Library Home Citing Electronic Resources
Composed by Bill Budge/Updated by Anne Bradley
APA Style Examples of Citations of Electronic Sources


CD-ROM E-Mail E-Books Gopher Mailing List (Listserv) Online Forum Newsgroup World Wide Web
Factiva EBSCOhost ERIC Ethnic NewsWatch InfoTrac: Ideal LexisNexis Academic Universe Proquest

Personal E-Mail Citation - APA Style

"E-mail sent from one individual to another should be cited as a personal communication." p. 276

"Because they do not provide recoverable data, personal communications are not included in the reference list. Cite personal communications in text only." p. 214 Publication Manual of APA, 5th ed.

In text cite: R. E. Green (personal communication, October 15, 2003)
or
(J. T. White, personal communication, November 17, 2003)
Format
Initials and surname of the communicator, personal communication, as exact date as possible.


World Wide Web Citation - APA Style

Online Document general format:

Author, initials. (Year). Title of work in italics. Retrieved month date, year, from source.

If no date is listed use - (n.d.)

Document available on university program or department web site:

Budge, B. (2003). Company Information. Retrieved October 20, 2003, from California State University, Sacramento, Library Web site: http://library.csus.edu/guides/bradleya/company.htm
Format
Author (year of last update or copyright date). Title in italics. Retrieved month date, year, from organization, department name : Web site address


Return to Top of Page>


CD-ROM Citation - APA Style

Swett, C. (1996, October 26). Someday Another Silicon Valley. Sacramento Bee [CD-ROM], A1. Available:Newsbank/SacramentoBee/sb678567. [1996, November 20].
Format
Author (if given) (year, month day). Title of Article or document. Title of Journal in italicis, the word [CD-ROM] in brackets, Volume (issue no.) and paging if given. Available:Supplier/database name/Identifier or number - if available [Access date - year, month day] in brackets.

Return to Top fo Page


Gopher Citation - APA Style

Alexander, K. (1995, February). Democracy Online: an Evaluation of the 1994 California Online Voter Guide. Online Voter Guide [Online], Available Gopher: gopher.cpsr.org:70/00/pub/cal_voter_foundation/democracy_online [1998, November 12].
Format
Author. (year, month day). Title. Journal Title in italics the word [Online] in brackets, volume (issue no.) & paging. Available Gopher: gopher address Site/Path/File [Access date - year, month day] in brackets.

Return to Top of Page


Newsgroup Citation - APA Style

Bates, M. E. (2002, November 5). Dialog Search Question [Msg 1]. Message posted to news://admin.censorship
Format
Author's name, initials (if known). (Date Posted to Newsgroup). Subject Line from the posting provide any indentifyer for the message in brackets. Message posted newsgroup address

Return to Top of Page


Mailing List (Listserv or Discussion List) Citation - APA Style

Butler, B. (2001, July 15). International Organizations Websites. Message posted to BUSLIB-L electronic mailing list, archived at http://listserv.boisestate.edu/archives/buslib-l.html
Format
Author. (Date posted to Listserv - year, month, day). Subject of message. Message posted to Name of Mail List, archived at address of archived version of message

Online Forum or discussion group

Weiss, F. (2003, October 21). Objectivists and the Theory of Relativity [Msg 18]. Message posted to http://groups.google.com/humanities.philosophy.objectivism
Format
Author. (year, month day). Subject of discussion thread [message number]. Message posted to address.

Return to Top of Page


Electronic Books from netLibrary

Mina, E. (2000). The Complete Book of Business Meetings. [Online].
<http://www.netLibrary.com> [2001, Apr. 3].
Format
Author's Name. (Date--indicate "No date" if none is known). Title of book (Edition or other available information). [Publication medium]. Producer (optional). <URL> [Access date].


