
. ref HD 7833 .L3632. Cited at "LRR" An integral section of the Labor Relations Reporter.
Labor Relations Reference Manual
. ref HD 5503 .S722.
Cited as "LRRM" - The Law of Labor Relations including Statutes, Opinions of the Courts, and Decisions of the NLRB. Includes digest summaries of decisions of the NLRB, full-text of selected Supreme Court decisions, text of statutes and regulations pertaining to labor relations. Updated weekly by Labor Relations Reporter.
Labor Cases
. HD 7833 .L3 1937-1988 A selective reporter of decisions rendered by federal and state courts throughout the United States on federal and state labor problems, with case table and topical index.
Individual Employment Rights Cases
. ref HD 7833 .L361 Cited as "IER" Opinions of federal and state courts. Cited IER cases. Cumulates decisions published in loose-leaf form in the individual employment rights cases binders of Labor Relations Reporter.
Individual Employment Rights. Cumulative Digest and Index: Table of Cases, State Table of Cases
. ref HD 7833 .L3612 An index to cited IER cases, covering individual employment right cases.
DIGESTS
Bureau of National Affairs. Labor Relations Cumulative Digest and Index with Table of Cases
. ref HD 5503 .A723. Library has 1935-2001. Covers corresponding volumes of Labor Relations Reference Manual. Issued in conjunction with Labor Relations Reporter. Companion volume to Labor Relations Master Table of Cases (see below). Subject approach to labor relations can be used to find related cases. Guide numbers denote the subdivisions where related cases are classified.
Labor Relations Master Table of Cases
. ref HD 5503 .A724 Covers corresponding volumes of Labor Relations Reference Manual. Cumulates in part Labor Relations Cumulative Digest and Index with Table of Cases. Companion volume to Labor Relations Cumulative Digest and Index (see above).
Labor Statuatory Law: Federal and California
Title 29 - U.S. Code
- from the Cornell Law School Legal Information Institute and means to boolean search all of the statutes of Title 29.
NATIONAL LABOR RELATIONS BOARD
DECISIONS
U.S. National Labor Relations Board. Decisions and Orders of the National Labor Relations Board
. ref HD 5503 .A4. Library has 1974-current. Cited as "NLRB" In addition to decisions, the volumes contain a Table of Cases (plaintiff-defendant), cross referenced from advance sheet numbers and court decisions cited.
Commerce Clearinghouse. CCH, NLRB Decisions
. ref HD 5503 .S38. Library has 1963-1987 Only landmark decisions are full text; all other are in comprehensive digests . Indexed by case name, number, and topic. As of 1976-77 volumes include Advice Memos.
DIGESTS
Classified Index of National Labor Relations Board Decisions and Related Court Decisions
. ref HD 5503 .A414. Library has 1970-current. Prior to 1978 issued as a basic manual with cumulative supplement indexes. Subject access to this title is through Classification Outline with Topical Index for Decisions of N.L.R.B. (see below). Entries contain case name, NLRB citation, and very brief scope notes.
This publication covers NLRB and court decisions. No unreported court decisions are included. Board decisions are cited by volume and folio number. Court decisions are cited by official reporter citation where available and by other commercial services when not available. JD references refer to Administrative Law Judge's decisions adopted by the board and DS references refer to Decisions by Stipulation issued by the Board.
Classification Online with Topical Index for Decisions of the National Labor Relations Board and Related Court Decisions. ref HD 5503 .A417
EMPLOYMENT DISCRIMINATION
STATE AND FEDERAL
Fair Employment Practice Cases
. ref HD 4903.5 .U6 F3. v.1-current (v.1-54 shelved in circulating collection). Cited as "FEP Cases" Contains "opinions of Federal and State Courts under federal and state laws and orders relating to employment discrimination based on race, color, religion, sex, sexual orientation, marital status, national origin, age, appearance, criminal record, and family responsibilities with case table." Also includes digest of decisions of Equal Employment Opportunity Commission (E.E.O.C.). Parallel citations to Labor Relations Reference Manual and National Reporting System.
Employment Practices Decisions
. ref HD 403.5 .U6 C59 v.1-46 (v.1-39 shelved in circulating collection). Cited as "EPD" - "A full text reporter of decisions rendered by federal and state courts throughout the U.S. on federal and state employment practices problems." The court decisions in these bound volumes are reprinted from labor law reports, employment practices, and a loose-leaf publication.
Labor Law Reports: Employment Practices
. (Title on spine reads Employment Practice Guide). ref HD 4903.5 .U6 C6 v.1-4.
