Library Logo RELIGION: RELIGIONS OF THE WORLD
by D. Rogenmoser
CONTENTS:

FINDING BOOKS IN EUREKA
EUREKA is a catalog of items owned by the CSUS Library.  Books can be searched for in EUREKA by title, author, keyword and Library of Congress Subject Headings.
  • Keyword Searching: Use keyword searching to locate books on topics such as:

           buddh* and customs
           hindu* and philosophy
           Korea and religion

    The asterisk (*) after the word buddh and hindu will include the words buddhists and buddhism or hindu and hinduism in your search.

  • Browsing: Location and Call Numbers for browsing the shelves for books on 2 South are:
    Religion
    History and Peoples of Religion
    By Region or Country
    BL
    BL 660-2680
    BL 1750-2350
Back to the top of the page  

GENERAL

Atlas of the World’s Religions 2 North Atlas G 1046 .E4 A8 1999
Beliefnet  http://www.beliefnet.com/index.html
Dictionary of Gods and Goddesses  ref BL 473 J67 2004
Eastern Definitions: a Short Encyclopedia of Religions of the Orient  ref BL 31 .R52
The Encyclopedia of Religion vol. 1-16.  ref BL 31 .E46 1987
Encyclopedia of Religion and Ethics  ref BL 31 E4
Encyclopedia of Religion and Society/Hartford Institute
    http://hirr.hartsem.edu/ency/index.html
Encyclopedia of Religious Rites, Rituals, and Festivals  ref BL 31 E47 2004
Exploring Religions http://uwacadweb.uwyo.edu/religionet/er/
HarperCollins Dictionary of Religion  ref BL 31 .H37 1995
Historical Atlas of the Religions of the World  ref BL 80.2 .F28
Human Values and Beliefs: a Cross-Cultural Sourcebook ref HM 73 I544 1998
Judaism and Christianity: A Guide to the Reference Literature ref BMZ 6370 S78 1991
Oxford Dictionary of World Religion  ref BL 31 .O84 1997
Internet Sources on Religion & Society http://users.drew.edu/~epullen/links/internet.html
A New Dictionary of Religions  ref BL 31 P48 1995
Illustrated Encyclopedia of Active New Religions, Sects, and Cults ref BL 80.2 B385 1998
The Oxford Dictionary of Classical Myth and Religion  ref BL 715 O94 2003
New Religions: a Guide: New Religious Movements, Sects, and Alternative Spiritualities
     ref BP 603 N492 2004
Recent Reference Books in Religion: A Guide for Students, Scholars, Researchers, Buyers
    and Readers
 ref Z 7751 J654 1998
Religion and Theology: A Guide to Current Reference Resources ref BLZ 7751 M33 1997
Religion-Online  http://www.religion-online.org/
Religions of the World  http://www.mnsu.edu/emuseum/cultural/religion/
Religions of the World: a Comprehensive Encyclopedia of Beliefs and Practices
    vol. 1-4   ref BL 80.3 R45 2002
Religious Movements Homepage http://religiousmovements.lib.virginia.edu
Religious Worlds  http://www.religiousworlds.com/index.html
A Scholar’s Guide to Academic Journals in Religion  ref BLZ 7751 D33 1998
Wabash Center Internet Guide to Religion
    http://www.wabashcenter.wabash.edu/resources/guide_headings.aspx
Virtual Religion Index  http://virtualreligion.net/vri/
Yahoo Directory/Faith and Practices
    http://dir.yahoo.com/Society_and_Culture/Religion_and_Spirituality/Faiths_and_Practices/
  
Back to the top of the page  

STATISTICS
Association of Religion Data Archives  http://www.thearda.com/
Adherents.com http://www.adherents.com
CountryWatch (seach by country)
CultureGrams vol. 1-4   Ref GT 150 C85 2003 (organized by country)
Religious Cultures of the World: A Statistical Reference ref BL 85 P325 1997
WorldAlmanac  Also available at ref AY 67 .N5 W7 (1923-current)
  
Back to the top of the page  

SACRED TEXTS, COMMENTARIES, CONCORDANCES

Print copies of canonical literature, sacred texts and commentaries are located on 2nd Floor South
Use EUREKA to locate specific texts. See also the following websites:

BeliefNet Sacred Texts  http://www.beliefnet.com/help/link_directory.asp
Internet Sacred Texts Archive  http://www.sacred-texts.com/index.htm
Religious Studies Web Guide/Univ. Calgary -Sacred Texts
    http://www.ucalgary.ca/~lipton/texts.html

In addition see the "Sacred Texts" sections on on the following CSUS Research Guides:

          Religion: Christianity
          Religion: Eastern Religions and Philosophy
          Religion: Islam
          Religion: Judaism
  
Back to the top of the page  

INDEXES & DATABASES
Unless noted otherwise; electronic indexes are restricted to CSUS students, faculty, and staff. Instructions for off-campus access are available at Off-Campus Access to Library E-Resources

Print Indexes & Bibliographies
  • Religion Index One: Periodicals 2 North Index Area BLZ 7753 .A5 (1949-2001)
  • Religious and Theological Abstracts 2 North Index Area BRZ 7753 .R4 (1958-current)
  • Humanities Index 2 North Index Area AI 3 .R492 (1974/75-1999)
  • Essay and General Literature Index 2 North Index Area AI 3 .E75
    (1900-2001 -see Database list below)
  • Religion and Society in North America: An Annotated Bibliography
    Ref BLZ 7831 .R44 1983
Databases (Electronic Indexes)
  
Back to the top of the page
SELECTED JOURNALS
Below are listed some of the journals that are available at the CSUS Library. These journals, and others, may also be available in some of the CSUS databases.

The Harvard Theological Review
History of Religions
Journal of the American Academy of Religion
Journal of Religion
Religious Studies
Review of Religious Research

Additional journals are available through the following website:

Electronic Journals for Religion http://ejw.i8.com/rele-j.htm
Online-Heidelberg Journal of Religions on the Internet http://online.uni-hd.de/
Religious Studies-Electronic Journals http://www.acs.ucalgary.ca/~lipton/journalss.html

See also: JOURNALS section of Related CSUS Guides

  
Back to the top of the page  

RELATED CSUS SUBJECT GUIDES
Back to the top of the page
Go to Library Home Page

Questions/comments to:  Ben Amata, Reference Librarian, CSU, Sacramento; drogenmoser@csus.edu
Revised 10/4 Last updated 11/07