ERIC Journals (EJs) & Documents (EDs) - APA Style

ERIC Cites are here limited to citations of abstracts, not the full-text sources. Check with your instructor to make sure that citing abstracts is permissable


ERIC EJs & EDs from the CD-ROM Network

Davis, R. K., Lombardi, T. P. (1996) [Abstract of The Quality of Life of Rural High School Special Education Graduates: A Follow-Up Study. In: Rural Goals 2000: Building Programs That Work 9 p.] [CD-ROM]. SilverPlater/ERIC ED394765. [1996, Nov. 12].

Deutsch-Berney, T., Ticke, L. (1995 Fall) [Abstract of Kindergarten Plus: Integrating Children with Disabilities into Early Childhood Classrooms. ERS-Spectrum.v13 n4 p36-40] [CD-ROM] Available: SilverPlater/ERIC EJ517762 [1996, Nov. 12].
Format
Author(s). (Publication date, if available) [Abstract of Title. Journal Title in italics. volume(issue no.), paging.] [CD-ROM], Available:Supplier/Database name. Item or accession number [Access date - year, month day] in brackets.

Return to Top of Page


ERIC EJs & EDs from First Search - Online - APA Style

Davis, R. K., Lombardi,T. P. (1996) [Abstract of The Quality of Life of Rural High School Special Education Graduates: A Follow-Up Study. In: Rural Goals 2000: Building Programs That Work 9 p. ] [Online] Available: Eureka/Gateway/FirstSearch/Education/ERIC ED394765. [1996, Nov. 12].

Deutsch-Berney, T., Ticke, L. (1995 Fall) [Abstract of Kindergarten Plus:Integrating Children with Disabilities into Early Childhood Classrooms. ERS-Spectrum.v13 n4 p36-40] [Online]. Available:Eureka/Gateway/FirstSearch/Education/ERIC EJ517762 [1996, Nov. 12].
Format
Author(s). (year, month day) [Abstract of Title. Journal Title in italics. volume(issue no.), paging.] the word [Online] in brackets, Available: Supplier/Database name/Path/File name - Database identifier or number, if available Item or accession number. [Access date - year, month day] in brackets.

Return to Top of Page


EBSCOhost - APA Style

Garland, S. B. (24 May 1999) Microsoft Takes It Down to the Wire. Business Wek,Issue 3630, p36. Retrieved February 25, 2001, from EBSCOhost.
Format
Author. (Date of Publication - year, month day ) Title of Article. Title of Periodical in italics. vol no. & issue no. & pagination. Retrieved month day, year, from source.

Return to Top of Page


Ethnic NewsWatch - APA Style

Schuster, J. (5 March 1999). From Orthodox to punk, 500 at Purimpallooza...party, party, party! Jewish Bulletin of Northern California, v. 103, n10 p8A. Retrieved January 25, 2001, from Ethnic NewsWatch.
Format
Author. (Date of Publication - year, month day ) Title of Article. Title of Periodical in italics, vol no. & issue no., & pagination. Retrieved month day, yea,r from source.

Return to Top of Page


InfoTrac - APA Style - includes the Expanded Academic ASAP, the General Business Index ASAP, and the Newspaper Index on the Databases and Periodical Indexes page.

Periodical Article - Expanded ASAP
Shattuck, J. (1996, February 19). Prospects of peace with justice in Bosnia (Transcript). US Department of State Dispatch, v7, n8, p53(5). Retrieved January 22, 2002, from Expanded Acdemic ASAP.
Format
Author. (Date of Publication - year, month day ) Title of Article. Title of Periodical in italics, vol no., & issue no., & pagination. Retrieved month day, year, from source.

Investment Report - General Business Index ASAP
Maccaffrey, M.A., (1998, August 12) Microsoft Corporation - Company Report. ALEX. BROWN & SONS, INC. Retrieved November 22, 2002, from Business Index ASAP.
Format
Author, (Date of Publication - year, month day) Title of Report. Publisher in italics. the word. Retrieved month day, year, from source.