Cancelled in 1987
. - Reviews both federal and state requirements prohibiting employment discrimination on the basis of race, color, sex, religion, national origin, and age. Federal and state rules on equal pay for equal work and the requirement for employment of handicapped persons and disabled veterans are also covered. Material of a permanent nature is removed from the main set and bound in separate volumes called transfer binders. Companion to Employment Practice Decisions (listed above). New laws, regulations, and cases pending before the Supreme Court. Indexed by subject, case name, and numbers.
Employment Discrimination: An Overview
- Cornell Law School Legal Information Institute. Excellent and thorough.
Employee Benefits
Employee Benefits Management
- ref HD 4932 N6 E5 v.1-5 Tracts current updates on legislation, court cases, and company policies affecting employee benfits including Health Care, Dependent Care, Leaves, Retirement, Executive Compensation, IRS Codes and Regulation Changes, and ERISA.
ARBITRATION
REPORTS
Labor Arbitration Reports: Awards of Arbitrations, Reports of Fact-Finding, Boards Court Decisions on Labor Arbitrations
. ref HD 5504 .A3 L26. Library has 1974-current. Cited as "LA" Full text of decisions relating to arbitration. Directory of arbitrators. Tables of cases. Published in conjunction with and updated weekly by Labor Relations Reporter.
Labor Arbitration Awards
. (Title on spine reads Labor Arbitration). ref HD 5504 .A3 C6. v.61-88:1. Last volume in reference; earlier volumes in circulating collection. Cited as "ARB" - Full text reporter of arbitration awards, rendered throughout the United States, with Tables of Awards and Topical Index. Loose-leaf volume with weekly issues.
DIGESTS
Labor Arbitration Cumulative Digest and Index: with Contract Terms Interpreted, Table of Cases, Directory of Arbitrators.
ref HD 5504 .A3 L25 v.1(1945)-current. Cited as "LA CDI" - Published in conjunction with Labor Arbitration Reports (LA). Concise description of arbitration decisions on points of labor law, brought together under LA classification number. The table of cases includes the names of all employers and unions involved in decisions. Unions are listed by popular name, rather than by official title (e.g., Auto Workers, Steelworkers, Teamsters, etc.). The Finding List of Unions designated unions' popular names in alphabetical order, followed by the official name of the national or international union.
Summary of Labor Arbitration Awards
. LOWER LEVEL HD 5504 .A3 A45 No. 46 (1963)-No. 362 (1989).
Discontinued
. Indexed by arbitrator and subject. Classification scheme is not consistent.
COLLECTIVE BARGAINING
FEDERAL
Collective Bargaining Negotiations and Contracts (CBNC)
. ref HD 6483 .B8. Cited as "CBNC" The topical index provides references to CBNC. This index is arranged alphabetically word by word. For example, WORK SCHEDULES precedes the heading WORKERS' COMPENSATION. Numbers are treated as if spelled out: 301 SUITS appears in the "Ts". The vast majority of headings appear in plural form. Acronyms are treated as words and are explained within the index, e.g. URW (UNITED RUBBER WORKERS), See RUBBER WORKERS (URW). Also, cross references link related information within the index.
In each citation the number preceding the colon indicates the chapter and the number following the colon indicates the page number on which information may be found. Editor's notes clarify the scope of a particular heading and, where appropriate, refer to related headings. "C.F.R." citations within parentheses refer to titles and part of the Code of Federal Regulations printed in full text. "USC" citations within parentheses refer to titles and parts of the United States Code printed in summary text. Section number ($) in parentheses refer to Internal Revenue Codes (IRC) or Treasury Regulations (Treas.Reg.). See examples below:
401(k) PLANS
Plan design IRC $401(k)(1), Treas.Reg.$1,401(k)-1), 12:902
AGE DISCRIMINATION IN EMPLOYMENT ACT (ADEA)
Severance pay (29 CFR 1625.2(b), 10:1703
Summary of text (29 USC 621-534) 7:101, 102
LABOR MANAGEMENT RELATIONS ACT (LMRA)
Full text 7:1931 et seq.
BNA's Source Book on Collective Bargaining and Employee Relations
. ref HD 6500 .B58 1994 Material is arranged in five categories: Collective Bargaining; Compensation; Information on the Economic Outlook; Labor Law Decisions; Legislative and Legal Prospects; and Survey; Studies and Reports.
PUBLIC EMPLOYEES
Public Employee Reporter for California
. LOWER LEVEL HD 8011 .C2 P8. Cited as "PERC" This report contains eight sections: Statutes, Rules, and Regulations; Master Subject Index; Numerical Index; Table of Cases; Case Digests; Citation Tracker; Case Decisions; and Citator.
Return to Top of Page
Return to Databases Subject Guides
Send questions, comments or suggestions to:
Anne Bradley
mailto:bradleya@csus.edu
Copyright@2001 Anne Bradley - California State University, Sacramento