Return to Top of Page


LexisNexis Academic Universe Citations - APA Style

News Article from LexisNexis Academic Universe

Swett, C. (27 October 1996). Someday Another Silicon Valley. Sacramento Bee, Pg. A1. Retrieved November 11, 2001, from LexisNexis Academic Universe.
Format
Author. (Publication date - year, month day). Title of article. Name of Newspaper in italics, section and paging. Retrieved month day, year, from source.

Periodical Article from LexisNexis Academic Universe

Hardy, E. S. (1996, May 20). The people at the top of corporate America. Forbes, p.192. Retrieved November 11, 2002, from LexisNexis Academic Universe.
Format
Author. (Date of Publication -year, month day) Article title. Periodical Title in italics, Pagination. Retrieved month day, year, from source.

Financial Report from LexisNexis Academic Universe

Intel Corp:Latest Annual Financial date 12/30/98, Latest Quarterly Financial Date 06/29/98 (1996, July 20). Disclosure. Retrieved November 12, 1998, from LexisNexis Academic Universe.
Format
Title of Report (Date of Publication - yr, month day) Name of Data source in italics the word in brackets , paging. Retrieved month day, year, from source.

Court Case - APA Style - cites vary according to jurisdictions (see Li & Crane - 2nd ed. 1996)

Sacramento City Unitied School District v. Rachel H. (1993, August 12). Federal Reporter, 3rd (9th Circuit) 14 F.3d 1398; 1994 U.S. App. LEXIS 1124; 94 Cal. Daily Op. Service 482; 94 Daily Journal DAR 799. Retrieved June 23, 1998, from LexisNexis Academic Universe.
Format
Name of Case, (Date of Case - year, month day) Reporter (Jurisdiction). Parallel Citations- optional. Retrieved month day, year, from source.

Return to Top of Page


Ideal - APA Style

Journal Article

Nigg, E. A., Anne Blangy and Heidi A. Lane. (Dec. 1996). Dynamic Changes in Nuclear Architecture during Mitosis: On the Role of Protein Phosphorylation in Spindle Assembly and Chromosome Segregation . Experimental Cell Research, p. 174 - 180. Retrieved June 25, 2002, from Ideal.
Format
Author. (Date of Publication -year, month day) Article title. Periodical Title in italics, Pagination. Retrieved month day, year, from source.

Return to Top of Page


Factiva- APA Style
Factiva Newspaper article - APA Style

Walter, B., Swett, C. (1996, November 11). HP Plans Woodland Warehouse. Sacramento Bee, pg. c1. Retrieved November 18, 2002, from Factiva.
Format
Author. (Publication date - year, month day). Title of article. Name of Newspaper in italics, paging. Retrieved month day, year, from source.


Factiva Periodical Article - APA Style

Kirkpatrick, D. (1996, Oct ober 28) Your Next PC May be Japanese. Fortune Magazine, 54(3) pg. 140+. Retrieved November 18, 2002, from Factiva.
Format
Author. (Date of Publication - year, month day) Title of Article Title of Periodical in italics, Volume(issue), paging. Retrieved month day, year, from source.

Factiva Financial Report - APA Style

Adobe Systems, Inc. (1996, August 1) Media General Financial Services, pg. 1-5. Retrieved November 18, 2002, from Factiva.
Format
Title of Report (Date of Publication - year, month day) Name of Data source in italics, paging. Retrieved month day, year, from source.

Return to Top of Page


Proquest/ABI/Inform Global - APA Style

Fisher, D. (1999, January 06). Defrauding the fraudsters. America's Network, v103, n7, p53-54. Retrieved June 25, 2000, from ABI/Inform Global.
Format
Author. (Date of Publication - year, month day ) Title of Article. Title of Periodical in italics, vol no., & issue no., & pagination. Retrieved month day, year, from source.


Return to Table Of Contents of Front Page

Return to Top


Send questions, comments or suggestions to: Anne Bradley

Copyright 2001 CALIFORNIA STATE UNIVERSITY, SACRAMENTO. All rights reserved.